We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penrhyn Barn

Penrhyn Barn and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views. Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Penrhyn Barn and patio
Oak beams, comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows to take in the views.
Luxury, comfort and fabulous views from your kingsize bed
Penrhyn pool leads you into a spetacular gorge
Prepare meals in the fully equipped kitchen
Beautifully fitted family bathroom with whirlpool bath
Sit by the river, fish or enjoy a glass of wine, take in the scenery and chillout.
The comfortable lounge with woodburner
The gorge at Penrhyn
Relax, entertain friends and family. Enjoy
penrhyn pool and gorge
A salmon caught in Penrhyn pool
Somewhere over the rainbow, the views from the back of the barn
Explore the Carmbrian Mountains from the doorstep
The local pub is within walking distance, sample their real ales.
Is this the lake district? No it's better, it's Lynne Brianne and there's no crowds.
Carreg Cennen castle is only a short drive
The river Towy at Penrhyn.
The river Towy at Penrhyn
Sit at the top of the waterfall and take in the view
Bluebells above the gorge
family fishing at beautiful Dinas just up the valley
stride off into the hills around Penrhyn
Breath in the fresh mountain air, it's clean enough for the lichen to grow.
magical nights by the river just outside your bedroom window
enjoy a round of golf
inviting forestry walks from the doorstep
Have fun at Pembrey Park
amazing beaches all within an hours easy drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dream6727...
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Warm,cosy,clean and spacious. Perfect for 8 friends to celebrate.would be worried about taking younger children because of the near river passing close to property. Great walks and some fantastic scenery

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Driveway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Penrhyn Barn, and hope to see you all in the near future

Mic & Jacquie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
783pete
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic loccation”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked this accommodation to celebrate a milestone birthday with friends and family and we could not have made a better choice. We had 9 people but with 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a dining table to seat 10 and a living area where we could all sit in comfort, this met all of our needs. The kitchen was well equipped and being located alongside the dining area meant that everyone "in the kitchen" was involved in the conversations going on around the table.
The location is very peaceful but within a short drive you were out in the countryside with great walks and scenery.
We would highly recommend this property and will go back again.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for booking Penrhyn Barn. It was our pleasure to have such wonderful guests and we would love to welcome you back any time. We will also offer you a loyalty discount for your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepal25
2 reviews
“Stunning location, a real countryside retreat.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The owners were really welcoming and helpful. Jackie even helped us when we got lost in the mountains! The amazing locations allows beautiful walks. The stars at night were spectacular. The bedrooms were all large and the whole barn easily coped with our family of ten. We would highly recommend this beautiful barn.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks for booking Penrhyn Barn, it was a joy to meet you all and we would love you to all return someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya75200...
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful House in a Great Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a great holiday at Penrhyn Barn. There were 9 of us and this property was a perfect size and layout, with plenty of bathrooms, powerful showers and super comfy beds. The location is wonderful with river and forest walks right from the door. Mic and Jackie are lovely hosts and we would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks for booking Penrhyn Barn, we thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. We would love to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
East Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is our second stay at Penrhyn Barn. The barn is beautiful and spacious enough to cater for all three generations of our family plus our dog. The barn is down a long track on the owners farm so remote enough for a peaceful stay. There is enough space around the barn for the kids to ride their bike and play ball, our kids loved playing with Tess the owners collie. We particularly enjoyed messing around on the river which runs next to the barn and enjoyed the walk to the local pub in the evening. The owners Mick and Jacqui recommended some stunning local walks. If you love the great outdoors this is the perfect place.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for coming to stay at Penrhyn Barn. It was a pleasure to see you all again. Hope you had a safe journey home. We are looking forward to your next visit, we really enjoyed your company.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.