We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Llangefni)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tafarn Y Rhos(Llangefni)
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$127
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
428
200
99
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
428
200
99
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclock toweritalian restaurantsteam roomafternoon teaon arrivalfour postersea saltbeautiful hotelsat navset in beautiful groundsfine diningrelaxing breakbottle of proseccochanging roomswine listlarge poolcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in May 2018 on a Daily Telegraph deal with Secret Escapes which was an absolute bargain as this hotel is simply delightful with pool, gym and full leisure facilities. Centrally located in the middle of Angelsey so is ideally placed for sightseeing, walking, touring and visitor attractions. The rooms were spotless, spacious and had wonderful views of the gardens. Breakfasts were sumptuous and superb. The evening meals choice were extensive and maybe a little pricey but owing to the deal we got with Secret Escapes were well worth paying that little bit extra for.

Room Tip: garden rooms have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stoneybroke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for the review and taking the time to write one, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Invited to a dinner dance recently and were very disappointed. Glasses of fizz served on arrival were late and warm. Ordered a J2O orange at the bar, the opened bottle was put on the bar with the glass inverted on top, not acceptable. The food was very average and poorly served, bread rolls were served half way through the meal. The so called disco was playing loudly during the meal making conversation very difficult. There were two puddings on the menu but you were not given a choice you took pot luck on the one you received which meant guests were swapping puddings between themselves. Beautiful setting spoiled.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else first
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank victor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the hall when you attended a dinner dance earlier this year. Since the event we have made a lot of changes especially in the kitchen department, we have seen the standards improve since. I can't comment on the entertainment as that is booked by the organisers of the event as well as their idea of serving a two choice dessert based on a first come first serve basis. Once again apologies that you found it a disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We have Jez ust enjoyed a two night stay at the hotel. My parents and myself and my 12 year old son.
The staff were friendly and helpful - Tracey on reception and Fran were particularly nice.
It was quiet during our stay so we really felt spoilt and as if we had our own personal Downton Abbey stay! :)
Beautiful grounds, lovely old building, great rooms.
Only two tiny things - it would be nice to be able to use the pool with children for longer - the 9-11 slot means the parents don’t get to have a leisurely holiday breakfast!!
And quite fishy smelling at breakfast from the restaurant the night before.
We would love to come back and hope to soon

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Skdbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt spoilt by the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding ceremony & reception here last month. It was fantastic! The wedding team were so helpful in the lead up & on the day, taking away all my stress - and handling everything so professionally.
Staff were all so kind and friendly to myself and the other guests, the receptionist even sorted out my husband so be’s button hole before the cermoney. The food was amazing, all of our guests were well fed & many came to tell me how good it was, and how full they were. our bridal suite was beautiful with a bottle of champagne waiting for us, which was such a nice touch.
If you’re thinking of having your wedding here, or staying I would highly recommend- I honestly wouldn’t change anything of our special day.
Thank you all so much- I’m sure we will be back for a weekend away.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank rvwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your wedding. We are so glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves and everything went perfect. It was an amazing day. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon for an anniversary stay possibly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Having read the Trip Advisor reviews for this hotel, its disappointing that when we visited, it did not live up to our expectations.

On the positive side the hotel has a great location, quiet and secluded and gardens that are a real joy. Whoever is responsible for them should be very proud of what they have achieved.

It is difficult to describe the hotel ambience and environment. Public areas felt like a library, or a waiting room where any noise seemed to be exaggerated and we found ourselves speaking in whispers. The rooms, corridors and public areas are a bit oppressive and beginning to display tatty edges, like the dressing gowns in the room.

Even so we were eager to test out the dining which again is highly rated. Here too, we were disappointed. The menu is really very limited, made more so on the day of our visit, by the one dish we liked the look of, being unavailable. When our starters came they were both pretty bland and while the lamb mains course was very good, the haddock was arid. It seemed it, and its accompanying chips, had spent some considerable time being kept warm.The wine was warm too.

The second day began with the anticipation of a cooked breakfast. Sadly, this too, proved less than we might have hoped. The poached egg was hard, the tomato shrivelled, the black pudding full of fat and the bacon tough. We did comment on this when asked if we had enjoyed breakfast but the response was unconvincing.

Sadly, despite great potential, a let down.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank SCKT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews