We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Australian business”

Pumpkin Seeds Australia
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Myrtleford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are Australia's only growers and producers of pumpkins for their seed. Come and visit our farm shop where you can see the oil press in action, witness chocolate coated pumpkin seeds being made and taste a delicious range of seeds, nuts and oils. By visiting you will be supporting Australian farmers producing a unique product that is not only tasty but also one of a kind. Every visitor will receive a unique insight into how we grow and harvest millions of pumpkins each year. We can cater for families right up to bus groups (by appointment) You can purchse products and enjoy a cold drink or teas and coffees in our farm shop.
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Went here expecting the usual sell for a local small enterprise. How wrong could we have been.
This company produces more pumpkin seeds, pepitas, than anyone else in Australia and does everything naturally. Apparently the seeds available in supermarkets are washed in acid and of low quality.
Their pumpkin seed oil has all sorts of health benefits.
The story continues, as they are helping young farmers start up and encouraging others to farm hazelnuts, walnuts etc. Thus developing a huge Industry for this area.
Ensure you don't miss out on hearing their story.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank dfb_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussiePumpkinSeed, Director of Sales at Pumpkin Seeds Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

We loved having you visit, and we are delighted that our little corner of the world is able to share stories such as our own and others looking to grow the best Australian produce we can. The business model encouraged by the supermarkets does not work for us, hence we have taken a more bold approach to our farming practices which we believe is more sustainable in the long run for all parties involved especially the consumer. Please spread the word and we look forward to sharing our next exciting chapter with you when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pumpkin seed oil"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
"health benefits"
in 3 reviews
"the owner"
in 4 reviews
"salad"
in 4 reviews
"rail trail"
in 3 reviews
"great range"
in 2 reviews
"won t"
in 2 reviews
"all sorts"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 2 reviews
"several times"
in 2 reviews
"oils"
in 14 reviews
"business"
in 13 reviews
"chocolate"
in 4 reviews
"jay"
in 4 reviews
"products"
in 21 reviews
"variety"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018

An interesting place to spend a bit of time. The owners have manage to embellish the pumpkin seeds with all sorts of things e.g dark Belgian choc. Tastings of their inventions are available. They also sell hazelnut and walnut products. Bring your money with you as you won’t want to leave empty handed.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jetsetter39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussiePumpkinSeed, Owner at Pumpkin Seeds Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your visit, we are glad you dropped by and for supporting good quality Australian grown produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We came here two years ago and were disappointed by the run down and tired establishment. Thought we would give it another go on this trip and we’re very surprised. The place has had a facelift, new products, and friendly staff.
Got my kids to try some pumpkin seeds, even though they hate pumpkin and we actually walked out buying some for them as they liked it.
Not sure if it is new owners, but a much better visit than our last.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MASK_3551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussiePumpkinSeed, Director of Sales at Pumpkin Seeds Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for dropping in again. A lot has happened in the last 2 years of our business, we have employed more staff, distribute to so many more customers across Australia and have increased our product range through our Artisan Mill, allowing farmers who grow the best hazelnuts, walnuts, almonds and sunflower seeds to have new markets. We have also started to tidy up the exterior and we are glad you noticed. So much more happening with a new venture on the other side of the road where we increase our social enterprise footprint. So drop back in again soon to see the progress we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit, friendly and informative staff. A truly fascinating place with reasonably priced food and cosmetic goods on sale. Not very appealing from the road, so luckily it had been recommended to us.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Y4998WBchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussiePumpkinSeed, Owner at Pumpkin Seeds Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your visit and we appreciate your kind words. We hope you found the talk and tastings informative and thought provoking. We are int he process of improving the front area so check back in regularly to see how the gardens are coming along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

I have heard of this place jut never had the chance to go and check it out. On a recent trip to Bright my wife wanted to go and have a look. What a fantastic place full of very good products. All kinds of fresh seeds and flours just chock full of freshness and flavours. We bought a whole bunch of different oils and seeds. Jay and Wendy the owners and heart of this place were very welcoming and very happy to show us around and explain everything they do there. A great place to spend some time and get to know about a great range of products not usually available. Go if you can you won’t regret it.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank 799paull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussiePumpkinSeed, Owner at Pumpkin Seeds Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for dropping in. We love to hear feedback and we hope you continue to enjoy our delicious products. Thank you for supporting Australian farming and keep in touch. Best wishes Jay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pumpkin Seeds Australia also viewed

Myrtleford, Victoria
Myrtleford, Victoria
 
Myrtleford, Victoria
Myrtleford, Victoria
 

Been to Pumpkin Seeds Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing