We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthwen Farm

Porthwen farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm Porthwen farm with sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm
Porthwen farm with sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge
Bedroom 1 with king size bed
Bedroom 2 with double bed & cot. Sea views
Bedroom 2 with cot & sea views
Bedroom 3 - twin beds
Family bathroom
Enclosed private garden with decking
Garden
Sea views
Sitting area with sea views
The old brickworks Porthwen bay
Sunset over porthwen
Views of countryside from the front of Porthwen farm
The neighbours
Hall/sitting room
Dining room
Hall/sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve T
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing cottage”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Porthwen Farm for 5 days at the end of October (4 adults, 2 children and a dog)

The second you step through the front door you are welcomed by a cosy and warm atmosphere. A quick look around and you'll see that you have everything you need and more to enjoy your holiday come rain or shine.

The cottage is deceptively large. With a multitude of reception rooms and a generously sized kitchen down stairs you have plenty of room to spread out. Upstairs is more of the same, excellent sized bedrooms with the added benefit of a huge landing/rumpus room.

The cottage is in an excellent location between Cemaes Bay and Amwlch so you're only 5-10 minutes away from ample amenities not to mention a superb beach (at Cemaes Bay).

We were extremely lucky with mild weather so we got to enjoy the outside space at the cottage as well as the inside. The garden is great, plenty big enough and safe enough for the kids.

We would recommend Porthwen Farm to anyone visiting Anglesey, it made our short break truly enjoyable for all the family.

We will definitely returning next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ample size, snug with open fire was amazing
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike. We love this cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza_NH
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely country cottage with a sea view”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I rented Porthwen Farm for the weekend for my husbands birthday, we went with my in laws and another couple. The property was just what we wanted, right in the country so lovely and quiet and also right on the coast so lovely walks right on our doorstep.

The house is massive for 6 people, much more room than we needed really so if you have kids I imagine its great. Kitchen was brilliant, like a home away from home and the beds were really comfy too.

On the first day we walked to Amlwch along the coast which was lovely and then got a taxi back to the house which was £4!! Much cheaper than us all getting the bus which is what we were going to do.
We wanted some logs for the log burner so drove into Amlwch in the afternoon, unfortunately nowhere had any logs but there was a lovely guy in the green grocers who offered to bring some up to the house for us later that night, which was great.
On the second day we walked to Cemaes Bay along the coast, this was a lot more gruelling with a lot of ups and downs but we still enjoyed it.

Overall good value for money and would recommend to a friend if they were looking for a quiet weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicHannan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place by the sea”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This idealic farmhouse was petfect. It was a lovely peaceful setting just a 10 min walk from the sea where we managed to spot some dolphins.
There is a huge amount of space inside & is very well equipped (books, dvds, ipod docking station, table snooker... the list goes on).
There is even a folder packed full of helpful info such as days out, restaurants, take away menus, nearby walks.. again the list goes on)

Bev was great at responding to emails quickly...
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a break by the sea.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
182claire
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for walks and time with family and friends”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely holiday cottage. Well equipped and fabulous location for coastal path. Great place for families with two living rooms, a rumpus room for the children and a good sized kitchen. The welcome pack was much appreciated as were the logs for the Autumn evenings. We would highly recommend if you like the great outdoors, a peaceful location and a good space to share with family and friends.
We arrived on a wet and very windy Friday night and it was a little difficult to find the lane to the farm from the road. We had to use GPS to find it as the Sat Nav couldn't. This was not down to the directions provided as they were clear, just a note if travelling late at night. Have to say the weather for the rest of the weekend was beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: One more toilet would be beneficial
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
1 review
“Idyllic cottage with total peace and quiet”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful cottage in a brilliant location. It is situated 400m from the main road on a quiet country track ensuring the peace and quiet that you wish. It is a brilliant setting for people with children also. Some lovely walks around the area. This is a great base for looking around Anglessy with so many things to see and do. Great weather for this time of year to. The house has so many rooms to chose from, we sat in a different room every day. I was only there for 3 days and would have loved to have stayed for a week. Would certainly recommend this to anybody. Truly awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing