We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
241
130
82
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
241
130
82
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chequers restaurant country house wedding venue lounge bar wedding breakfast wedding reception afternoon tea lovely grounds would highly recommend this hotel wonderful wedding open fire beautiful building bride and groom roast beef function room evening meal little gem
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016

very well kept up market Hotel set in fantastic grounds, well run with helpful smily staff. The Bedroom was very comfortable but no air con so was a bit hot during the night only a problem in summer. The breakfast was nice , I took mine outside on the patio as it was a nice sunny morning. Top hotel

Stayed: July 2016
Thank johnbulpin_swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear johnbulpin_swansea,

Thank you for your great review, we were delighted to see your comments, and pleased to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.
It sounds as though you stayed during a warm spell, and sorry to see you found your room hot during the night, however the up-side was being able to enjoy an al frescoe breakfast in our beautiful grounds!
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you on many future visits to North Wales.

Kind regards,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Special birthday with the family. Service slow, lack of social skills from staff.
Roast beef fatty, Yorkshire puds hard, roast potatoes hard on the outside, vegetables nicely cooked. Disappointment all around. One young child in the party, all adults served first and the little one unable to understand why he did not receive his food...got it in the end.
One order for pasta and this was fine. No problem with this dish.

Room Tip: Did not stay over
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pauline093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Pauline093,

We were disappointed to read your review following your recent visit for a birthday celebration meal.
I have followed up all your comments with our Kitchen and Restaurant team, as we usually receive positive feedback from guests using Chequers Restaurant, and make a point of serving our younger visitors first so they are not kept waiting - basic service skills!
I can assure you that your comments about food quality and service have been taken very seriously, to avoid any similar incidents.
I hope you may return in the future when I am confident you will see a marked improvement on your last visit.
Thank you for your valued feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The four poster bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast menu was far superior when you chose off the menu rather than the buffet hot option. Evening meal menu was slightly limited and the daily specials were the same each evening. The staff were all very polite, noting any specific requirements. Ideal location for wedding venues or for those wanting to visit Chester and the surrounding areas without staying in the city.

Room Tip: 108 room with four poster bed. No lift in hotel?
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Melanie S,

Thank you for your great review, I was pleased to see you had a comfortable night in one of our four poster beds, which are very popular.
I have noted your comments about the menu options and firstly we offer a full buffet service or choice of full Welsh Breakfast or Continental, in order to satisfy most of our guests, which is generally well received.
Our A la Carte menu is changed seasonally, to provide freshly cooked dishes and the daily specials should change every day to give our guests a varied choice of dining.
Thank you for your kind comments about our team who work very hard to look after all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming on future visits to North Wales.

Kind regards,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This is a typical old country house converted into a hotel, so the location is lovely and the sweeping drive makes for a grand entrance. The bar is great and the food is okay, my room was 301 and it was in an annexe which whilst joined to the hotel, was also access d by an unlocked fire entrance. A bit poor for security reasons but as the hotel is in its own grounds should be fine.

The room was cold as the heating is centrally operated and I asked for a heater and got one, the to and wifi is good enough, the bathroom was adequate but nothing memorable.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Wob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Wob64,

Thank you for your review following your recent overnight stay with us, we were pleased that overall you enjoyed you visit.
The fire exit you mentioned does give our ground floor rooms direct access to the car park, which is more convenient for guests in these rooms. For security measures the door is kept closed at night time and is checked frequently by our night porter on their rounds - as it is a fire exit we are not able to lock this exit, and can assure you it has not caused any problems in the past.
The heating of rooms is difficult at this time of year when temperatures vary so much - we do have the heating set on automatic thermostats which usually works well.
Thank you for your valued feedback, we look forward to welcoming you on future visits to North Wales.

Kind regards,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed on a business trip, and found the hotel nice and quiet, with no late night noise, etc you can get with some places.

Ate in the bar and the food was tasty and well cooked. Can't really comment about anything other than the continental breakfast as it was all I had, but that was fine too.

I would stay here again if I was working in the area again

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Wadey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Dear Wadey57,

Thank you for your great review following your recent visit, I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were pleased to see you will be staying with on future visits, when I hope I may see you to 'Thank You' for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Tony Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews