We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i don't think they appreciate one-off customers, food is good, but not enjoyable service experience.”
Review of Silvas

Silvas
Ranked #3 of 58 Restaurants in Petersham
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Dishes are good, nothing to complain about that. But i don't think they appreciate non regular dine-in customers. We do takeaway at silvas nearly weekly, but don't dine in alot. We booked a table for 2 adults and 2 young kids today, when showed up we asked if we could sit by the window so the kids could get distracted and easier for us, the answer was no. Ok, that was not a big deal, maybe ppl did book that table and maybe next time we jst need to specifically book a window table. then we started ordering, beef on the stick, cod fish, chicken, octopus for entree ect. then we finished the entree, bread, chicken and drink, and kids were half full, ppl booked the table behind us came, the waiter was talking to them knowing them what they liked to drink, very friendly and warm. i was thinking oh, they did appreciate their customers, these guys must regularly eat here. then what made me really uncomfortable happened. we waited for AT LEAST 15 mins after what we had finished, those guys behind us got there beef stick, wasn't it supposed to be for us first, we ordered that AT LEAST 20 mins before them didn't we? then we asked one of the waitresses how this happened? she said maybe because we ordered entree, i said almost everyone ordered entree and the table behind us ordered entree too, so where is point ? i asked if they haven't made the food yet, we jst to paid whatever we had. then ANOTHER AT LEAST 20 mins, we FINALLY got our beef,and codfish. jst want to ask, didn't we pay the same price? why we didn't get the same treament? so you guys don't do "first order, first serve" instead" regular customers first"? very disappointing experience!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 136jingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Chicken Burger and chips I normally go to the competition but thought I would give Silva’s a try shouldn’t have bothered. Chicken I couldn’t eat all chewy terrible and chips were cold I threw away very disappointed just a waste of money. Service was good at least.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Gail2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

In these crazy COVID times suggest you book a table as when we arrived for Sunday lunch, the wait was 45 minutes but we were seated as soon as a table became available, and although busy, the staff were friendly and efficient.
The espetadas were delicious and perfectly cooked and the rissoles were fresh and tasty. This is a perfect place for a long indulgent Sunday lunch, although quite noisy.

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank AfricanQueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

If you can avoid the madness of the lunch time crowds then do so.
Great vibe, but so noisey.
Couple of tables outside.
The food is nice and reasonably priced.
Service is not too bad, just get a drink first, relax and be patient.
Takeaway seems very popular as well.
Walk from the train station.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2020

Silvas consistently provides fantastic service and delicious food every time my family and I visit. We live a long drive from Petersham but we are always happy to go since the food is that good! I recommend this place to families and groups of friends who want a cheap bite to eat.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lovehamjji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silvas also viewed

Petersham, Sydney
Woollahra, Sydney
 

Been to Silvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.