We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
362
68
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
68
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners narrow road sea view high standard sea front first class lovely hotel criccieth castle north wales powerful shower breakfast and dinner public areas two nights wine list well worth a visit varied menu lamb
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel on the strength of the recommendations on here and I wasn't disappointed.
It is a lovely hotel. Very clean and well presented. No peeling paint or poor furniture.
The views are stunning from the front rooms overlooking he sea. They're big and the bed comfortable.
The staff are very friendly, very helpful and went the extra mile to do things I wanted for our Anniversary.
Food is excellent. Evening meal was first class, plenty of it freshly cooked and nicely presented. Breakfast was as expected plentiful and good choice.
All in all a really good hotel that is recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JGManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was so nice to see a man treat his lady like she deserves :-).

We wish you many more years of happiness together.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

A lovely relaxing break with amazing views over the bay and excellent food. The staff were helpful and friendly. If there was a fault it was that the heating was not turned on enough for the cold temperature. Yes I know it’s September but heating should be based on the condition not on the month of the year. But despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ELIZABETHMWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I agree, this time of year to get the heating right is not easy, as some days are scorching and the next the temperature has dropped significantly. But defiantly a point we will take on board.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Stayed 2 nights with my wife for a significant birthday for her. I made a perfect choice with this hotel. The hotel has a modern take with just a hint of old fashioned but only in as much as the warm and welcoming service we received. Our room was very comfortable with a wonderful view of the stormy seas outside, ideal for the wife she loved it! We had dinner in the restaurant on her birthday and the food was excellent as were the breakfasts. Can give this establishment no higher compliment than we would both stay there again in an instant.

Room tip: Sea view room a must
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryn1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both, and we are really pleased that you chose us to celebrate her birthday with.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4nights and had a great stay. Loved being on the bay. Would stay there again. The staff were great. Katherine was very helpful. Food was also very good. Went to see Harlech castle, caernafon castle and criccieth castle.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pats775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for the brilliant review, it is really appreciated. We are a great base for going to see many of the great Castle is Wales so hopefully next time you visit you can tick a few more off your list.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Last visited Criccieth in July 1982 so we thought it was time to pay another visit. Chose the Caerwylan because of the location and recommendations. We found parking outside the hotel a bit tight but quite manageable. The room was immaculate and our view was fantastic; beach, sea, castle, herons at low tide and a view of Harllech castle on a clear day. Booked dinner the first night and we both enjoyed an excellent meal, accompanied by a well kept cask ale. I've reviewed the Tonnau restaurant separately. We found the bed very comfortable and the shower was first class. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the cooked breakfasts arrived promptly. The coffee was very good. The housekeeping was efficient and we always returned to an immaculate room; it was almost as if the housekeeper had experience of military room inspections!
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Criccieth and this hotel was the icing on the cake. One tip for visitors: hotels always suggest you book dinner - in this case they mean it. In fact it's best if you can to book dinner when you make the hotel booking.

Room tip: Room with a sea view - we had room 24.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulm1002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you very much for the excellent and informative review, details like this really help other make a good decision on where to stay so we really appreciate it. We hope you won't wait another 36 years to come visit us again.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews