We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,998)
Filter reviews
1,998 results
Traveller rating
1,207
480
198
79
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,207
480
198
79
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews axel beach gay hotel axel hotels axel barcelona pool area pool parties yumbo centre street view gran canaria steam room and sauna separate bedroom air con mini bar cleaning staff great pool fresh towels five minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,998 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Stayed here in September 2018, 5 years after my last stay. I stayed here for 14 nights. We were allocated an apartment with a connecting door to the next apartment. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, we could hear our neighbours, and I decided I could not cope that with noise for 14 days. I asked reception for another room, without a connecting door, only to be allocated another room with a connecting door. Having to go back to reception to report this, we were told no other rooms were available, and we have to wait until the next day for a new room. On day two, we were allocating an apartment, without an connecting door, by a very helpful member of staff, where we stayed the next 13 nights. This review is mixed. The grounds and pool area are lovely, and provide relaxed atmosphere and never too busy. There was a real mix of guests in terms of age and gender. However it did appear the pool was used a lot by non-guests who seemed to enter unchallenged by staff. The music wasn’t too loud and we did enjoy it, around the pool area. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location too is brilliant. Negatives are, the rooms, which all need re-furbishing. The floor tiles were chipped in places and the grey paint had been repeatedly ‘patched’ up. The aertex rough walls are dated. This could be a brilliant hotel if they started a programme of refurbishment to the rooms. Also we found the standard of the cleanliness of rooms to be basic, cup and glasses appeared dirty. The rooms would also benefit from some more basic crockery and dishcloths etc.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking part of your time in valuing us.

Your feedback is very important as it is what helps us to offer our guests the best quality and personalized service. Nothing cares us more than the well-being of our customers. Therefore, we offer a 24-hour reception, to meet any requirement of our guests, as you could verify yourself, Although, due to availability issues, we could not change you the same day, the next day the change was made without any inconvenience. We would also like to inform you that based on the comments of our clients, we establish action plans in the continuous improvement of both services and facilities.

Please, we invite you to visit us in a non-distant future or to be part of any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Thank you so much for the perfect accommodation. The excellent service, especially the receptionist Ivan made me feel welcome in this hotel. Tnx for all the staff to make my holiday a perfect holiday.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Bart,

Thank you for your great comment about AxelBeach Maspalomas.
We are pleased that you have been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well-being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,


Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

I have just checked out of Axelbeach after a 4 day weekend.

Positives - location of this hotel is perfect as it’s very local to the Yumbo centre which is ideal for nights out. The staff are really friendly and very welcoming. The pool area is really good and I enjoyed the relaxing vibe around it.

Negatives - The air-conditioning in my room wasn’t working, this was reported twice but wasn’t fixed. I was not offered the chance to change rooms and this added to uncomfortable nights sleep as it was too hot. I had a room with a street view and was unable to leave the window open at night as the loud noise coming from the traffic. The rooms are slightly worn and dated and could do with a refurb.

That being said I would stay at this hotel again. The Axel brand is a favourite of mine having stayed at some of their other hotels

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank alanpwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Alan,

We appreciate your feedback and your time in giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your landmark hotel in Maspalomas. We would like to apologize about the incident you had with the Air Conditioned. We are sure this has been a particular case, and we would like to invite you to repeat your holidays with us so we can offer you the best Axel Experience. Nothing cares us more than the well -being of our customers.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

The experience at the hotel was better than we expected, we stayed on the the 4th floor, pool view, we didn't have any problem with noise, it's actually the opposite!...as we found peaceful nights in the balcony, I've read some bad reviews about the music in the pool...but for me this is actually a positive point as it creates a friendly and relax atmosphere. The staff is very helpfull, great service and really nice people, Luis at the bar is very funny, lovely person with great sense of humor...ah, & great cocktails!! Me and my partner we are really looking forward for our next visit probably for the winter pride...last but not least, rooms and outdoor areas were impeccable, well done Axel!! For people who want to be relaxed far away from children's and family this is your place :)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Dave,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!

We really appreciate the time you gave us for your opinion. For us is always welcomed our guest coments.

We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

*Perspective - 3 American gay men 30 years old*

We moved to this hotel after one night at Mur Neptuno around the block, and I’m so happy we did!

During our initial booking, my boyfriend and I were a bit concerned that staying at a mostly gay hotel might be too “sceney” but it was a misjudgment. If you’re young and looking for a nice social scene (or want to keep to yourself as well) with good lounge areas this place will serve you equally well respectively. Chill vibes during the day and relaxing at night.

So, as the title says, the hotel is much nicer than the online pictures look. This was why we originally booked at Neptuno but found this hotel to be much more to our liking.)

The gym is quite decent, and tennis courts (15€ per hour) are nice to have available, although bring your racquets and balls because the balls and racquets are dead.

The staff is super attentive (Carmen is a sweetheart, we love her!) the place is impeccably clean, and the guys behind the bar are very friendly and and provide good service.

It’s a 3-5 minute walk from Yumbo, and while there’s no parking included, we found street parking every night without issue.

Landscaping is lovely and there are lots of cabanas and lawn beds for napping and reading or cuddling.

Will be back one day for sure!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Gabe,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit in Maspalomas. Also, thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take part of your time and give us your point of view.

We hope to see you very soon here or in any of our Axel Hotels.

Best Regards,

Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews