We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
639
56
13
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
56
13
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room country house honesty bar homemade biscuits gun room armstrong jones roaring log fire the princess margaret suite north wales on arrival sorbet molton brown toiletries little touches great hosts warm welcome lovely house fudge
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We so enjoyed our 2 nights stay. The hotel is comfortable and relaxed with great family photos dotted around. Staff and service was excellent as was the meal in the Gun Room. I would visit again and can definitely recommend the hotel

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Zammy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Very comfortable rooms, lovely drawing room and other public rooms with outstanding customer service and food. If anyone wants good value, quality accommodation this is the place in North Wales. Menue was all local and very good, as was choice of wines and an excellent local beer.
A young , very enthusiastic team strive for excellence, well done

Room tip: Garden view rooms were very peaceful.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColinBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We spent two nights here en route to a timeshare further south in Wales and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room (Bachelor - rooms have names rather then numbers!) was actually too small but we stored cases in a generously-sized adjacent en suite bathroom which gave a bit more room to move around. The hotel is set in magnificent grounds which will be a joy to explore in better weather. The narrow gauge Welsh Highland Railway passes through the grounds, though hidden, and the whistling of the trains provides a nostalgic background noise. The interior is sumptuously furnished and immaculately kept and any royalist would find plenty to keep them going for as long as they cared. The home belonged to the Armstrong Jones family (Anthony married Princess Margaret) and pictures and family memorabilia adorn the walls wherever you go and care to look. We dined in the hotel on the first night and the food was superb - not over-much but just the right portions to make you thoroughly sated. Breakfast was up to expectation. The hotel is well positioned for excursions to many nearby attractions - the spectacular Snowdonia or the coast - and it is situated far enough off the busy main road to offer splendid seclusion and peace. The staff were all unfailingly pleasant and dedicated to making our stay both very pleasant and memorable.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 676JimF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We must thank Irish ferries for changing the ferry times otherwise we would not have stayed. Lovely room, fabulous dinner and excellent service. Nothing too much trouble, and even better dogs welcome here. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We stayed for two nights recently and enjoyed our stay very much. My partner is vegan and the chef produced the best vegan meal she has ever had. He was charming and professional. My meal was pretty good as well.
The hotel is comfortable and friendly (and very convenient for the Welsh Highland Railway).

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews