We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost amazing.. just one flaw..”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #29 of 324 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Galveston is well known for over priced, medium quality restaurants.
This place is not that..
Almost everything was super great
We were greeted at the door by the manager, Manager- perfect business attire, Chefs-Perfect professional attire.
The decor was great, they had hand painted designs on the walls
Cloth napkins, great crockery,
Food quality, was really some of the best in Galveston
More than generous portions..
This is not cheap eats.. and you are not getting cheap eats, this is really well done gumbo..
With all of that said, there was one thing that stuck out like a sore thumb… the wait staff..
This is a very nice restaurant , and the staff is dressed like they work at a mom and pop drive through.
(Cheesy tee shirts) and the staff looked unkept.. (not dirty.. just like they did not care)
I think they need to have the wait staff present themselves like they work at nice business, and this place will have a cue outside the door..
We will defiantly go eat here again, when we are in town..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank russgobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you, Russ, for dining with us. We appreciate the great 4-star rating and your feedback, which we will share with management. We're so glad you enjoy the food, atmosphere and the service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018

Good gumbo, great menu selection. Service is occasionally slow but the food is worth the wait. Beignets and coffee are wonderful, better than New Orleans!

Thank 40Chezne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us! We're very happy you enjoyed your visist with us and we hope yto see you again in the near fututre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We go here every time we visit Galveston. They have a lot of options and it’s located in a nice downtown area. The food and service is really good. The shrimp and crab (not oyster fan) gumbo is fantastic! Served hot and right every time. We also got the shrimp platter which is shrimp cooked to your liking with fries and coleslaw. It’s really good but not much different than any other shrimp platter. Plates and gumbo average $12-18. Moderately priced. I do recommend this gumbo bar! You will enjoy!

Thank foote410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Thank you, we are glad to hear it. We hope that you will come by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I came here for lunch. I had the house special which was blackened catfish topped with crawfish etouffee, rice, and grilled squash medley. My husband had the shrimp gumbo and Cajun pistolettes. By far, this was the best Cajun food I have ever had. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere is excellent.

Thank julietally2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you, Julie! We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you nad your husband again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We stopped in and had a hard time deciding what to try. We ended up getting the cajun pistolettes, seafood platter, and oyster po boy and beingets. The food was soo good. After trying the pistolettes, we wanted more of the etouffee. I am not sure if the table next to us had the gumbo or etouffee but the bowl was impressively large and he was sharing with his family determined to make it gone. The waiter and his family was teasing him about not wanting to leave any behind. We would definitely stop back in on our next trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pattibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you, Patti! We appreciate you taking the time to write and we'll see you on your trip to Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing