We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in a lovely location for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Packwood Cottage

Homely Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Homely Cottage
Path through to owners field where you are welcome to walk your dogs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Homely Cottage
Path through to owners field where you are welcome to walk your dogs
Private gate into secure cottage garden
Comfortable lounge area
Kitchen area
Master bedroom (King size bed)
Second bedroom (Twin beds)
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
A 'Sun-trap' private courtyard
Outdoor dining area
View to the rear of the cottage
Dylan Thomas's Boat house in Laugharne
Laugharne Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in a lovely location for exploring this part of Wales.”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Packwood cottage provides all you need for a relaxing break in this part of Wales. The cottage is fully equipped for self catering and provides a pleasant lounge/ dining area. It is pet friendly and has a small courtyard garden but also extended walking for dogs.
The location is suitable for visiting local places of interest including Laugharne, the beaches of Pendine, Carmarthen and further afield.
We took my 82 yr old mother with us and she truly enjoyed re-visiting old haunts. The only drawback for her was a difficulty in negotiating the stairs. Perhaps the owners would consider putting in a bannister on the lower section of the stairway. Other than this I would highly recommend the cottage for a home from home break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you for you review, we are glad your mother was able to recapture some of her memories of Laugharne. Thank you for the advise regarding a stair rail, it is something we will add when we are doing our next refresh of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed as a family of 4 - 2 adults, 2 children. We were made very welcome and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage was clean and had everything you'd need - TV, DVD player (with a good selection of DVDs!) dishwasher, full kitchen, fridge freezer etc etc. A very nice place to stay so that you could explore South Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in Laugharne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jen082011
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Book it !”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you are looking for a great little detatched cottage in peaceful surroundings with lots of things to do within a 15 mile radius then this is the cottage for you ! The owners Sarah and family (including Minna the dog) make you feel more than welcome. All in all, a holiday we will never forget !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our cottage. We were so glad the weather was so good for you and that you were able to enjoy so much of what the area has to offer. We would love to welcome you back anytime, as would Minna!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steff52
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great cottage, owner was really friendly and helpful. Fantastic location to explore west Wales, we will definitely be back

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you for the fab feedback! Past guests are really good at keeping the Guest book up to date with great places to explore and eat, but if we can add any other information to help you enjoy your stay we are more than happy to help! :0)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamzin C
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Cottage in a Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in August 2013 and had a wonderful week. Lovely cottage, comfy beds and everything you could need. It was great to be able to bring our 4 month old puppy Callie with us and so many dog friendly attractions and beaches made it a perfect location for us. Nothing was too much trouble and we would love to stay again when we can. Many thanks xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the all round quality of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Laugharne is a great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere that is dog friendly! We are really glad you enjoyed your week here and would love to welcome you again. The baby Swifts left not long after you!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing