We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
290
192
50
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
192
50
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main pool animation team evening entertainment shower trays queen tribute band sand dunes wine and soft drinks pool area self service foam party bathroom floor on tap branded spirits lovely hotel plenty of sunbeds quieter pool great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 2 weeks in November at the ABORA CATARINA with my wife. It is very clean and well maintained.Plenty of Sunbeds and very few have a towels on to reserve them, which I know irritates us Brits elsewhere!The food was varied and plentiful and the staff cleared the tables quickly and always with a smile.All the staff can manage, to varying degrees, to communicate in several languages. I heard English, French, Italian, Dutch, Swedish, Danish but most of all German.It's a VERY long Hotel (about 500 metres from roundabout to roundabout) but quite narrow. It's only 100 metres from the Beach/Dunes (turn right and walk through the RIU) but another 15/20 minutes to get to the sea itself. Google a map and you'll see what I mean.It caters for families and mostly over 40s (based on our visit). For younger visitors it's very close to boyant night-life in CITA or YUMBO. But having paid for All Inclusive some might not want to pay for drinks in town.Downsides were; A bit lightweight on the evening entertainment (for a 4* Hotel)Very poor Internet access (which is included in the AI price)They charged 28 Euros to use the in-room safe for 2 weeks and I don't expect this in a 4* HotelAll in all we really enjoyed it and would happily return if we go back to Gran Canaria.Loved the Adults-Only Naturist sun roof by the way.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Resort8471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Resort8471,

At Lopesan Hotel Group we know that the holidays are some of the most important times of
the year and that is why it brightens our day to read opinions as positive as yours. Thank you
for having gone to the trouble of sharing your experience with us and with other users. If you
decided to holiday on Gran Canaria again, it would be our pleasure to see you stay with us
again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from this hotel and had a very good stay, rooms are lovely, excellent hairdryer no need to bring your own, very very clean, staff work endlessly to keep areas clean and tidy and food and drinks topped up Food in main restaurant was cold when we 1st arrived but this got better, unfortunately not the same for the snack bar But there is so much to eat you can always find something the salad bar was amazing.Unfortunately the pool area was being retiled which was very noisy and areas being cordoned off, I suppose it is difficult when you are an all year round hotel it has to be done sometime .Overall excellent stay, would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexwebb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear alexwebb1962,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with other travellers and with us in Tripadvisor

Acting as a second home for our visitors is a great responsibility for us. Our desire is that everything should be perfect so that our guests’ only concern is enjoying both the hotel and this beautiful island.

Comments such as yours encourage us to continue, to keep working hard, reminding us that the work is worth it. Thank you very much for your understanding of the pool area. Our aim is to offer a safe and comfortable area to our guests.

We are happy that your time with us met your expectations and we hope that it will not be too long until we see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very much staff, always very friendly, helpful and happy.Various and very tasty food.Swedish channel SVT1 on the TV, quite nice. Exciting desert, El Oasis 10 minutes by walk. If it wasn`t so far away from Sweden I would come more often.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bengt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Connector50581383250,

Thank you for such an impressive review and for giving us a perfect rating. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us 110%. For our part, we can only commit to continuing to improve going forwards so that you can continue enjoying your time in our hotel in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in Abora Catarina Soon

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Check in and reception were impressive and swift. The room was a very long walk from reception on the 3rd floor which are very spacious. However amenities in the room are not of a 3/4 start standard. The towels are cheap and poor quality. The toiletries are tubes on the wall. Drinks are mainly self service and the restaurant food was bland with little variety. Snacks and see sandwiches are available, however choice is vegetable or ham & cheese. The choice does not change.

There are better hotels in playa del ingles that to all inclusive.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank titetshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egiersbergICA, Gerente at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear titetshirt,
Thanks for your review and thanks for time taken for it and we are sorry that we did not match your expectations especially with the all in self service. It is important you read the available information the operator provide you to avoid any misunderstandings. Even in most 4* all in hotels you'll find self service station.
As you can see from many other reviews the hotel is in a good level of reviews.
We take the chance to wish you merry Christmas and a happy new year.
With best regards,

Enrique Giersberg Carrión
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lived in room 421. Really big hotel. The breakfast was little so so but the lunch and dinner was good. Even if we came to the poolsite at around 2 pm there was a lot of sunbeds. Close to no sunbedbookers at all. You even could get a spot next to pool. WIFI was superbad, got around 2kb/s for the most. Loved the loungearea where you could get a sandwich in the middle of the night if you would. Sadly it sayed on the official site that they have tennis, even the site you came to after logging in on WIFI, they didnt. So that was a HUGE dissapointment that they had another swimmingpool instead. I dont understand why people always complain on the beds. Both me and my fiancé slept like babies in those.We had ants in our room, they come and sprayed the balcony and after that we didnt see any more ants.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeinGon, Guest Relations Manager at Abora Catarina by Lopesan Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Carolina K,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel to spend your last holidays in Abora Catarina and for sharing your feedback with other travellers.

We are concern about your commentaries about the information on our website about the tennis court and we going to check this immediately. Regarding the wifi, we are now working on it to provide a better service.

Even though, thank you very much for your commentaries about our facilities and beds. Our principal aim is to offer a comfortable and safe place to spend a good time.

We hope to seeing you soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews