We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden oasis in the Yarra”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden Retreat - a sensory experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Retreat - a sensory experience
Cookup a dream after harvesting from the Kitchen Garden Luxury textiles and a place to recharge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Garden Retreat - a sensory experience
Cookup a dream after harvesting from the Kitchen Garden
Luxury textiles and a place to recharge
Clean and Contemporary
Botanica Dreamtime
Seasonal Botanica Editions Garden Gift
Harvest from the seasonal Kitchen Garden
Dine inside, alfresco or a bit each way - you decide
Love letter - from our favourite people in the world, our guests.
Cook up a feast - in house with a kitchen garden harvest or let a Yarra Valley Chef cook for you.
Warm welcome - step in to another world when you immerse yourself in to The Willow House
Songlines - carefully curated artwork from the Kimberley to the Yarra Valley adorns the walls. BR 2.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Healesville, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jessica G
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden oasis in the Yarra”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

So pleased we found this hidden gem in the Yarra Valley. From the moment of arrival, the beautiful garden greeted us and washed away the week. You could spend hours sitting on the deck listening to the birds and exploring the verdant surrounds.

Greg and Karen have created a place that oozes charm with the apothecary point of difference. Their handmade soaps, shampoo and heavenly body wash were divine (they should sell them!). We stayed in Habitiat House which had just the right mix of modern amenities with personalised style to make you feel right at home. The hand written note, handmade soap and chocolate as a welcome gift were all lovely touches.

We loved the fire, comfy bed and tranquil surrounds that also made it the perfect base to explore the wineries and beautiful restaurants in the Yarra Valley with Healesville a short 3 minute drive away. I'll be back!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
What a beautiful note that makes our heart glow - thank you. We love how you have noticed all the subtle extras, designed to help you immerse completely in to this little Botanical Retreat we have created for you. Looking forward to sharing another season with you. Xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne R
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Arrived jet lagged from the UK for 4 nights at Habitat House.
Karen was in contact before our stay to ensure we optimised our visit to the Yarra with restaurants, wineries to visit and trails to walk it off. She also booked us spa treatments at the gorgeous RACV club.
Little touches that make a difference were abundant, gifts, gorgeous products to use, quality linen and an extremely comfortable bed.
The interior is contemporary and of high quality, well equipped for a long or short stay.
With an outlook that is calming and beautiful.
Healesville is a short drive and a great place for artisan quality produce, a good coffee or a casual dining experience. The wineries and trail walks are all within a short, pretty drive.
Overall, absolutely amazing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: amazing value for the quality of property and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you beautiful Londoners. It was a pleasure to share our little botanical retreat with you for some well deserved rejuvenation after a big year. You were a hit in the Yarra Valley. Our food, wine and spa providores who met you all mentioned it was a delight hosting you.

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your time with us and hope to share the Valley and Botanica Editions with you again some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleTra...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had high hopes for this place, and it managed to exceed them!
From the time of booking, everything about this place shows love and attention to detail.
The Willow House is an oasis. Gorgeous on the inside and serene in the private garden.
We enjoyed sitting on the back porch, listening to kookaburras while sipping tea made with mint fresh from the kitchen garden.
Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for being beautiful, respectful guests who put a smile on our housekeepers face by caring for The Willow House in the same way she does.

Then we wake to this heart warming note and your kind words.

This is why we love sharing The Willow House with special people who totally connect to the botanical retreat we have wanted to create.

With deep appreciation, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123876098...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Habitat House for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
Clear instructions were given for the self checkin which went very smoothly. We arrived to find the house cosy and welcoming with the gas log heater and several of the lamps turned on.
Everything in this house is quality, from T2 Teabags to their beautiful bed linen and towels.
Although the weather was fairly miserable it was just nice to sit in the lounge in front of the fire and look out at the beautiful garden. The house was particularly warm and we found that we did not need to use the portable heater in the bedroom as the gas log fire, electric blanket and towel warmer in the bathroom were more than enough to keep us cosy.
The house is literally 2 minute's walk from Healesville Sanctuary which is a treat, especially for overseas visitors, where you can see koalas, kangaroos and all manner of Australian wildlife. The recommended massage at Belinda Acquilina was also excellent. I could go on and on but really Habitat House was just lovely and we will hopefully be back.
Thank you Karen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's perfect.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Such beautiful guests - thank you. Yes, you timed your stay with an extraordinary week of wet weather, however the beauty is Maroondah Dam reservoir is now full and the Spillway is thundering with fresh mountain water. A truly refreshing experience to stand next to. We hope to have you return some time soon so you can see how the garden grows with this abundance of water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne K
Berwick
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First Time Guests”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a two night stay recently in Habitat House. Arrived to find the gas log heater warming the room which was welcoming. The little extras (potted herbs, welcome letter) Karen and Greg left for us was a nice touch. The linen and furnishings were of high standard.

Unfortunately, we found the house very cold during the nights. The gas log heater warmed the lounge area but the bedrooms were freezing even with electric blankets and throw rugs.

The two houses are a short drive from the main street of Healesville which is very convenient. It was a shame that we didn't actually see the owners during our stay, would have certainly made it feel more welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Gift left by owners
Liked least: Self check-in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Thank you Anne so much for your feedback and we are so sorry to that your experienced cold nights at Habitat House.

This is the first winter Habitat House has been operating in the Yarra Valley and Melbourne and Victoria have caught been experiencing unseasonal sub-zero temperatures, which has caught us a little by surprise.

Your kind effort to take the time by providing feedback will help us fine-tune our house notes to make sure guests staying with us over the remaining few weeks of winter are aware of all the heating we have in the house to help them through the cold nights.

You only made mention of the gas log fire and electric blankets, which makes us think you may not have noticed the other heating in the house. This has helped us understand the need to communicate more clearly so our future guests are also aware of how to use the mobile electric heaters in the bedrooms, along with the reverse cycle heating in the living room and electric wall heater in the bathroom. Thank you so much for helping us improve our communications.

We have designed Habitat House to be a private retreat for all who visit, providing flexibility with self check-in and self-catering. We like to respect our guest’s privacy but are only as short distance away if anything is needed. We hope you will find time to stay again in the future and know you can always contact us if needed to immediately address any concerns.

Warm regards and with appreciation.

Karen
(Owner/Manger)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing