We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Historisches Wirtshaus Zum Goldenen Kreuz
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Parsberg
Cuisines: Asian, German
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Iwas a bit hesitant with a restaurant that served German and Asian food, but it was excellent! The crispy duck with oyster sauce was delicious, as were the spring rolls, my sister in law had Pho with tofu that she loved. Quaint, cozy, great service..... the owner came by to check on us and showed us old menus with pictures drawn by the former mayor and notes from previous customers.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

Great food. Amazing menu with several different types of cuisine. The chef there is awesome. Very high end quality in a nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Nanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Service was good. The food was very good and the homemade noodles were fantastic. Way too much to eat in one sitting. The owners made sure we had everything we needed and were very friendly and definitely proud of their restaurant. This made for a very enjoyable evening and dinner.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PJPetrus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Driving by this place you would think "oh, another German restaurant." NOPE. This is the most unique restaurant I've ever been to. Truly magical things happen when a Vietnamese lady marries a German man. It's a food combination made in culinary heaven. It's homestyle Vietnamese and German food, served in a cozy intimate setting. It literally feels like you are eating at somebody's house.

They have the BEST crispy duck and serve it with a multitude of different sauces--each of them is fantastic. I highly recommend the Grillteller, which is a plate loaded with German-style meats served over a bed of saucy wok vegetables with a spring roll (I know, right?) If meat isn't your thing, they have a lot of vegetarian options also. The food portions are HUGE, and they're very affordable. One dish could probably satisfy two people, but let's be honest, you go to the Golden Kreuz to stuff your face.

This place is great to go with friends, but for a group larger than 4 it's definitely in your best interest to make a reservation (especially on Friday or Saturday nights). The staff speaks English, but they're also patient when I try to speak German, which I appreciate. It's easily my favorite restaurant of all time.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daisy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2017

This is a truly great place to eat. The crispy duck is the best I have had. This is a family owned and operated place. The menu is very large and the food is very good. Prices are reasonable. Parsberg is about 15 minutes from Hohenfels so it is an easy drive for very good food.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ebazinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Historisches Wirtshaus Zum Goldenen Kreuz also viewed

Parsberg, Upper Palatinate
Parsberg, Upper Palatinate
 
Parsberg, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Historisches Wirtshaus Zum Goldenen Kreuz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.