We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gumbo”
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #12 of 319 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two of us visited on a January Wednesday. The manager opened the door for us and welcomed us and we were waited on promptly by a friendly waitress. We tried both the seafood gumbo and the chicken & sausage gumbo which were both excellent! I like lots of heat, so I added hot sauce to spice up the great flavor. I would only recommend one thing; they need a smaller serving as they have only 2 sizes which are large and massive. We took about 1/2 home to enjoy later.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IA-bolledudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great Review! Thank you for your glowing compliments about the food and service and thanks for your suggestion, we will pass it on to the appropriate staff. Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had breakfast at 9am - no waiting for four and had a great server - ask for Charlene - From waffles to traditional eggs and bacon to omelets for Weight Watchers Freestyle you can get a really good breakfast at the Gumbo Diner. Several tried the beignets and they were fresh and warm. Overall an excellent experience and we are local and will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DanHohnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you and your party enjoyed our breakfast with great service! We will be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

And that's about all I can say favourably about the Gumbo Diner. I usually eat breakfast there. I have decided to quit as the turn over of manager and other employees is indicative of a lot more. How can you mess up eggs and sausage? Easy overcook the sausage so it bursts it's casing and is dried up, and don't cook the eggs enough, even when specifically asked to cook them hard with no part wiggly or runny. There's just so many better choices on Galveston Island that giving up the view is worth it!! Or if the view is that important go to Miller's Cafe.

2  Thank Streak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We want every customer to enjoy his or her food, the way they ordered it, and to always consider us the best place for breakfast on the island. Can you tell us the date and time of your visit so we can investigate further? In the meantime, we will let the appropriate staff know, so they can look into the issue. We hope you consider giving us another try. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

So.. we are in Galveston and it's snowing!! We called a couple of places and Gumbo Diner was one of the few places open.. I'm so glad that we came here!! Jerry and Cedric were amazing servers!! They were happy to be there doing their job!! The food was awesome!! Great place, delicious food and wonderful people!! We had Gumbo, shrimp platter and seafood platter and beignets after dinner!! Yummy!!

1  Thank txkimber65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your Great Review! We are glad we could accommodate you and your party on such a cold day on the Island! We loved hearing that you were well taken care of and hope to see you next time your in Galveston, snow or no snow! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Fantastic food, attentive service, busy with happy customers. Beignets, waffles, eggs rancheros as well as the coffee were great. Special shoutout to Yvonne... perfect waitress.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lindais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Gumbo Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thank you Lindais! Great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your breakfast with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing