We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michelle...
1 review
“Perfect little getaway cabin”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Loved the Oasis beach cottage. Easy access to the beach, with plenty of dining within walking distance. We also loved that we were able to cook at the house with a fully supplied kitchen to save some money. It is the perfect little cottage for 2 couples or a family of 4. We hope to be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and fully stocked
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longsjac
Strongsville, Ohio
1 review
“We loved Oasis Beach Cottage”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a great place to stay. It is even better than the pictures. The location and proximity to the beach are great. It was super clean. You can walk to lots of places in Galveston if you like to walk. The owners were very responsive when we had a couple of minor questions. I would definitely go back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherylynn...
Temple
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Back again...with GUESTS to share this delightful cottage!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We first visited Oasis for a January couples getaway...we're "winter beach people", and it can hardly get cold enough in Texas to keep your feet out of the gulf! Brought along daughter & son-in-law this time, as Oasis is just too delightful not to share!

Location is close to everything but not "in the middle" of anything. A half block off the sea wall drag, Oasis is quiet and has a great view of the beach from the cozy balcony. Walk north along Seawall path or the beach itself, and it's fun to hunt small shells and greet the day with locals who invite you to join them for yoga, or blow a kiss to the setting sun with someone you love. Easy walk to Pareto and Stewart beaches. 14th street on the corner runs straight to Bishops Palace (which also isn't far from Moody Mansion), several great eateries, and the wharf area to people watch or cruise-ship watch. 3-min ride to Bolivar Ferry where you can ride across or board as pedestrians, toss bread to the seagulls, and see dolphins...for FREE!

But the Oasis Cottage itself is such a wonderful respite you can book a vacation with confidence no matter the weather. Even if you never leave the cottage, you'll still find rest and beauty and comfort to count your stay a success! We did recognize it could be rainy, windy, or quite cool in November, yet didn't worry a bit about having a great time. Oasis has all amenities, including TV/cable & wifi, plus DVDs and other surprises! Two couples can spend time together - or apart - in a variety of ways with plenty of space and options.

For 2-night stay, we brought food for 2 easy breakfast and lunch/dinner meals but took half home. Even if you eat all your meals out, Oasis supplies coffee and hot tea, plus corkscrew & glassware for wine. You'll find dishes, pots/pans, basic seasonings, ice, even a blender! We mixed up jello cheesecake and brought slice-and-bake cookies and fruit for at-home treats.

Greg & John have thought of everything in offering their place to all of us. It's spotless, comfy, and a super value. Just leave a week or two open for us when you book!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee M
Carthage, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Made our trip one we will always remember.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our stay at the Oasis Cottage was everything I could ask for. We will defiantly book this cottage again. We love the location, we were just minutes from everything that we wanted to do. Beds were comfortable. The ocean view was amazing, we sat on the deck in the mornings and watched the waves while drinking our coffee. I was nervous at first by booking online but talking to Greg made me feel so at ease. I would recommend to friends and family in the future.
Loved, Loved our Stay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinneym...
McKinney, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Like Home”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We chose this house based on the wonderful TripAdvisor reviews and we were delighted to also have a wonderful experience. In the past we have stayed in hotels in Galveston - The Tremont House, Hotel Galvez, Moody Gardens - and by far our favorite stay was at the Oasis Beach Cottage.

The house really is packed with everything you could need and feels just like home. My only suggestion would be to bring better toilet paper, since the paper provided was pretty thin. But if that's my only "complaint" then you know the experience was good.

There are two bedrooms, one with a queen sized bed and one with a king. We were able to put the kids in the king bed and they never had to "accidentally" touch each other, so there was peace in the land. The linens and towels were very nice and the beds are nice and comfortable.

The beach. In all the reviews I read I never really got a sense of where the beach is in relation to the house. So, the house is a block off the seawall, very walkable. There are steps that lead to the beach very close by, but the beach you can access right there is very narrow. When the tide was in, there was no beach, so we had to walk a little farther to find any sand. And Galveston just does not have the nicest beach, but if you enjoy listening to the surf and looking out at the water, this house is definitely for you. You can sit on the front porch and see the water (although there is a building directly in front of the house, you can still see the water around the sides and down the block).

We were there for July 4th, so we decided to walk down to see the parade and fireworks. We had to walk 14 blocks, but it was much easier to walk (I just promised the kids lots of ice cream if they didn't complain about the walk - thank goodness that worked) than it would have been to drive because traffic and parking were crazy.

We really did love our time here, we were so incredibly comfortable, and it was wonderful to be able to do laundry, we highly recommend this experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had everything we needed
Liked least: Bring better toilet paper
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thanks for the great comments! The toilet paper issue has been resolved and we are now back to our original plush toilet paper.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing