We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuna Fishing Trip”

Proline Fishing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Proline Fishing Charters is a family owned and operated business which has been operating since 1991. This family has been plying the waters of Bass Strait and the Southern Ocean their whole lives, as their forebears did since 1842. Born on the Southern Peninsula and having fished these waters longer than anyone, there is nobody that has as much local knowledge as the skippers of Proline Fishing Charters. Sorrento Sportfishing Charters - We offer individual or group fishing trips from Sorrento and Queenscliff, fishing Port Phillip Bay, The Rip and Bass Strait for Snapper, King George Whiting, Salmon, Kingfish, Gummy Sharks, Mako Sharks, Blue Sharks, Nannygai, Calamari, Bass Strait Flathead and many other species. Queenscliff pickup is available for exclusive groups only. These 5hr trips operate all year. Departing at 06:15am & 11:30am. King Island Extended Charters - We offer 3 day fishing charters between January and March. These trips include return flights departing Moorabbin Airport at 06:00am to King Island and arrive at 07:00am in time for your Fishing Charter from Currie Harbour. The waters around King Island are a fisherman's paradise and are home to a wide variety of species including Mako Sharks, Kingfish, Tasmanian Striped Trumpeter, Nannygai, Morwong, Salmon, School Sharks, Gummy Sharks, Crayfish and many more. Portland Bluefin Tuna Charters - We offer full day Southern Bluefin Tuna and Albacore Tuna Charters for groups and individuals departing Portland Marina from March to July. We also offer shark fishing and deep drop fishing for Mako Sharks, Blueye, Pink Ling and Striped Tasmanian Trumpeter. Shark and deep drop charters are for exclusive groups only. These trips depart Portland Marina, fully inclusive of all gear, and a Hot Breakfast & Lunch
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Thanks Andrew amd Jason for a great weekend on the tuna.
These guys are good and we will be coming back again.

Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tuna"
in 14 reviews
"caught fish"
in 5 reviews
"fishing charter"
in 5 reviews
"take home"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend to everyone"
in 2 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 2 reviews
"deck hand"
in 3 reviews
"great boat"
in 2 reviews
"great fun"
in 4 reviews
"tea coffee"
in 2 reviews
"sausage"
in 2 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 2 reviews
"my partner"
in 2 reviews
"portland"
in 19 reviews
"jason"
in 12 reviews
"gurnard"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Would have been a great day out on one of the biggest fishing days of the year, Portlands "Hooked on Tuna" Festival, Except one small fish was caught on the entire boat over the whole day. I understand that catching fish isn't guaranteed when on such a charter however, going back to the dock to see that others had caught a 105kg Tuna, is more than a little deflating, for a group of men who had driven 4.5 hours there, and paid $1000 in total for the day out.

No partial refund or even an opportunity to go out again with the crew was offered, not sure we will be using Proline Charters again.

Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Owner at Proline Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

How interesting that this person didn’t even attend but writes a review. How interesting that over 300 boats fished that day and only a total of 35 fish were caught. Isn’t it a shame that the fish didn’t fire up like normal this time of year on your day. It would’ve been great if whoever your review is for could realise the that we don’t get refunds for fuel use and running costs. You paid $250/HD with breakfast & lunch.

We try our hardest on every occasion to produce fish for our clients. It’s called fishing, not catching.

You people would be better off spending your money at the fish market because obviously taking you out on a beautiful day and seeing nature at its best isn’t good enough.

For you not to use us again bothers me not, whinging people, cause the fish don’t bite doesn’t cut it.

“Grow Up”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Captain Andrew
Thanks very much for an entertaining and very fruitful fishing trip. A great day was had by all. What you told us would happen happened and what we would catch we did. A super big thanks to FOT (Trent) and we will certainly be fishing with Proline again.
Central Kitchens Crew Bendigo

Thank firedeb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Our great skipper, Andrew took us through The Heads to drop a line and catch plenty of fish.
A fun day with tea/coffee and a sausage sizzle included.
Would definitely do it again.

Thank traceymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Three of us went out from Sorrento on a 5 hour charter. After a safety briefing from skipper Jason, we headed out through The Heads then east along the coast. After about 45 minutes we dropped our lines. There were 13 clients on the boat, a comfortable number. James the deck hand busily helped everyone with baiting hooks, untangling lines, reeling in fish and getting them in the boat. We had tea/coffee and a barbecued sausage in bread during the morning. Everyone caught fish of some type and we moved location a number of times. Jason and James were very helpful with information and advice. The boat was spotlessly clean, the rods and reels in perfect order and everything was professionally done. Our catches were cleaned, gutted and bagged to take home.
We will certainly go out with Proline again and can happily recommend them to experienced and novice fisherman.
Thank you.

Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proline Fishing Charters also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Sorrento, Mornington Peninsula
Rye, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Proline Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing