We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I keep coming back....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Mazot

The Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chalet
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The Chalet
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Log Burner
Upstairs Bedroom
Bunk Room with En Suite
Outdoor Fireplace / BBQ
Outdoor Fire Place / BBQ
View from Outdoor BBQ Area
Upper Terrace
Large outdoor decking area
Lower Terrace
Kitchen
View towards St Gervais Town & Cable Car - 5 mins walk away
Authentic charm
Original features
The View from the Chalet
St Gervais Bridge on a snowy day
Top of St Gervais/Megeve Resort
Megeve - 10 mins drive away
Lake Passy - 10 mins drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I keep coming back....”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

....judging from the guestbook, I think this was my fifth visit to Le Mazot. It never disappoints. Charming, cozy, very well located both for the town and skiing, and extremely well-equipped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely trip, again”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is the third time I've been back. The place hasn't changed - and is lovely as ever. Unfortunately, no snow this year until the day our group had to leave, but still lots to do in St Gervais and around to make the trip worthwhile.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick F
1 review
“Heaps of character and wonderful views. Maybe not for everyone though.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent a lovely week in this chalet and enjoyed the quirckiness, views and ease of access to Chamonix, Megeve and Saint Gervais. The chalet is cosy and well equipped but is on 3 levels with steep steps between each floor and, as mentioned in a previous review, this could be a problem for some. There is a double bed and separate bathroom on the ground floor which was a little chilly and a bit too far from the upstairs bedrooms so we decided to put the children in the bunk beds next to the kitchen and used the double bed on the top floor above the kitchen. This was fine but not ideal as it meant we had to either use the loo in the girls room or go down 2 flights of stairs to the ground floor. The kitchen table made a great focal point for evening meals and games and the comfortable lounge was perfect for relaxing in at the end of the day. The outside decking area has stunning views of the mountain but perhaps could do with a little TLC for summer visitors. Loved the big BBQ! The parking and the drive up to it could be a problem for some but I found it OK once I'd mastered the slope and mapped a course around the potholes! As mentioned there is parking at the bottom if preferred. The black dog who weren't particularly looking forward to it was under control and very well behaved! All in all a very memorable chalet in a great location!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character, views, location
Liked least: ease of access
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
It pleases me to hear kind words on the chalet and to hear that the guests had an enjoyable time making the most of the sociable kitchen, BBQ and the views. I have also taken on board the comment on the gardening and have arranged for weekly gardening during the summer months, as it clearly grows a lot quicker than I anticipated!
Laura, the owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard J
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little place in the French Alps”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We really enjoyed this little chalet. It is very old and has the corresponding features of such a property with steep stairs and low beams! It was clean and tidy and everything worked, including the washing machine. It has a pleasant bathroom with an excellent shower. We enjoyed the experience of sleeping right under the roof in the top bedroom with a window that opens to look out on the mountains. It is a good base to explore the region from. Spectacular views of the snow covered Aiguille de Bionnassay (4052m) from the wooden terrace.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ignatius5...
1 review
“Musty dusty and totally inappropriate for kids.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Clearly little use outside ski season. Greeted by a huge Rottweiler from the next apartment.... not on a lead and barking aggressively. Proceeded up steps past overgrown greenery thinking this isn't great to find a chalet that needed a good airing and some of the cobwebs removed. Inside main problem is the stairs up to the first floor and then again up to the bedroom, They are ridiculously steep and have more in common with a step ladder. Not for the aged infirm or for those with young kids. Parking outside is problematic as there are clearly a lot of vehicles competing for very little space. We booked for 7 days but left after 2.
Local town pretty, with an amazing ice rink.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2014
I would like to respond to this review posted in June. The chalet is actually used over the summer months, however this particular June booking was the first of the summer bookings, which may explain the comment about requiring airing, for which in future I will ensure is aired for a period of time before the first of the summer bookings, and I can only apologise to those guests and take on board their comment. The house however is thoroughly cleaned before each guest, and as it is a wooden chalet there may have been a cobweb which was missed by the cleaner. My cleaner is excellent and is most upset about this review and took it very much to heart so has since thoroughly cleaned every corner and cobweb of the chalet! Equally the gardener has been round to cut back extensively, it had been done but this is a personal choice, and in light of this comment the gardener has gone back and done more than the usual to ensure all guests are happy with the surrounding greenery, which grows at speed during the summer months.

Regarding the stairs, yes they are steep but they are in the photos, they are not a ladder as quoted and I haven’t had any comments on them in the past. I agree not for the elderly but this is on my website. If there are small children (and I have 2 small nieces who have been coming since they were born) their living space is all on one level(the bunk room and toilet are off the kitchen, lounge and decking area) and so not a problem if you are concerned.

Re the parking there is a spot in front of the chalet (one per property and any additional cars are left at the bottom of the drive where there is ample space if you don’t wish to turn around amongst other cars.

It upsets me greatly that the guests had such negative comments and even worse that I was unaware of it until this review. If only I had been called on arrival with their concerns I would have immediately rectified it and called in the cleaner and Gardener again.

If you are interested in my property and any of the above concerns you please call me, I am more than happy to discuss and give you further peace of mind should you need it.

Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing