We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
33
50
10
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
50
10
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravelzoo dealevening mealitalian winesgood sizelocally sourced meatleaving earlyquirky hotelallow dogswould stay againold coaching innno liftsingle roomcreaking floorboardsmain restaurantstaff went out of their wayan updatebeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

I was served the worst ploughmans meal ever . Called proper cheese ploughmans it had stale bread old cheese and terrible pickles . The appetiser was stale bread hard as rock
Cost 17.90 for two meals . Small bottles of coke at 4 @ £2 each
Total rip off prices for disgustingfood and terrible service

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank testament1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We've checked our records and you are a troll. We do not respond to trolls, Unfortunately we do suffer from them. Anyone reading this can view other reviews and make a judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Nice place to stay, excellent cooked breakfast utilising local ingredients, with safe parking for the motorcycles.
Attached Pizzeria produced some lovely Pizzas.
Comfy, clean room although we did find the double bed a bit snug.
Would definitely stay again.
We inadvertently left a Kindle behind and this was posted to us straight away for no charge, fantastic service, many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bitwobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for this kind review. We have differing size rooms, some very large, but they do costa bit more. We look forward to seeing you again and if you can identify yourselves, we can try and organise a free up-grade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Wynnstay during a two day motorcycle tour on North Wales and were made to feel welcomed as soon as we stepped in to reception. The manager immediately offered secure parking for our motorcycles in the large garage behind the hotel, advising me that he’d also had residents park Aston Martins and Jaguars in there in the past.

The decor is a little careworn, but the staff were friendly and accommodating, and the food more than made up for the tired paintwork.

The evening meal was incredibly well prepared; we can certainly recommend the duck and you can’t go far wrong with any of the desserts. Oh, and try the Welsh gin - it’s knockout!

The bed was comfortable and despite being in a room facing the main road through the town we had a restful night’s sleep.

The breakfast was every bit the equal of the previous evening’s meal, too.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for this kind review. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

8 of us visited for a family birthday and the birthday boy (67) choose the venue. 3 of us are vegan and unfortunately there was a lot of eye rolling every time I tried to explain this and very little choice (they wouldn't even open a time of beans for us as it would have been a waste apparently, however they did take up my suggestion of popping over the road for a smaller tin which my children could be served). The lady serving us was very friendly but did swear mildly an awful lot in front of my young children. She also continued to offer us diary ice cream (as it was part of the childrens deal) and even just decided to bring it out in case they wanted it, at which point I left. The Italian server was extremely entertaining not least for the constant mix ups and he seemed to join us for half of the meal. We sat outside but the inside of the hotel was very interesting and full of heritage items and comfy chairs. The childrens menu would benefit from a make over and some good healthy modern options. The family members generally enjoyed their options but felt there could have been a bit more innovation. The nettle and asparagus risotto was very plain (presumably because it was lacking the Parmesan) and could have done with some more seasoning and a bit of colour or inventiveness from the chef. That said they did make it vegan for me and came out to check my requirements so I was grateful to avoid the chips and beans alternative :)

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for this review. We have taken it up with the staff concerned. Sorry about the Italian, he can be over-friendly but was just helping out that day. Normally he is making our pizzas. I do not believe that we were advised that there were vegans in the party when the booking was made. We always try to do what we can for vegan but it helps to have advance warning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Yesterday we had a short notice family party at the Wynnstay Hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful and catered for our every need. The food was delicious and incredibly fresh and well presented. There was a fun, friendly and speedy reaction to our needs and it was the perfect venue for our family gathering because of the great atmosphere. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles D, Owner at Wynnstay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you for this kind review. It is always good to hear from satisfied guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews