We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Porthwen Farm... a beautiful home in glorious...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthwen Farm

Porthwen farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm Porthwen farm with sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm with sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bedroom 1 with king size bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed & cot. Sea views
Bedroom 2 with cot & sea views
Bedroom 3 - twin beds
Family bathroom
Enclosed private garden with decking
Garden
Sea views
Sitting area with sea views
The old brickworks Porthwen bay
Sunset over porthwen
Views of countryside from the front of Porthwen farm
The neighbours
Hall/sitting room
Dining room
Hall/sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JosieRose...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Porthwen Farm... a beautiful home in glorious coastal countryside.”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a great family home and location! We were blessed with two hot and sunny days so we were able to enjoy the coastal walk which begins with a track from the house. Within minutes you have stunning coastal views, dramatic and wonderful in sunset.
After a day of walking or visiting places the house is a perfect home to return too. Greatly equipped both functionally and recreationally and spacious both indoor and out in the garden.
My family and I had a lovely time and recommended it highly! A perfect place for couples and family holidays.
Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla H
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect...Location, accommodation...Idyllic”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked for a long weekend, wished we had booked for longer...next time. Just myself, my husband and our two French Bulldogs but this property would be perfect for families of all generations also. Located in a beautiful part of the world, a short walk to the stunning views from the coastal walks. The property provides everything you would need, no matter how long you stay and no matter the weather. We enjoyed the sunshine during our stay and made the most of all the beaches that are within a short drive away. But there is so much countryside to explore also. The thing that strikes you is how unspoiled the area is, particularly the beaches etc. a truly 'traditional' family holiday location. Perfect for taking time to relax and enjoy the laid back feel of the place.

Bev has found a piece of paradise and a big thank you to her for being kind enough to share it with us!! The house is a perfect base for a holiday set within the countryside with only a short walk to the sea.

We cant wait to return, but return we will...for now we will remember our fond memories of our stay at Porthwen Farm.....Just to sign off by saying that you will not regret visiting this fabulous location and staying at Porthwen Farm....just leave a week or two for us in 2016!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brettle21
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I want to go back there NOW!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I even begin. We have been to a view holiday rentals now, but Porthwen Farm is hands down our favourite.

It is about half a mile on a private road, away from the main road, in walking distance of the coastal path. We loved the fact that we were away from everything, yet a short trip in the car and we could get anything we might have needed. There are no street lights, so at night time the sky just sparkles with stars.

The house is stunning. We did not want to go home at all and are already planning our next visit. We are owned by three dogs and Bev kindly allowed us to even bring our two fosters with us as well. We had enough space for all. There was a walled in garden and lots of walks close by. Church Bay is dog friendly, but only accesible when the tide is low, so check before you go. If you're a good walker you can get there along the costal path. The stunning views will more than make up for your sore feet :-)

Go and explore the Old Porthwen Brickworks, it's a little adventure and well worth a visit.

Thank you Bev, for providing us with wood for the first night, a lovely welcome package with milk, hot drinks and even a bottle of wine. Also for all your helpful input on where to go and what to do. We also appreciated the feather duvets and the comfortable mattress.

We felt very welcome and at home. Thank you for having us, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We have no complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing cottage”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Porthwen Farm for 5 days at the end of October (4 adults, 2 children and a dog)

The second you step through the front door you are welcomed by a cosy and warm atmosphere. A quick look around and you'll see that you have everything you need and more to enjoy your holiday come rain or shine.

The cottage is deceptively large. With a multitude of reception rooms and a generously sized kitchen down stairs you have plenty of room to spread out. Upstairs is more of the same, excellent sized bedrooms with the added benefit of a huge landing/rumpus room.

The cottage is in an excellent location between Cemaes Bay and Amwlch so you're only 5-10 minutes away from ample amenities not to mention a superb beach (at Cemaes Bay).

We were extremely lucky with mild weather so we got to enjoy the outside space at the cottage as well as the inside. The garden is great, plenty big enough and safe enough for the kids.

We would recommend Porthwen Farm to anyone visiting Anglesey, it made our short break truly enjoyable for all the family.

We will definitely returning next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ample size, snug with open fire was amazing
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike. We love this cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza_NH
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely country cottage with a sea view”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I rented Porthwen Farm for the weekend for my husbands birthday, we went with my in laws and another couple. The property was just what we wanted, right in the country so lovely and quiet and also right on the coast so lovely walks right on our doorstep.

The house is massive for 6 people, much more room than we needed really so if you have kids I imagine its great. Kitchen was brilliant, like a home away from home and the beds were really comfy too.

On the first day we walked to Amlwch along the coast which was lovely and then got a taxi back to the house which was £4!! Much cheaper than us all getting the bus which is what we were going to do.
We wanted some logs for the log burner so drove into Amlwch in the afternoon, unfortunately nowhere had any logs but there was a lovely guy in the green grocers who offered to bring some up to the house for us later that night, which was great.
On the second day we walked to Cemaes Bay along the coast, this was a lot more gruelling with a lot of ups and downs but we still enjoyed it.

Overall good value for money and would recommend to a friend if they were looking for a quiet weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$116
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing