We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and Cozy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private hot tub Private Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Private hot tub
Private Hot tub
Bluebonnets During the Springtime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fredericksburg, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
drc0403
Pasadena, Texas
2 reviews
“Quiet and Cozy”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is a nice clean comfortable place. The cozy fireplace was the perfect addition to the cold weekend. We had a little trouble with the fireplace the first night and the owner was right there to show us how to do it. Very nice people. Hope to go back next year for a little get away. The house is older but they have made some nice updates. Also they have GREAT Wifi which in our experience is unusual for a house so secluded. We brought our Kindle Fire Stick and watched net flix all weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fireplace and Champagne Tub
Liked least: We never figured out the Hot tub BUT we should have called the owners they would have told us to flip the breaker
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jz884
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best little B&B in Fredericksburg!”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon at among the crepes myrtle and it was gorgeous. Once we arrived we walked in and looked around the cottage we were staying in. We were very impressed. As we walked in the door there was light music already playing via satellite tv.

Our host was kind enough to make us chocolate covered strawberries and also got us a bottle of champagne knowing that we were coming for our honeymoon. They also made us biscuits with homemade wild grape jam, banana bread and refrigerator filled with milk, eggs, oj, apple juice, cereal and all the condiments you could think of. There was also snacks available just in case we got a little hungry between meals.

After noticing what they had made for us we made our way to the bedrooms to check out the bathrooms and wow, they are beautiful. With spa tubs bigger than I've ever seen we were blown away. The beds were very comfortable which made falling asleep no problem.

Besides the satellite tv, we noticed there were many card/board games to play(I'm not going to lie, we went back to our childhood and squeezed in a game of chutes and latter's lol). As we moved on to the backyard we found a back patio that wrapped around the side of the house. There were many seating areas and a hot tub big enough for six people. We also noticed a grill which we ended up grilling steaks on our second night there. We were also greeted by three country cats in which one had recently had five kittens. These little guys were about four weeks old and were just starting to come out from under the patio to play with one another. It was fun to hold and play with these little guys.

After we looked around the place we brought our bags in and decided to go take a drive around the property and see what it had to offer. We made our way down a trail that led us straight to the river. Along the way we saw plenty of deer ranging in size and color. After our little drive we decided to head in town and grab a bite to eat. We found ourselves at Burger Burger on main street and filled ourselves up with some huge but delicious burgers.

We then went back to the b&b and grabbed our champagne and jumped in the hot tub. This was very relaxing and just what we needed to enjoy our honeymoon. When we got out and dried off we walked around to the side of the house and we noticed an armadillo walking by the fire pit. Now if you're a Texan you know that's good luck. He scampered off after he realized we were close by. We then went back in the house and enjoyed watching some tv before heading off to bed.

The next morning we woke up and slowly got ready and then went to check out some wineries in the area. After tasting a little wine we went back to the b&b and hit the trails again and of course there was no shortage of deer. We walked around the property and pet the horses. We found an old carriage that was stored by our cottage that had a beautiful sitting area along with a ping pong table, cornhole and many other outdoor games available.

We ran into our host's on the property and we stopped to talk to them for a minute. They were the nicest couple and you could really tell they loved doing what they do. They made sure we were very happy with everything and asked us if we needed anything else. We had everything we could ever need. They went above and beyond what we expected and we will be back for many years to come. We would like to bring some friends along next time seeing that there were so many things to do.

On our last day we did laundry since there was a brand new looking washer and dryer in the cottage which was nice to do before we returned back home. We said goodbye to the cats one last time and also took one last trail ride before heading out. On a scale from 1-10 I would give Monarch Ranch a 15! We didn't have one single problem while we visited this beautiful property. We loved our stay and our host's and we will be coming back very soon to get away from the fast pace lifestyle of Dallas. Thank you so much for a memorable honeymoon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison M
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Homey”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Under the Crepe Myrtles was very nice. The home baked treats added to the charm of the house. We actually talked to the owner and the home is nearing 100 years old and very quaint, however also has several updates like the soaker tubs, hot tub and grill area out back. We spent a lot of time on the deck grilling and enjoying the nice weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ability to cook on property and just relax on our own timeline. Also, loved the baked goods!
Liked least: Annoying cat that wanted in the house and there was some cleaning that needed to be done on the exterior of the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BedCab
Willis, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
503 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B with Amazing Amenities”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We love Among the Crepe Myrtles and have had many stays here. We love everything about it. We love the private patio with the outdoor hot tub. The star gazing is amazing as well as all the wonderful wildlife. It is situated on a beautiful ranch. The owners are absolutely wonderful and Monica's homemade jellies and scrumptious desserts are always a special treat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will K
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“perfect country getaway”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in September 2012
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights for my wife’s birthday wknd. We absolutely loved it and will be returning someday. The property has a lot of land that you are free to roam and explore. There is access to the Perdenales River on the property. This place is dog friendly and our dog enjoyed being in the country. The owner provides fresh baked goods in the morning that were delicious. Especially the home made brownies. She also supplied fresh eggs and milk. My wife really enjoyed the champagne bath tub. We put the outdoor fire ring to good use one night as we star gazed. I could talk about this place for an hour if I had time but all and all it was perfect and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being that it was on a large tract of land/ dog friendly
Liked least: didnt stay long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing