We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
40
50
22
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
50
22
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchsteakmile bridgepotatoesinland seaevening mealcoastal path walksuperb foodtwo nightsthe main hotelpuddingno hot watera tadquiet locationprawn sandwichbusiness triptrearddur bay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were in the annex, the bedroom was fine, the bed a bit soft for our liking, but that is a minor niggle. The ensuite let it down, there is mould on some of the tiles, the shower rail is rusty and the shower is in the middle of the bath, so you are better at standing sideways on, so you don’t step back and fall over the side of the bath. It would be better suited to a walk in shower. The taps on the basin just come over into the basin, so hard to wash your hands. The toilet roll holder is a good arms length away from the toilet. We had plenty of hot water the Friday night, but no hot water until 6.30pm on the Saturday night, when the radiator started to get warm. I know it’s June, but we had spent the day at the race circuit and it was raining in the morning, dry in the afternoon, but not that warm, so was looking forward to a hot shower when I got back at 5pm.

We had a light lunch on Friday when we got there, we enjoyed the meal, the portion sizes are bigger than we expected for a light lunch. Saturday night the group we were with took over the dining room, so we could be altogether for a meal. Our choices were pre ordered in the morning, to make it quicker and easier to be served. The only niggle I had was the salmon came with chips, it would have been nice if it had come with new potatoes. We were told extra staff had been brought in to cope with our party and I cannot fault the service we received or the friendliness of the staff. Check in and checking out was quick and easy, with invoices hand written.

The hotel is on a main road, but it is quiet during the night. There is plenty of parking and breakfast finishes at 9.30am Monday to Saturday and 10.30 on a Sunday. They don’t serve food all day, but the bar is open all day.

The staff deserves a five star rating. What let it down was the bathroom and lack of hot water when we first arrived back in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a view of the water
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Evvx16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Called in here while holidaying locally.
The Sunday lunch was excellent both in value for money and choice.
Three coarse Sunday lunch for under £14.00 pp
The waitress service was very efficient and friendly.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wolfietoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We had an overnight stop at this hotel at Four Mile Bridge with Alfa Travel en route to Ireland. We stayed in room 37, which was in a separate building to the main hotel. The room was clean and tidy, had been well serviced, even biscuits provided with the hot drink making facility. There was no lock on the bathroom door. One thing which was a bit annoying, the TV suddenly switched itself on at three o'clock in the morning, waking us both up, otherwise we slept quite well despite the close by road.
Evening meal was pretty good, although the beef, which it said on the menu was with horseradish sauce, was not, and was undercooked for our liking - but this seems to be the modern trend. The breakfast fried bread was a tad fatty, but overall the food was more than satisfactory.
Prices in the bar were reasonable and a good selection of drinks was available. For some while there was a slight acrid 'electrical' burning smell in the bar.
The set up at this hotel is a bit strange in that, as already stated, our room was in a separate building, which could have been an issue had the weather been bad. Also to get from the main hotel into the larger bar, once again was an outside route.
The location is fairly quiet with part sea views and not much else around. Traffic on the road wasn't that much and was barely audible in the buildings. Very convenient for an overnight stop and overall good, would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This hotel is located at four mile bridge and is a good location for undertaking the Angelsey coastal path walk. although set on a main road it is relatively quiet with lovely sea views. Our ageing rambling group spent three happy nights there. The hotel has nicely decorated bedrooms with comfortable twin and double beds, good quality sheets, towels etc and changed each day and those extra amenities such as good quality tv screen, kettle with ample supplies of coffee/tea,milk and good quality biscuits. The ensuite has a bath shower, this is welcome after a tiring walk. The decor in the ensuite might benefit from some updating, our door handle broke off and the flush wa sticking. The door handle however was repaired immediately. The wi-fi is both free and strong and reliable.

We ate in and I would recommend the bar menu rather than a la carte which seemed pricey by comparison. The bar menu provided plenty of choice for meat and vegetarian eaters and the food was always hearty, well cooked and plentiful. We had a bottle of wine each day with our evening meal and the price was very reasonabl;e compared to London prices. We tried the pork belly, the welsh burger, home made steak pie,the chicken curry and steak. There were no complaints. There is also a large bar for residents and non residents with sky tv. Throughout our stay the service was excellent, friendly, helpful and considerate. I would recommend to anyone to spend some nights at this hotel and you will not be disappointed. We noted that they catered for disabled travellers The only drawback is that you are somewhat dependent on the hotel for dinning as it is a long walk to the nearest next best restaurant and buses are few and far between. Having a car to get around is defintely an advantage. For a relaxing break in this scenic part of the world this hotel is very clearly worth considering.

Room Tip: Use the annexe
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

It must be 10 years or more since I was last there but on a recent trip while on my way to the ferry in Holyhead we called for dinner. I would think it hasn’t been decorated since I was last there but that didn’t take away from our visit. Even though it was a little tired looking, it was very clean, the food and service was excellent.

I would recommend it to anyone in the, or passing the area for food or a drink.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews