We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in scenic peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Beach Retreat

Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Porthdafarch Beach just 200m away -Have the beach to yourself on quiet days - the cottage sits above
Parking area in front of the cottage and front patio overlooking the beautiful scenery
Welcome to the Beach Retreat!
The house sits just above the beach in a collection of pretty cottages
Living / Dining area
Popular and beautiful Porthdafarch Blue Flag Beach
Living space with steps up to second mezzanine bedroom
Looking down from the mezzanine bedroom over the stunning living area
Kingsize bed for cosy lie ins with great views
Sunny conservatory - soak up the wonderful views out to Sea and Snowdonia / Llyn Peninsula
Relaxing bathroom with shower / bath combination.
Sunny private rear patio with lounger chairs, views over rear garden to fields - great for BBQs
Front patio for a relaxing coffee or breakfast - sunny in mornings
Beautiful design detail throughout
Living / kitchen area all to the highest standard
Bedroom with wardrobe leading onto the bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen with all modern conveniences
The cottage
Mezzanine bedroom with double futon bed
Your retreat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Trearddur Bay, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
travelwit...
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in scenic peaceful location”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights for my birthday, with partner and teenage daughter, and 2 dogs the cottage is very modern, it stands quite high with lovely views of the coast and countryside.It is a very short walk down to the beach, the beach unfortunately does not allow dogs though if you walk about another 10 minutes towards Trearddur there is another one with no restrictions.
The cottage is very well equipped, the wine and starter pack are a nice thought.My daughter was very grateful of the good wifi in the cottage, the mezzanine bedroom is not really practical for larger children.We were fighting for space as there is nowhere to put clothes in that room and she had to crawl about in there.
This is a very nice cottage, the lady that greets you is very nice and too are the neighbours, they made a fuss of our dogs.
Can recommend a trip (5 min drive) out to South Stack Lighthouse, lovely tea shop and stunning views
I personally think it would be better if when you book ,the terms and conditions letter and the sign in the bathroom was worded abit friendlier, it comes across slightly threatening,particularly the one in bathroom, I understand that occasionally damage must happen, but most abiding people would be happy to sort that with owners if it were to arise.Ive never experienced this before in other rentals, so it did make me wary that your deposit might get kept for the slightest thing, but I MUST point out that we have received an email this morning that we are getting the deposit back, i would hate to think it might put anyone off booking so thought it was worth mentioning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wi-fi
Liked least: more suitable for 2 people, not large enough for 3
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danprachh
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class accommodation in the perfect location.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Beach Retreat. The cottage surpassed all expectations. As soon as we set foot in the property I felt at home, the property is luxuriously furnished and equipped with all of the latest mod cons. The house keeper Trin dropped by to drop off a delightful blackberry crumble and a birthday present for my father who's birthday it was during our stay. The beds are both very comfortable and the linen is good quality. There are out door chairs at the front and back of the cottage which allows one to sit I the sun all day long. The close by beach is very picturesque and lots of wildlife to be seen, early morning we spotted choughs, a heron, comerant, oyster catcher and a curlew. The is a very special place and well worth a trip.
Thankyou to the owner

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eglwys13
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely cottage, very well appointed. Children loved sleeping up the ladder!! Despite the mixed weather we had a super break. Would definitely return. A proper BBQ would be useful, as would a table outside to sit and eat, otherwise a relaxing break in a perfect spot.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonya103
manchester UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and Bad!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having just spent a week at this property I am happy in some ways but not in others.
Firstly id say its quite a bizarre set up. Ok so I read a review which mentions the large garden. However, on arrival we are greeted by a truly lovely lady who strangly informed us we are only to use 3meters of the garden. Apologies but i forgot my tape measure.(I have no idea what this was about).. Bizarre experience no2 was the owner emailing us on our second night asking if he could send an electrician to fix the wall lights (hmm sorry pal were on holiday so will not appreciate the noise and no electrician can't let himself in if were out as all our belongings are in the cottage) Only the mention of my autistic son and his complications surrounding an stranger intruding put an end to the emailing at almost 11pm... Bizarre no3, was being asked for a £125 deposit when we'd already paid £345 and was paying the remaining £275 when leaving (what for ?)
Ok so "bizarreness" aside I,l say this. The property is very deceptive as far as the photos on trip advisor are concerned. It is very small, very small. You or a 6 year old child could not stand upright in the mezanine... The ensuite bathroom in main bedroom the only bathroom so privacy is questionable. The sea view, well there is a slight sea view but do not expect panoramic, its slight, in the distance, but there is one, I suppose ! Breakfast, which apparantly is somewhere in the welcome pack consists of 3 Morrisons own breakfast bars and 3 small cereal variety boxes. We received milk and orange jice too. This is a sweet touch but compared to many other cottages on the Island hmmm !! (Where are the eggs and bacon, push the boat out a pound more for the amount (+deposit your charging).
Sooo negativity aside, Lovely beach up the road. Real nice and friendly neighbours who love dogs and were quite happy for my pooch to roam on their 3 meters. Wifi, dvd, large Tv a godsend on rainy days, the area is beautiful and the views are stunning. One last thing, in stripping the duvet cover for washing I was horrified at what id been sleeping in. Time for a new duvet I think ( it wasn't pleasant) !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
I'd like to clear up a few things here
Our advert doesnt state there is a large garden (only a private garden) and 3 metres is only a guide as the rear garden is open to the neighbours land but has no division fence
Brekafast is only complimentary along with a bottle of wine - we are a self catering cottage and do not provide a complete shopping basket and for the price of the cottage it's great value
the deposit - is a damage deposit - paid in advance then paid 7 days after departure - as per the booking terms - it is all very clearly explained in the contract
Some of the lights werent working so we offered to send an electrician round to fix - however this was totally unacceptable - we were only trying to help
Our advert is very accurate and judging by our other reviews all our customers are very happy with the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Trin the property manager met us and she was really friendly and helpful. The place is lovely and modern. Very comfortable to relax in. The bay is a very short walk down the road, which is lovely. The walk around the coast line cliff tops is amazing. We were very happy with our stay at the beach retreat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing