We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMO! HUGE portions!! 👍🏼😊”
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #30 of 321 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

We decided to give this cute little place a try and WOW! What a find! The food and service is OUTSTANDING. My husband ordered a SMALL bowl of Gumbo and they brought out this huge bowl! The server was kind enough to even bring me a little bowl to give it a try. It is fabulous. We got the sausage and chicken and the Roux is really good and different. I got the shrimp PoBoy which was to die for. We started out with an order of fried okra to share. Best fried okra I have ever put in my mouth. We took most of this yummy food back to the hotel and had it for dinner. What a deal! We hope to go back before we leave out. We had gone on a cruise and decided to spend a couple of nights in Galveston. So glad we did.

1  Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you Ginger! We love to hear you enjoyed our great food and that you were well taken care of! We are so glad you decided to visit us and hang around in Galveston for a few days. Hope you and your husband have a great time while you are here! We look forward to seeing you one more time before you head out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018

Two of us visited on a January Wednesday. The manager opened the door for us and welcomed us and we were waited on promptly by a friendly waitress. We tried both the seafood gumbo and the chicken & sausage gumbo which were both excellent! I like lots of heat, so I added hot sauce to spice up the great flavor. I would only recommend one thing; they need a smaller serving as they have only 2 sizes which are large and massive. We took about 1/2 home to enjoy later.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IA-bolledudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Great Review! Thank you for your glowing compliments about the food and service and thanks for your suggestion, we will pass it on to the appropriate staff. Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Had breakfast at 9am - no waiting for four and had a great server - ask for Charlene - From waffles to traditional eggs and bacon to omelets for Weight Watchers Freestyle you can get a really good breakfast at the Gumbo Diner. Several tried the beignets and they were fresh and warm. Overall an excellent experience and we are local and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DanHohnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you and your party enjoyed our breakfast with great service! We will be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

And that's about all I can say favourably about the Gumbo Diner. I usually eat breakfast there. I have decided to quit as the turn over of manager and other employees is indicative of a lot more. How can you mess up eggs and sausage? Easy overcook the sausage so it bursts it's casing and is dried up, and don't cook the eggs enough, even when specifically asked to cook them hard with no part wiggly or runny. There's just so many better choices on Galveston Island that giving up the view is worth it!! Or if the view is that important go to Miller's Cafe.

2  Thank Streak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for your comments. We want every customer to enjoy his or her food, the way they ordered it, and to always consider us the best place for breakfast on the island. Can you tell us the date and time of your visit so we can investigate further? In the meantime, we will let the appropriate staff know, so they can look into the issue. We hope you consider giving us another try. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

So.. we are in Galveston and it's snowing!! We called a couple of places and Gumbo Diner was one of the few places open.. I'm so glad that we came here!! Jerry and Cedric were amazing servers!! They were happy to be there doing their job!! The food was awesome!! Great place, delicious food and wonderful people!! We had Gumbo, shrimp platter and seafood platter and beignets after dinner!! Yummy!!

1  Thank txkimber65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for your Great Review! We are glad we could accommodate you and your party on such a cold day on the Island! We loved hearing that you were well taken care of and hope to see you next time your in Galveston, snow or no snow! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing