We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin Looking up at the entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Nyth Y Wiwer (Squirrels Nest) our eco woodland cabin
Walk leading up to our woodland cabin
Looking up at the entrance
picnic area outside the cabin
View of the cabin
View from the veranda of the cabin
cupboard and shelves inside the cabin, all hand made
wood burner in the cabin
Cosy double bed
Inside the cabin
Dining area inside the cabin
Our first honeymoon couple
lit by candle light
Gas barbecue sheltered underneath the elevated cabin for rainy days
Eco toilet next to the cabin
Main cabin bathroom approx 100m walk through the woods from the cabin
Main cabin bathroom
Entrance to the woodland
woodland walk on our doorstep
red squirrel on the feeders
View across the Menai Strait from Friars bay just a few minutes drive from here
Penmon and puffin Island (10 mins drive from here)
View from White Beach (15mins drive from here)
Beautiful walk to Aber Falls (20mins drive from here)
view between the hills on the walk to Aber Falls
Bridge at Aber Falls
Llyn Crafnant, Trefriw
Menai Suspension Bridge, gate way to Anglesey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jason S
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

What a wonderful place! John was excellent....could have chatted to him for ages. He really made me welcome. The space, the place was brilliant. What more can you say but diolch yn fawr. Definitely will be back.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your great review for Nyth Y Wiwer, it was a real pleasure to meet you and I'm so glad that you found everything to your satisfaction and comfort. We would love to see you here again in the future....next time we can have a rock fest with the beers I still have in the shed!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“out of comfort zone amazing chill out break”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic perfect place for a chill out...limited techno contact, facilities ideal for dog walking, chilling on the verandah, brewing up on the BBQ...and just watching life pass by over a glass of wine and the sunset over Llandudno. Beaumaris and the Liverpool Hotel a must, as are Newborough beach for the dogs and the chocolate shop in Menai
Thank you Nan and John for cooking my jacket spud and laughing at my townie packing...just re booked for the spring...so see you both soon x

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review for Nyth Y Wiwer. We are delighted that someone not used to camping found our eco cabin so cosy and comfortable that you have decided to come and visit us again in the spring. We look forward to your next visit......and cooking baked potatoes for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeetjeJ_1...
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem with excellent views”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a fantastic hideaway this is! You feel alone in the world with great views of Snowdonia and the sea. Ecofriendly lodge, very comfortable with bed, comfy chairs, cutlery/plates/glasses etc. You need to cook outside on the grill with one gas stove but that's part of the fun of course. An eco pit toilet (very clean) is located just outside the lodge, but 100 m through the woods will get you to your private bathroom with shower and toilet. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. You can walk to the gold club for simple meals/refreshments or eat in Beaumaris. With bikes or car many interesting places are in easy reach of the lodge. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review for Nyth Y Wiwer. We were delighted that you came to visit us on your tour through Wales and that you found our cabin comfortable and all the facilities were to your satisfaction. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in mid and south wales. Perhaps we will have the pleasure of your company again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraP128...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another fantastic stay in this lovely, calm retreat.”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our second visit to Squirrels Nest. We had a fantastic couple of days with plenty of beautiful places to visit but the site is so lovely that it's a pleasure just to relax at the cabin. We were made very welcome again and everything we could possibly need to make our stay comfortable was provided. The cabin is very snug and cosy with the stove lit and has wonderful views. We were also delighted to see the red squirrels again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving for the midlands!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Hi there and thank you for your lovely review on Nyth Y Wiwer. It was lovely to see you all again, especially your beautiful little dog and the boys, of course. we are delighted that you enjoyed revisiting us and find our hide away cosy and comfortable. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave31165
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical...”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have been visiting Anglesey for some 10 years and now feel we have found our perfect bolt-hole- through lovely trees and across a stream. We stayed for a couple of nights last week and wish it were longer. Wondered if we would miss our running water and electricity but everything was to hand and enjoyable to do without ,and to use all the well thought-out facilities really made woodland log cabin living really good fun and such a welcome departure from the usual . Whatever the weather , all is snug and sufficient and secluded and all round weather and views, with hot shower and superb hospitality down the hill at Nan and John's .I really think anyone would benefit from this little piece of heaven.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the wonderful review for Nyth Y Wiwer, our eco log cabin. We are delighted that you were comfortable and found everything you needed to make your stay with us so enjoyable. It was a pleasure to have you come and stay and hope we will see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing