We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing + lazy way to see wildlife

We had a brilliant day on the Goulburn river in perfect weather conditions. Rob was a wonderful... read more

Reviewed 26 April 2018
Bridget P
,
Melbourne
Paddle on the Goulburn

Had a great two hours paddling on the Goulburn in a double kayak supplied by Rob. Perfect time to... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2018
juliemacaus
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 25 reviews
  
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea eagles self guided canoe rob cockatoos lifejackets safari paddling gear wildlife adventure muddy 14km company
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2015

My husband and I and our to girls 8 & 10 yrs, spent a lovely afternoon canoeing on the Goulburn River. Rob was extremely helpful and you couldn't meet a friendlier bloke! He met as at the river, we parked our car and he drove us to the starting point 12 km's up river. He supplied us with life jackets and bottled water and canoe's (of course). He gave us instructions on how the paddle and off we went. We paddled for an hour, saw a shady spot and stopped for our lunch. Rob had told us to look out for an eagle's nest and we were lucky to spot it and an eagle flying overhead at one point. We saw heaps of cockatoo's and ducks. Overall a very enjoyable afternoon. It took us just on 4hrs to paddle 12km's. I would recommend it to anyone; you don't need to be fit, just keen to give it a go. All you need is sunscreen and a hat and enthusiasm!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank Coronarex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

My Mum and I did a day tour on the Goulburn in March and absolutely loved it ! Relaxing yet fun, the 17km was a great way to see the river. The packed lunch was lovely fresh salad rolls, we also had plenty of fresh fruit and 4 bottles of water. Rob, the owner was lovely and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed the day! Highly highly recommend this company and can't wait to do it again! Thanks Rob :-)

2  Thank Katenthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

We met up with Rob to start our self-guided adventure and were blown away by his knowledge. Rob is an amazingly, friendly person. He picked us up and took us up stream to start our adventure... we had no worries as everything was taken care for us. He let us know what to look for in ways of wildlife and he was not wrong! We canoed down the river for about 2 and a half hours. It's intermediate so anyone can do this and you don't have to be in top shape. We marvelled at the songs of the birds and stillness of the water. It was so quiet and peaceful, just breathing in all of what nature has to offer. River Country Adventours offers a wide range of packages, from self guided safaris, bridge to bridge and overnight camping. Everything is provided for you. I can honestly say the canoe trip left me speechless and I have not stopped smiling since. It was the absolute best thing we have ever done. I highly recommend booking with River Country Adventours, you won't be sorry! When my family visits from overseas, this is what we will be doing! I think Rob will be getting yearly trips from us.

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank HauntingBijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent 3 days camping in the Lower Goulburn National Park near Kanyapella and 2 days kayaking along 40 km of the river. The camp site was prepared by Rob and he ferried the kayaks to the starting point upstream of the camp. At the end of the 2nd days kayaking we were picked up and transported back to our camp site. The kayaking along the river was amazing, very peaceful and we came across many birds along the river including kingfishers, sea eagles, whistling kites, cockatoos, herons and more. There was good water level flowing the entire length of our trip and we were never held up by any obstacles. River Country Adventours were extremely helpful, Rob's knowledge of the river is extensive and the service he provided was 1st class.

Date of experience: January 2014
4  Thank razzy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews