We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent week”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated swimming pool with stunning views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated swimming pool with stunning views
Airy double bedroom with vaulted ceilings Light and airy double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Heated swimming pool with stunning views
Airy double bedroom with vaulted ceilings
Light and airy double bedroom
Exclusive outdoor pool
Games room
Hot tub in its own log cabin making the most of the stunning views
Kitchen with range cooker
Hot Tub
Barn setting
Ensuite bathroom
Barn and gardens
Double bedroom
Dining room
Master ensuite bedroom
Hallway and reading area
Family shower room
Children's bedroom sleeping 4
Approach to the barn
Twin bedroom 1 (photo 1)
Twin bedroom 1 (photo 2)
Spacious lounge with vaulted ceilings and woodburner
Double bedroom
Double bedroom with vaulted ceilings
Ensuite bathroom
Local area
Lake Vyrnwy nearby
Games room
Heated swimming pool
Twin bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Llanbrynmair, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent week”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a fantastic week at Cae Madog Barn with large family group of 15 ranging from under 10 to nearly 70.

House was very roomy and had enough space for everyone not to get under each others feet.

The pool, although on the slightly small size, was enjoyed daily as was the hot tub with wonderful views across the valley.

The house is in a VERY remote location but this is not an issue if you expect/plan for it.

The only other downside was lack of outside space for playing ball games etc, but this is beyond the owners control due to the landscape and wasn't really an issue for us.

Would definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
You're right about the garden but, as I have mentioned in another review comment, we are prioritising putting in a large additional decked area so, although we can't change the geography of the Cambrian Mountains, we can provide a good-sized outside space that makes the space more child-friendly. Thanks for your kind comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely rural cottage with all facilities including heated pool, hot tub, poolroom, x-box and lots of space”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in rural situation with great views - luxuriously equipped and well maintained. We were 8 adults and 7 children and fitted in comfortably with plenty of space. Lots to do on site with heated pool, hot tub, pool room, tv, dvd's, x-box and huge selection of holiday reading although garden limited for toddlers. Attractive peaceful situation but at least 30mins to most tourist attractions. We had a super week at Cae Madog!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: Garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments. I agree that, being on the side of a valley, the garden is quite sloping. It is our plan to put extra decking in as soon as we have a few weeks available, so our hope is that this will provide a large toddler-friendly play area. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon P
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Hi,

Myself and my wife rented Cae Madog for three nights for our families so we could have a mini xmas break it the start of December. We live in Dubai so the contact through Trip Advisor is a good idea, plus this aids communication.
The owner was fair with his contact and did help us while we were there, the barn is huge with lots of split levels, staircases and areas for people to escape or group into and even two living rooms (the kids had one and the adults the other) . The open fire was great in the cold night and the hot tub was used by everyone as its in a wooden hut. This however would not be good for the elderly or unsure footed as to access this is down a little steep stairway in the garden and at night you can not see the steps.
The cottage was cosy and more than adiquate with an abundance of character. We even arranged for a large Tesco's delivery to be there as we arrived.
All in all great for family or large group escapes , all our group enjoyed the stay and all the facilities from the pool to the games room got used throughout.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments. I must agree that the current access to the hot tub cabin is not ideal for those with restricted mobility. We had hoped to put in the new decking and steps before the summer, but we haven't had a chance as we have had so many guests. It is definitely on the cards for the autumn though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardogeena
Co. Cork
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a truly magical place!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We chose Cae Madog Barn as the venue to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. And, without exception, we were so pleased we did!
We were a party of 14, with an age range of 6 - 70. We chose to pay extra to have the pool heated and it was worth every penny! The children loved it, and used it non-stop.
The barn itself was great. Lots of lovely seating, a wood burning stove for when it got chilly in the evenings and lovely comfortable beds ensuring a good nights sleep.
Cae Madog really is the ideal venue for a large gathering. We would love to return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We always strive to make guests feel at home when they stay with us and it is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location / Quality and Ammenities
Liked least: Nothing. Really!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Wow! Thanks for the rave review Gethyn..... So happy you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again any time! Simon and Gemma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing