We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
297
189
50
33
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
189
50
33
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen washer and dryer living room deep jetted tub separate shower time share pool area shuffle board toaster oven one bedroom unit basketball court sleeper sofa beach access ice maker large balcony first floor nice resort
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed three days. Wifi was down. Pool was closed. Elevators were slow and there's only one. Icemaker in rim was broke. Ceiling fan in bedroom was broke. front desk did nothing to help fix anything. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. We will be staying elsewhere In the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay at Galveston Beach Resort. This certainly isn't the impression we want our guests to leave with. We sent you a private message in hopes of addressing these issues with you more personally. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

What was supposed to be an awesome multi-generational vacation, started horrendously and had several mini-disasters throughout thanks to IHG, Club Vacations, and the staff (including Star, Clare, Kendall and Shelly). Despite booking over four months in advance, requesting a lockout (so rooms are together) and being assured ahead of time things were setup properly, we arrived to have three rooms in three separate locations of the hotel for 8 people. Over the course of 7 trips to the front desk (who doesn't not handle reservations, cannot make modifications, has no clue who is staying in the hotel and when rooms are booked/available), 19 calls to IHG and Club Vacations (who do not speak to each other or in the same terminology) and a couple erroneous charges we ended up with the same situation and a couple cancellation charges and a heap of stress. Our rooms were never together and we were told the lockout/adjacent rooms were not available - despite two rooms connected to two of our rooms being open 85% of the stay. Nothing could be done. The front desk hung up on my mother in law in mid sentence. Club Vacations hung on me after stating they would no longer entertain the situation and that they were at no fault as they cannot plan for rooms in this manner (i.e. advanced booking???). The rooms were not properly ready and we had to go to the desk and get more towels and sheets, coffee, etc., as well. The pool was shut down our last day there and the elevators were running inefficiently. And one of our rooms has a toilet that when flushed could only be described as convulsing - and we were told it was functioning normally.

This is our third stay - and most likely our last. The first two were good, which is why we returned. But the communication, lack of hospitality and overall disregard for guests is unacceptable.

Room tip: Find a different hotel.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

We're so sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced with your unit locations at Galveston Beach Resort. Our Inventory team scans through reservations in advance, looking for special requests, such as ADA accessibility, consecutive stays in the same unit, etc. As a small beach resort in Summer, and given the varying lengths of guests' stays, we are not always able to keep parties in multiple units together.

We hate to hear about the shortfalls you encountered during your stay and sent you a private message in hopes of address them with you more personally. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We needed an escape from Dallas and Galveston lured us! We had not been back in 20 years! Great location with uncrowded, clean beach. No highway to cross. Room for 2 was adequate - not huge, but small kitchen, sofa, balcony with 2 chairs and 2 tables with great view of homes and beach. We could watch the sunrise and walk around to the west side of the 5th floor and see the sunset. We were in 57B. Only problem was the sound from the AC in bedroom. Something was crackling and I only wished I had brought ear plugs. Other vents did not have this sound. Just the bedroom. Also, the back of the bathroom door really needed a hook - PLEASE! We had great fun going into town to ride the free Ferry, see the wood sculptures, the Bishops house, and Victorian homes.

Room tip: Call ahead and ask for what you want. 5th floor is the top. They keep requests on file.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank REDJUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Galveston Beach Resort! It's our goal to provide a beachside home-away-from-home for our guests. Your feedback about the air-conditioning and door hook are appreciated.

Please come and see us again soon! Don't let 20 more years go by before you visit this lovely location. We'll be ready to welcome you back! Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

My 2 sisters and I enjoyed 3 great nights. Everything was spot on. Our room was listed as partial view of the ocean. E had z great view! Room was on the end, by the road, so we couldn't hear the waves. So what? It didn't matter to us! We did see a family using the charcoal grill, and ids on the volley ball court. Hotel did not have any beach furniture- so you might want to keep that in mind. My sister forgot to bring her copy of Momma Mia on DVD. I was so excited to find it in the activity room! YeAh! It's a short drive to the activities at the Seawall and Moody Gardens. Right on the beach. Perfect! Pool is very nice. I would recommend it to anyone. The king size bed was great, and sleeper sofa was good enough for my picky sister. Kitchen fine for us. We ate dinners out - it was perfect for breakfast and lunch. (The lights on the balcony railing are mine)

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

What a joy to read about your special reunion at Galveston Beach Resort! Even in a prime beach location, we recognize it's important for our guests to have fun things to do on-site. We're glad to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed exploring the area during your stay. Please come back to see us again soon, whatever the occasion! Thanks for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

You never get a second chance to make a first impression with me, especially when it comes to cleanliness. As a platinum member, I expect a lot. I chose this facility mainly based on reviews that I had seen on TripAdvisor.

Tile floor in our room had some type of potato chip pieces scattered around, as well as plastic sale tags that you would find on shirts. There was hair along the base board in our bathroom as well as something on the toilet seat, that I had to wipe off, and rust on the pole for the shower curtain. The floor looked dirty as soon as we entered.
Also had issues with the toilet not flushing and continuing to run.
I didn't feel the desk staff that afternoon was very friendly and they couldn't help me because they said the cleaning staff already gone home for the day.

On a positive note, we had a nice view and enjoyed our walk along the beach and some other aspects of our room were fine. The pool was busy, but family friendly.

Would I stay here again? Given other options, probably not, but I feel this property has the right potential if the new management team that I was told is taking over, can get it together.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kdave1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIClubCounselor, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beach location at Galveston Beach Resort! It's our goal to provide pleasant, spacious accommodations where families can relax and even enjoy preparing some meals together in their units. We recognize that housekeeping is a crucial element to comfort, and we're sorry to hear about the shortfalls you encountered. Your feedback is appreciated. We hope you'll give us your consideration for a future trip to Galveston, where we can show you how wonderful a vacation with us can be! Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews