We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"No words to describe the beauty of this place"”
other travellers have booked this property
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior Downstairs Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Chinati Hot Springs Cabin at sunset
Exterior
Downstairs Living Room
Upstairs Bedroom
Balcony View
Kitchen facing entry
Exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Marfa, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4snow
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"No words to describe the beauty of this place"”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This little gem was even more than we expected, and the pictures do accurately reflect everything. Spent our 40th Anniversary here and do not have any regrets. If you are looking for solitude and beauty this is the place. Just bring your own food and drinks, extra drinking water we took 6 gallons for 3 days and had 2 gallons left. You might want to bring 2-3 5 gallons containers so you have plenty there is a dispenser for it in the Kitchen.
Rainfall in the area is not abundant so conserving water is a must. Shower was hot and wonderful plus you have a gorgeous view while showering. Plenty of cookware, dishes and utensils. There is a small store in Ruidoso limited supplies. Presidio nearest town 43 miles with grocery/gas. We stocked up in Marfa and drove down on Pinto Canyon Road, if I were you I wouldn't come down here any other way. Road was in good shape took about 2 hours coming down and 1 1/2 leaving.
Cabin is such a charm, it is very tastefully decorated, we never grew tired of looking at the artwork, furnishings and books. We were able to connect to our bluetooth speaker. However there are some great Cd's you will certainly enjoy.
Unfortunately the Springs were closed while we were there, but we drove through and it's beautiful as well.
We drove to Big Bend State Ranch to the Closed Canyon it's about 65-70 miles from cabin, Lajitas is 100 miles from cabin both worth the drive down 170. The sunset is just beyond stunning.
Charlie thank you for sharing your special place, words really cannot describe it. Cannot imagine how much work it was to put this place together, it's apparent your heart and soul are there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No Light Pollution, No Noise, No people
Liked least: Somewhat Dusty
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can I live here, pretty please?”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

WOAH. This place is absolutely wonderful. Some friends and I took a camping tour of west Texas and New Mexico and decided to end our trip at this cabin for one night - looking back, we wished we had booked at least another night out there. The drive down on 67 was gorgeous, and turning onto 170 was even better. My little sedan had no problems making it up the beautiful dirt road up to the cabin and it was super easy to find.

The cabin? Perfect. We spent most of our time on the deck upstairs or the hammocks below, just staring at the mountains. There's plenty to entertain yourself inside the cabin if staring at mountains isn't your thing. The sunset was stunning. We had a pretty cloudy night, which made for the darkest skies I've ever seen in my life, but when stars peeked through they were brilliant.

We all fell in love with the area and the cabin.
We all want to come back and spend more time.
We all wish we could just live there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the solitude.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladimir1...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A place to make long lasting memories!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days and 3 nights over new years. The location is breathtaking and the evenings views of the milky way are phenomenal. Don't expect a luxurious cabin getaway, but as you can see from previous reviews, it's an excellent place to shut down and get away from city life. Be sure to bring a bath robe for the outdoor shower, but it has plenty of hot water if you like hot showers. Bring fire wood if you are coming during the winter season, as you'll easily go through a bundle a day. I brought the fire logs you can buy from costco or any wal-mart along with some racks of wood for cooking. There are space heaters in the home which sufficiently warm the cabin, but the wood burning stove is great to make it nice and cozy! There are some cool nearby getaways (Ruidoso and Candelaria). We never went to the hot springs, but it is nearby. I would advise taking the pinto valley canyon route but be sure to have a high clearance vehicle with good tires and a spare. We traveled the route 4 times, and only saw 2 others along the way. Be sure to look out for the signs that guide you to the Chinati Hot Springs...they are well marked and don't be deceived by your GPS directions. Thank you again Charlie for making our stay wonderful!! btw....we got engaged on NYE at the cabin!! so your place will definitely have a place in our hearts!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Congratulations on your engagement!!! You guys make a great couple and I am so happy for you both, come again someday and toast another New Year, thanks for the review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah M
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Desert Dwelling”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you like desert solitude with 360 views, Charlie's cabin fits the bill. You are really out there-- without a view of a neighboring house anywhere! all of the essentials are in the cabin -- super comfortable with an eclectic DVD selection. There is an outdoor shower that works great, but we happened to be there on christmas when a freak storm came thru and the pipes on the shower froze. The freak snow storm also closed the road between Marfa and Presidio on the day we were leaving. We called Charlie and he was very nice, letting us stay in the cabin one more night for a deal and gave us a hefty supply of firewood. Could not recommend this place more if you are looking for a great getaway unplugged from the distractions of our modern world. We also saw fox and coyotes and Chinati Hot Springs let us use their trails to hike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful escape in West Texas”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabin for 4.5 days and loved every minute of it. The views were amazing, the hammocks were delightful, and the drive coming up was perfect.
I highly recommend taking Pinto Canyon up if you drive a Jeep or a truck -- Make sure you've mapped out your route to and from the cabin before you head that way.

We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, porch, outdoor shower, grill
Liked least: N/A, loved it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing