We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Admisiion Fee.”

Portmeirion Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Private village resort and gardens on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales open all year round from 10am to 7pm for day visits with reduced entry after 3.30pm. The village has two hotels, 15 self-catering cottages, six restaurants and cafes, six shops, a spa, an information centre, an audio visual presentation and a resident artist's gallery. Free welcome tours available from the information centre near the entrance. Closed to the public for the duration of Festival No 6 (first weekend in September)and on Christmas Day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 14 August 2018

On a recent visit here, I cannot dispute it is a pretty village set in a wonderful location. However, it is not worth paying for in my opinion. If you are a fan of the TV show that was filmed here, then fine go and visit, but if you are not, I would suggest giving it a miss. I like many tourists visiting the area go and visit Portmeirion and pay the ridiculous admission fee and after visiting several places in this beautiful area of the UK, notably Caernarfon and Snowdon, I can honestly say Portmeirion, although nice is not worth the money.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Guest_Liaison, Public Relations Manager at Portmeirion Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Hello Nicola. Thank you for your review. As a charitable trust, we must charge an entrance fee to contribute toward the upkeep of the buildings and grounds. However, included in that price is a free guided walking tour, 20 mintue audio-visual show, woodland train, seasonal exhibitions and access to 70 acres of woodland and 20 miles of woodland and coastal paths. All in all, we think we offer great value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tv series"
in 112 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 157 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 72 reviews
"free train ride"
in 39 reviews
"film set"
in 45 reviews
"shops and cafes"
in 69 reviews
"italian style"
in 37 reviews
"north wales"
in 183 reviews
"magical place"
in 67 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 195 reviews
"clough williams ellis"
in 58 reviews
"land train"
in 78 reviews
"sunny day"
in 122 reviews
"ice cream"
in 148 reviews
"every corner"
in 49 reviews
"self catering"
in 37 reviews
"half price"
in 37 reviews
Filter

188 - 192 of 3,558 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018

We have spent a wonderful full day here on two separate occasions. It is a beautifully maintained garden/film set and is absolutely enchanting. High quality restaurants and cafes are nestled in the hills and the views are fab. Highly recommended

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

What a great way to start our day. We had a full programme but here we took our time despite the rush. After walking with the guide, who told enthusiastically about this magical place we drifted of on our own. Enjoyed the ambience, the flowers, the colourful buildings and their quirckiness. A cold drink on the terrace and our time here at an end. Loved it.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank 3deschoffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Portmeirion was once of those places I'd always wanted to visit - after all I'm old enough to remember The Prisoner - but somehow never got to. This time we planned a trip with the single intention of visiting the village.

We were expecting that we'd maybe see all there was to see in a few hours, but in fact, we needed the full day.

Having recently bought the DVD's to remind myself of the various locations used in the series, it was interesting to root them out. Also, we had a pleasant walk through the wooded area on the hill.

I was expecting the pottery to be there, which it isn't (my lack of knowledge!), but that did not detract from a wonderful day out.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

A lovely quaint village to visit & picturesque great to just amble around at your own leisure. Pleenty of cafes,shops & places to explore. A short walk away you will find a beautiful beach. A place well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Orchids657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portmeirion Village also viewed

 

Been to Portmeirion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing