We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whole Food Plant Based”

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th Street
Description: When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Being a person who eats only plant based whole food, it’s not always easy to find a restaurant that will prepare something I will eat. Not the case at Rudy & Paco’s. They prepared a vegetable medley for me that was exactly the way I asked and it was delicious. My wife had the avocado with fresh crab meet, beef stake tomato, with shrimp and red snapper. She said it was spectacular. Service was great. We ate at the bar and watched the baseball game. It was a delightful experience.

Thank Soft A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco V, Owner at Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

There is a reason this restaurant is number one in Galveston. From the minute you walk in, the staff misses no opportunity to make you feel special and to please. My wife had the salmon and said she has never had any better. She still talks about it. I had the red snapper and lump crab meat and it was delicious. Please treat yourself at least once to this fine dining experience that you will not soon forget. Bread pudding was very, very good but big enough and rich enough to easily be shared by two. This is a wonderful place for any special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank clinton3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco V, Owner at Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for visiting with us. It is always pleasing when our customers elect to write a review so our future customers can see what we are all about… thank you. We appreciate your comments about our pricing, service and products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We are well traveled and definite foodies, this restaurant blew my mind. The service was unlike anywhere I have ever been and the food

Definitely make a reservation or you won't get a table and spots at the bar are hard to come by. They are very strict about their dress code.

The customer service was amazing, and the staff really works together to make an unforgettable experience. Everything comes out perfectly timed and all the staff was just so courteous and wonderful.

First the plantains with the two sauces were delicious.

Then we had the empanadas and were the best empanadas ever. Chicken, beef and shrimp empanadas with the most amazing cilantro sauce.

Then I had pomegranate cranberry chipotle Chilean sea bass, wow served with the best scallop potatoes ever. My husband had an amazing ribeye cooked to perfection!

Just loved our experience here and can't wait to dine here again!!!! I can't say enough about the food and the wonderful staff here! I wish I could remember our waitresses name because she was the best!!!!!

Thank Gabe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco V, Owner at Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for recently recommending our business and for sharing with the online consumer community your positive experience. Please introduce yourself next time you visit as we would like to extend our appreciation in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Yes quality and selection on menu are extraordinarily special at this place. Top to bottom service and food seem to go hand and hand. Appetizer's and beverages are just as special listen to your server for suggestions and recommendations. Yes it is expensive but well worth every dollar spent. Please please make reservations hard but possible to walk in but don't be disappointed if you try it.
Look forward to a very enjoyable experience

Thank generoblyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco V, Owner at Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Every review like yours helps us get the word out that we represent great value and caring service. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We have been dining at Rudy and Paco's for years now, any trip to Galveston would not be complete without a meal at R & Ps. Absolutely the best Escargot on the planet, great Scotch selection, specials are always amazing. One the top 5 restaurants in Texas.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff and Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco V, Owner at Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your recent visit and subsequent wonderful praise. Feedback, especially from such well-spoken customers like you, is not only invaluable to those researching businesses like ours, but is also important to us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing