We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour on a Despondent Day (cold & rainy)”
Review of Salsa's

Salsa's
Ranked #42 of 320 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Opened in January 1998 by Jorge and Antonio Oyervides and a friend, Frank Diaz, Salsas Mexican & Seafood Restaurant is their first restaurant, though the three have been in the restaurant business for more than 24 years. Salsas is located at 4604 Seawall Boulevard - and features plenty of parking, a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine.Our fine Mexican restaurant is bright, clean and colorful. Each table features two tantalizingly-different salsas, along with crispy, light tortilla chips. The menu offers traditional Mexican dishes like chicken or beef fajitas, enchiladas and burritos, plus some not-so-traditional platters such as seafood with a south-of-the-border flair. We invite you to savor your favorite dish and enjoy our frothy, refreshing margaritas. Happy Hour is Monday thru Friday from 3pm to 7pm. Salsas offers a daily Lunch Special from 11am to 3pm Monday thru Friday. Pickup orders are welcomed; simply call ahead. We look forward to serving your entire family!Salsa's Mexican Restaurant offers a breathtaking Gulf view from our enormous outdoor patio, and beautiful sunshine. Enjoy our colorful, delicious Mexican food along with a frothy, refreshing margarita.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We came here during their happy hour and ordered the diablo de salsa’s, a new menu item. I saw this dish in a local Galveston magazine and had to try it. It’s a dish for 2-3 people and it was fab. It’s like the “seafood platter” of fajitas. It was two of us and we could only eat half. Brought the other half to our suite for later but had no microwave so it was wasted. We also had their standard margarita and it was very good. This coming from a girl who normally orders top shelf or Cadillac. The chips were homemade and the salsas were very tasty, both tomato and avocado based.

Thank aarrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you! So glad the diablo de salsas and the seafood platter hit the spot. We hope you'll be back for some more stellar food next time you are in the area!

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2018

My wife and I stopped by for lunch after coming home from our cruise. Fantastic food. Quick service. Margaritas are legendary.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you, Ken! So glad you had a great lunch at our place. hope you'll be back for some more great food and stellar Margs soon!

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We read about this place on Trip Advisor and gave it a try for lunch while visiting the island. We were seated immediately and ordered margarias. The chips were warm and the salsa was excellent with a little kick. I had the #7 with cheese enchilada, beef taco and substituted the tamale for an extra enchilada. My husband had the chicken quesadillas on the lunch menu. This was a lot of food. The quesadillas were four huge slices and he could only finish two. I had an extra enchilada left as well. The prices were very reasonable and the service was great. I highly recommend giving them a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TXVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you, Vicky! We are so thrilled we could get you a great meal on your visit. Happy the chips and salsa, enchilada, tacos, and quesadillas all hit the spot. Happy we could get you a filling and delicious meal and we hope you'll come visit us again next time you are in town!

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Great food. Very good service from Nicole. Portions were large and delicious. Will definitely be back !!

Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you, Greg! We are so glad you enjoyed the food and service. We hope you'll be back for another amazing meal soon!

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Salsa's is a fabulous Mexican restaurant. The atmosphere is as good if not better than any place in Mexico and I have been to a lot. This is great Tex Mex food. I love the enchiladas especially the shrimp enchiladas. This is not bland food. If you have not had Tex Mex, it is an experience. The taste is different and Yankees and Mid-westerners may not appreciate it. Burritos and tacos are excellent. I have never had a bad meal there and have eaten there for a number of years. Service is good but not great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank warrenroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank D, Owner at Salsa's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Thank you! So glad our place impressed you. We are happy our authentic food hit the spot and that your enchiladas were just what you wanted. We hope you'll be back for another stellar meal next time you are in the area!

Best,
Frank, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Salsa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing