We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fondue4two
Madison, Wisconsin

Great Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2024
Our stay started a bit shaky given that the street in front of the hotel entrance is totally block by construction. It would have been nice in all of the pre-check-in communications sent by the hotel if they sent out some warning on this situation. With the help of the valets we were able to get situated but we were lucky to have driven in from the east ($32 to valet park with tax).

Once inside we were pleased to get a great upgraded corner suite on the 10th floor as Gold members. This was the best room of our 10 day trip that included 9 nights in Marriott properties. The room was not only spacious but the decor, fixtures and furniture were much nicer than most Residence Inns we have stayed at around the US. The public spaces in this old art deco renovated building were classier too and in good shape.

The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard for RIs.

The location was close to a number of attractions and "close enough" to the always loud and rowdy Beale Street.

Highly recommended!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this review
Responded 1 May 2024
Hello Fondue4two!

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the construction outside. We're glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite and found our staff friendly. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$323
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $323
0.2 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Peabody exterior
$440
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • travelup.com
0.2 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
$292
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $292
1.2 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$340
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$306
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    $306
0.7 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$288
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
$205
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
17.6 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
$752
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $752
1.2 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $379
  • Official Site
    $512
10.9 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $205
  • Algotels
2.9 km from Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Memphis
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
513
243
84
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
513
243
84
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen beale street valet parking mississippi river small kitchen living room walking distance memphis downtown trolley line main street civil rights museum valet service front desk staff free breakfast would stay here again location was perfect great room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. A water pipe had burst on the street in front of the hotel which made gps not work. I called the hotel and the vallet came out and found me and helped get luggage and took my car. Hotel is located on street car tracks. 2$ for all day pass is a steal! Never pulled car out of vallet! Memphis is a wonderful city full of history and kind people. I will return!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katielyz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Hello Katielyz81,

Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay despite the GPS hiccup. Our valet team is always here to assist. Memphis is indeed a fantastic city, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Stayed here for one night and that was plenty. The first issue is there is construction going on in front of the hotel and the street is closed. Getting to the hotel was difficult as our map apps kept taking us to the wrong entrance. It would have been nice if the hotel sent a note out explaining the construction.

The lobby is dark and depressing. We had a king suite as there we 3 of us. The layout is very weird. The king bed is on an elevated platform with the bathroom attached to it. This meant our son had to walk through our bedroom platform to get to the bathroom.

Our biggest issue is when we checked in there were wet towels in the bathroom floor, the trash had not been emptied, the dishwasher wasn't emptied, and the table had crumbs all over it. We had them come in a clean the entire room again including changing the sheets. While they were doing this I asked if they could go ahead and make up the sleeper sofa for my son and was abruptly told no. Given the other issues I didn't think this was an unfair request (especially given a prior reviewer who said the inside of the couch was filthy).

The location was good and convenient to everything downtown. This is about the best quality of the hotel. I will find another Marriott in Memphis next time.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cseanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Hello!

I apologize for the inconveniences and shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We regret that the construction and navigation challenges were not communicated in advance. Your room should have been thoroughly cleaned upon arrival, and I apologize for the oversight. Your request to have the sleeper sofa made up should have been accommodated more graciously. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room layout and will consider it for future improvements. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we will address these issues promptly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Freezing cold weather outside but inviting inside. The staff and hotel are wonderful. Within walking distance of Beale St this hotel has it all. A nice basic breakfast, inviting and clean rooms, friendly and warm staff and dog friendly. We will come back again.

Room tip: Thoroughly modern rooms in a lovely old building. Walking distance to music and nightlife.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L8914NKfernandaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, our inviting rooms, and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024

Our son had recently traveled to Memphis and did not feel safe when he was there, so he expressed his concern for us. We were very careful when choosing a hotel and the Residence Inn did not disappoint. While we stayed in the local area after dark, we liked the central location of the hotel and its proximity to the trolley, which enabled us to keep our car parked for our entire stay. We didn't see any homeless or drunks....well, except for the guests who were in the room next to us having a vicious domestic dispute, screaming at each other the entire night. We did have our room moved at 3 am, although a better resolution would have been to separate and move them rather than waiting for us to ask to have our room changed. Or kick them out. While I understand that they didn't want to send them out on the road while they were drunk and fighting, the other guests lost a night of sleep. They told us they were guests and not homeless being housed there, but we'll never know the real story.

The rooms were spacious despite the odd shape and untraditional layout. We were in a loft room, which now I understand what that means. The bedroom area is elevated by a step-up with the bathroom on that elevated loft (just two steps, I believe). Then the kitchen and living areas are by the windows. It's just a different layout, but very spacious and functional.

Parking was valet and according to my app, our car was within the same block. The valet told us there was an on-site parking garage. We had no problems at all with the valet parking. Breakfast was sufficient, although scaled back considerably from pre-Covid. Several restaurants, and the Peabody Hotel, are within a block or two, and again, while we were aware of our surroundings, we didn't have any problems in this area. The Beale Street area was a bit sketchy, but we only went during the daytime.

I doubt we will be back to Memphis, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: December 2023
1  Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Thank you for choosing Residence Inn Memphis and sharing your experience. We appreciate your positive remarks about our central location, valet service, and spacious loft room.

I apologize for the disturbance caused by neighboring guests, and we'll review our procedures for handling such situations.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and would be honored to host you again if your travels bring you back to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Fabulous stay! Alma the evening desk manager took such good care of us! We arrived in a moving truck and she arranged for us to park it out front where it was looked after all night. We were given a sweet corner room that was beyond comfortable. Breakfast was really nice too- great selections! We made great friends here in Memphis, especially Arrius who showed us the fabulous rooftop of the Residence Inn.

Memphis is a magical place. You just have to go with the flow here and open yourself up to all of the wonderful people you meet. Stop at the Peabody and enjoy a cocktail at the lobby bar. It's a fabulous place to people watch. Eat the ribs at Rendezvous! And be sure to take the time to visit the National Civil Rights Museum. Every person needs to experience this. Enjoy the magic of Memphis!

Room tip: Corner room on the boulevard was fab!
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 678gretchenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, Guest Services / Front Office at Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted Ima and our team made your stay special. Your kind words about our services and Memphis recommendations are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews