We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Southern Charm”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southern Charm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shannon09...
columbus, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This cabin needs major updating on the beds and furniture!”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin is located in Wears Valley. It is a great location for those planning on going to Pigeon Forge, Cades Cove, and Gatlinburg. The cabin overall needs updating. The beds are pretty awful. The room in the lower level has the worst bed. It's noisy, it looks like it will break or fall apart if you sneeze around it, and the mattresses dip to the middle so you literally feel like you have to roll up a hill to get out of bed.

The pool table needs new felt. You can't play because the felt is so old it has pillowing all over it! The rails are really loose too.

The game in the lower level is cool if it worked. You have to unplug it when not in use so you don't hear the thing all the way on the third level! If you start a game and decide you don't want to play it, you have to turn the machine off and start all the way over as most buttons don't work! The couch in the game area is gross. The table is nice but would be much better if the stools didn't feel like they would collapse once you sat on them. Remotes don't work. The lower level "theatre" room sucks. The tv is nice, however the couch that is way to big for the room is terrible! So no one wanted to use that room. And even if they did, you'd have to have little volume on as you can't shut the door because the couch is too big for this tiny room! Photos online are very, very deceiving!

The decks all need repair. The furniture needs new cushions. The grill area is disgusting! Clean the floor!! Replace the grill with a new one and please for the love of God, keep it clean! No one likes leftover food from previous renters!!!

The views are minimal as you are at the bottom of the mountain. Don't let the pictures fool you.

The couches on the main level are awful! New ones need to be purchased!! No one used them. We sat at the kitchen table instead.

The place still had Christmas decor up in late March! What the heck?!?!?

Every picture was taken when everything was brand new....don't be fooled by that! The place would be great for families or friends of 8 or less if they put some money back into it. We were bummed we didn't want to spend more time in the cabin like we planned because it was just too gross.

I hope the owners decide to replace a lot of the furniture and bedding so others don't get screwed over by pictures making the place seem better and larger than what it is.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Dear shannon09m,

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review for Southern Charm. On behalf of the staff and management, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us! We wish to assure you that this is certainly not our typical guests’ experience.

I have checked with my team and see that the grill has been replaced. We will be checking on the condition of the decks, pool table and furniture so that we can see if these need to be addressed by the owner for replacement.

Your comments are very important to us. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and I am so very sorry that we fell short. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies so that you will see that your visit with us just now is not the norm for our guests.

Sincerely,
Sherri T General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan R
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but keep looking”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The location was great, not too far up the mountain, easy access to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, Kroger. No neighbors you could see, very peaceful. The view was pleasant but there were poles and wires in the way of some of the Mountains. You could see the road and hear some cars. Not a big deal. The inside of the cabin was up to date and very nice, however there were some major things out of order. One half bath rained water down through the ceiling when you flushed the toilet. The dish washer was out of order. One of the sofa beds was a "couch only"-no box spring for the mattress. One of only two recliners was out of order, one of two fire places was non working. We called management immediately and they did send some out. He worked on the fireplace until about 9:30pm, during March Madness basketball, setting off the fire alarms at least 5 times. When he left the fireplace still needed some tweeking, we chose to leave it off since it kept setting off the fire alarms. Maintenance indicated they would report the remaining items to the homeowner. Leaving us with broken things during our stay. Staff was friendly, but no one apologized for our inconvenience. With all the cabins in that area, I would recommend that you keep looking, do you homework, read reviews. Ok to message me if you have further questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin had very nice amenities
Liked least: too many broken things, including one bathroom which we could not use at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin T
Homer, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cabin but could use a few updates”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After we had been moved by this Company to this cabin because the other was HORRIBLE it was a pleasant sight. The Cabin itself is Beautiful but the sleeper sofas need replacing. The mattresses for each was falling apart. Literally the mattress was falling thru the frame and unusable. we put blankets over the couch and they slept on them that way. The Pool table has large stains and a crack. Off balance as well. The Theater room was cool for smaller kids , it is a very small room! 4-5 people is about max. This is about 15-20 minute drive to Pigeon Forge. With little ones it is a lot . . hard to run back to cabin for naps or lunch when dealing with traffic and such. Drive way is very very steep! If you plan on using a crock pot make sure to bring your own. There is limited things to cook with.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy P
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL CABIN BUT TOO MANY NASTY AND UNWANTED PESTS”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival day, Saturday, we received the door code and alarm code via phone call. When we arrived, (having never been to Tennessee), we could not believe the hills. These were the steepest hills we had ever seen and when we got to the private drive, we had to put the truck in low and keep it moving until we got to our cabin. The cabin was quite large and majestic and sat on a hill overlooking the mountains with no other cabins around. Because the driveway is so steep it was a little difficult unpacking our belongings.

When we walked in, the cabin was breathtaking with ceiling high windows overlooking the hills of Tennessee. There were three levels, two with balconies, nice size bedrooms, a theater room, 4 1/2 bathrooms with king size beds, queen size sleeper sofas on each level, showers on each level, 3 jetted tubs, a nice kitchen with full size appliances, and so much more.

Once we settled in we unpacked and did our routine cleaning because we don't know how much cleaning was done before we arrived and you can never over clean places like this. It is important to clean things like the remotes, door knobs, light switches, re-clean bathrooms, etc. We ended our evening in the cabin and called it a wrap.

The next day, Sunday, we got a surprise-------ROACHES! We thought, okay people visit these cabins from all over and one or two is a possibility so we did not call maintenance at that time. By Monday there was a full blown invasion in the kitchen. We called maintenance and told them about the visitors and within a couple of hours, Orkin arrived. The Orkin man stated that he had been called to this cabin on numerous occasions but never saw any roaches, but my sisters planted traps to catch other insects had caught some roaches, so now the Orkin was able to see that the nasty visitors did exist. He was very nice and quite knowledgeable about the area, bears, wood peckers, the raccoons that invaded the trash every night, and so many other things in the area. Enough about the roaches, let's move on.

We loved the property, hated the roaches. The cabin was really beautiful but really needed a complete cleaning. Looking at the window seals from upstairs you could see a variety of dead bugs on them, something had been killed on the main porch because there was a great deal of dried blood dragged across it, there were spider webs on all the fixtures on the outside lights, there were hornet or wasp cocoons hanging on the lights and other things that benefit from a good cleaning.

In closing, the cabin is located in Townsend, but Pigeon Forge, Sevierville and Gatlinburg were just a hop and a skip away with so many attractions. These cities are very kid friendly with a lot of things to do. If you are not used to mountain driving, you may want to be in before night falls. It gets really scary driving at night.

I can say that we loved the cabin and hated the roaches and I don't think we will return to Southern Charm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Size
Liked least: Roaches
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing