We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,340)
Filter reviews
1,340 results
Traveller rating
919
260
102
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
919
260
102
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar mexican theme private beach manager ricardo themed hotel jim lorraine pool area beautiful hotel garden view separate shower star hotel half board egg station upgraded to a suite comfortable sunbeds full length mirror the hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,340 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very easy check-in, promptly shown our room (pics included);
Lovely spacious room with very big balcony.
Substantial bathroom with his and her sinks, separate toilet with bidet.
Huge amount of cupboard space; easy to use secure safe.
Fridge, which we used to keep our water etc cool and very efficient air con.
Absolutely great chambermaids who kept our room (and I'm sure all the others), sparklingly clean. Well done to them. Aways smiling with a good morning.
Great breakfast area with a MASSIVE choice of food, again with terrific and friendly staff who were always quick to find you whatever you needed.
The guys who did the eggs and the omelettes had it down to a fine art, fast and skillful.
Great huge pool with loads of very comfortable sunbeds - and a beach towel guy who always had a smile for us.
Also a medium sized, man made beach area where the beds were really comfy alongside a pool bar staffed with a young man with HUGE energy and always smiling.
We didn't use the gym, but it appeared well equiped.
We used the Brauhaus restaurant next door to, and run by, the hotel. They had very good value specials on certain weekdays.
The Reception staff were always very helpful with wifi, directions etc.
The Deputy Manager came around the pool area regularly and asked how his clients were enjoying their stay.
The Hotel has an unusual decorative style, beautifully done with HUGE furniture and lovely artefacts and paintings. I loved it.
We had a great meal in the Pancho Villa restaurant with a Mexican theme, and entertained by a Mexican Vaquero who had a great voice. Missed getting a picture, but he did sing 'Amapola' for Eileen and I.
I would really recommend this hotel to all; you will not be disappointed.
The only negative that we felt was no coffee/tea facilities in the room. However this is easily solved.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank traveladdictBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear traveladdictBucks,
Thank you so much for your visit and for writing this detailed review about your stay in Europe Villa Cortés.
We are happy to read that you met your expectations and your stay here was good for you.
Your feedback is always important for us because it helps us to improve our product and service. For this reason, we love to know that you enjoyed here.
We would be pleased to welcome you again.
Best regards.
The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed at the Villa Cortes during the first week in September as a surprise holiday for my husband's 50th birthday and we could not have had a better experience.

Everything about the hotel is excellent - from the beautiful rooms, lovely pool with waterfalls to the amazing food and top service from staff at the hotel.

The hotel is centrally located with shops and bars on the doorstep but once inside the hotel grounds there is an air of peace and tranquility.

Having never visited the same hotel twice, we can't wait to book our return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gramreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear gramreb,
Thank you so much for sharing with us that special date of your life.
We love to read that your stay here was so satisfactory for you and you enjoyed your days with us.
We would be pleased to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days end of August 2018 and the hotel exceeded expectations. The hotel has character, in contrast to many nearby, though some might find the Mexican theme a little Disney. The hotel is finished to a very high standard throughout, with extensive public areas and spaces. We were surprised by how little some of the facilities were used/available. The Mexican restaurant open only Saturday evening, the breakfast buffet restaurant (which served an excellent and extensive breakfast buffet) only open for breakfast, the beautiful piano bar with shady cloisters not open at all. Service was good, our room was of a good size with substantial balcony space and a beautifully finished bathroom, well stocked with consumables. WiFi reception in the room was relatively poor, with service frequently cutting out and was charged extra. The free WiFi in the public areas was better. Also there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which was a surprising omission for a 5* hotel.
The atmosphere in the hotel was calm and during our stay availability of sun-loungers by the beautifully shaped pool was good. I suspect that this atmosphere might not suit all, especially those with young children to keep entertained. While we were there the gym was closed for renovation, so we were given access to the gym of the hotel next door, for which we had to ask for vouchers at the reception. This gym was relatively poorly equipped-no rowing machine, 2 step machines, 2 running machines, 2 bikes and a couple of other machines; barely adequate for the size of the next door hotel, though it appeared to be only lightly used when we used it.
Overall we were very happy with this hotel as a characterful and tranquil residence, well placed for the action just outside and would probably stay here again if we were to come back to Playa de las Americas.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CRFCRE1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear CRFCRE1960,
Thank you so much for visiting Europe Villa Cortés and for writing this detailed review.
We are very happy to know that your stay here was so satisfactory for you and spent a great time.
We would be happy to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Obviously this establishment has been officially rated as 5-star, otherwise they would not advertise it to be one.
I found it to be wanting (or lacking) in various areas though.
It certainly cannot be ranked as luxurious, by my wife or myself, in fact it was quite disappointing...I am sorry to say.
It was very clean, the staff very attentive and it had a very peaceful aura about it but....

We have stayed in other 5-star hotels on the island, that this certainly doesn't equal.

Room Tip: We didn't enjoy the hotel really, so I would prefer not too.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Mark H,
Thank you so much for visiting Europe Villa Cortés and for writing this review.
We are sorry if you did not meet your expectations about our hotel. Your feedback is always important for us because it helps us to improve our service.
Kind regards.
The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Quick facts:
- hotel with personality, distinguished among peers on the same beach;
- it gives a unique feel of alternating time and space: a bit in the contemporary vacation, a bit in a Mexican hacienda back in time;
- good service, yet not intrusive;
- except for the beach terrace, which is more affordable, the restaurants are to the upper end of pricing, in line with the hotel class;
- pool with ocean water built on shore out of rocks and mortar - a safe place to try the ocean nearby; otherwise there is a proper beach within 7 minutes’ walk.
- a decent strip of sandy beach near the ocean; however NO direct entry to the ocean water (use pool instead);
- large and well-designed swimming pool on the inside yard of the hotel.

Other impressions:
When I accepted the travel agent’s recommendation I still had some mixed feelings: I had misinterpreted some of the pictures and I perceived the lack of proper natural sandy beach as a disadvantage. I had even looked on google maps sattelite view to compare the shore to other hotels’ endowments. In the end I took the offer and we did not regret a second!

The room headed towards the main street of the neighbourhood, which was not a drawback: one could experience a lively environment, yet not that noisy.

Although we were already in high season the lobby, the pool, the beach did not seem that crowded. Only the personnel on the beach terrace were a bit overwhelmed, although they attempted to cope with the situation playfully.

Well, if you are in the mood for an exquisite dinner, you have choices. We successfully tried the one on the terrace outside, but there are at least 2 more recommended options.

And not to forget the enticing atmosphere of the breakfast inner courtyard, which gives a splendid start of the day.

A lot more could be mentioned, but this opinion is supposed to offer a glympse of the full picture. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dragos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Dragos,
Thank you so much for choosing Europe Villa Cortés for your holidays in Tenerife and for writing such a detailed review about it.
Your feedback is always important for us. For this reason, we are really happy to read that you enjoyed so much here.
We would be pleased to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews