We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
191
100
38
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
100
38
20
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza oven beautiful location camp fire garlic bread pay phone busy site toilet block no mobile phone signal bacon butties electric hook ups lovely lake pen y pass bank holiday camping trip no booking ice packs small shop
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Fabulous site. We were in a Motorhome and had booked a hard standing pitch (as recommended) right next to the lake. Facilities are basic but very good. The wardens and camp maintenance were very helpful.

Ideal location for walks as it offers bus access at the entrance to the two tracks at Pen Y Pass - only £1.50 (dogs go free). Also on days where the weather wasn't good to allow you up to the summit there are paths in the valley which head directly from the site up to the Watkins Trail where we just walked to the waterfalls and then on into Beddgelert and caught the bus back.

On site there are minimal facilities to buy essentials make sure you have them when you arrive nearest provisions are 4-5 miles away and they are limited. But every night there is a fresh made pizza stand serving selection of pizza and beer and wine which were excellent. For the high season they also do Coffee and breakfast rolls but we didn't try these.

Also if you're in need of drying and washing facilities they have these near reception.

Very peaceful location.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MicheleW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Firstly i have to say the campsite is in a beautiful location at the side of a lake and mountains. Scenery wise you cant ask for more.

The staff were extremely friendly and the toilets/showers are kept well.

Downsides to the site are as follows;

MIDGES - Horrid things the site is plagued with them and can make it uncomfortable to be outside.

PIZZA TAKEAWAY - The Pizza take away is a rip off! £8 for a 10" pizza if you can call it a pizza that is, its barely a doughey crisp. They are so small and thin you need more than one and thats where they get you. The toppings on the pizza are attrocious a splash of tomato and cheese and a few basil leaves chucked on top! Stay clear of the pizza takeaway unless they alter there servings and prices.

WI-FI/PHONE SIGNAL

On site there is no signal or wifi so depending on the person and how many nights you are there it may or may not cause a problem. However there is a pay phone on site.

NOISE:
Noise is a real issue i dont expect a busy site to be quiet but at the same time i dont expect to hear large groups of one sex groups shouting and screaming after 11pm and the sound of kids screaming and playing football again after 11pm i really did think a site like this would have rules in place to tackle this problem.

They are the downfalls to the site and may put others off from staying but my reviews are neutral and give you an honest review of the site.

The campsite is situated in a great location with many routes up the likes of snowdon. Also the lake on the campsite is beautiful.

I hope you enjoy your stay.

Rich Nemesis

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank rjnorgateuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Really lovely setting. By a very large lake with crystal clear water. Must be about 7 large fields and you can camp where you like. We stayed for 2 night's first night the midges were terrible even with fires and insect spray. However 2nd night was midge free so no idea what attracks them.
Staff all very friendly. Facilities are basic but fine for a few days. Great as a base for walking around Snowdonia about 5 min drive from penny pass car park

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Phil758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This is a great camp site, you can pitch your tent pretty much where you want, all the staff are very helpfull and quiet laid back, Beddgelert is about 5 miles away and has a few pubs and restaurants, it also has a small local shop where you can get essentials (No local supermarkets), There are many great walks in this area and also great for cycling, you can hire kayaks to go out on the lake or go swimming, the water is crystal clearand very refreshing! The campsite has metal fire pits which you can use with wood purchssed from the site, the showers and toilet facilities are adequate. The only down side on our visit were the midge, after about 9pm even with a log fire they were everywhere, we had to retreat into the tent! my partner was bitten quite badly. I suggest you take some very good repelant.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights mid June with two other friends. We were charged £20 per head as a deposit on top of the standard fees because apparently we were classed as a 'group'. I personally don't think 4 persons should be classed as a group.

The campsite is gorgeous and it is serene by the lake. However, the midges are extremely annoying at dusk if there is no wind!! You may feel like you aren't getting bitten as they are tiny but believe me you are! We used a strong Jungle formula to try and ward them off but it didn't work.

Everything else about the site is great. Showers and toilets always clean and nice hot water.

We hiked directly up Snowdon from the site and did a loop which came to 20km so that was convenient for us.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sluggfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews