We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
54
38
10
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
38
10
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingstayed for nightstwin bedsold buildingwelcoming hotelattentive without being intrusivesunday lunchdown to earthsitting roombeefwell worth a visitowners and staffstunning viewscomfortable staylovely placelasagnaevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel and it is so charming on the outside. The staff are so friendly and the rooms are very clean and charming. The food in the restaurant is very fairly priced and the quality is very good indeed.

I would recommend this hotel highly if staying in Machynlleth.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Alkesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Plus points

Good friendly hard working staff
Beautiful setting
Large rooms
Pet friendly

Negatives

All rooms desperately need refurb appear dirty but are just very tired
External and internal paint all now doing - flaky chipped yellowing
( extractor in 6 needs a clean and replacement)
Showers definitely need a sort out
Possibly the cost of this out-ways the benefit as similar comments for last few years

Other comments:

Food only average
Bar closes way too early (930) this more to do with staffing I expect

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank KevinO884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

My adult son and I stayed at this hotel prior to climbing Cadair Idris very early the following morning.

Plas Dolguog is set in a stunning location, there is no other word to describe it, looking towards Cadair Idris and set in wonderful grounds. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in a more beautifully sited place. The following day, and two thirds of the way up the mountain, we could see the hotel in the distance and nothing but countryside in between.

We only met one member of staff at the hotel and she could not have been more helpful or accommodating. We had phoned in advance asking if we could have some sandwiches on our arrival, we got there at about 9pm, and, though there was a function going on in the bar, these were provided promptly and cheerfully. We had explained that we would be leaving too early for breakfast and, with our sandwiches, came a packed lunch for the following morning.

I appreciate that we had paid for breakfast but there are ways of dealing with situations and the way we were treated was exemplary.

Our room was a twin, in an annexe, which was comfortable and.......silent!

Sadly the premises probably needs a little bit of refurbishment but our welcome, and the fact that it put a smile on our faces and set us up for the following day, meant this mattered not a bit.

Please people, go and support this gorgeous Welsh hotel, with its stunning environs. It is well worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Miserablejohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, service was great, beautiful views, family friendly. Very pleasant experience, would definitely recommend to everyone couples and families. Very clean happy place. Walking distance from the town centre of machynlleth

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank juelles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We just back from our Easter break in this hotel. We were looking for cosy place in the middle of nowhere with nice view and good food. Plas Dolguog have everything what we expected. Nice double bed room with en-suit bathroom, private balcony with lovely view and tasty breakfast every morning. There's big theme garden called Grandma's Garden which took as pleasant 30min to walk through. Very friendly service, tasty food in Restaurant.
As for 3* hotel it was pleasure to stay there. Highly recommended ***

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beata F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews