We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
seagrovetraveler
Huntsville, Alabama

Almost Completely Renovated!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Dec 2023
We are brand loyal Hilton members who recently traveled to Memphis for some medical appointments and chose this hotel because we knew it had undergone extensive renovations. It’s not quite finished but our room, the hotel’s exterior, and the breakfast area look shiny and new. We stayed in a suite which was nicely updated and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming, especially the manager who immediately addressed a couple of small maintenance issues. The hotel’s renovations are almost complete so if you are looking for a nicely updated Hampton Inn with a great staff, look no further than The Hampton Inn and Suites in east Memphis.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this review
Responded 9 Dec 2023
Seagrovetraveler, it's wonderful to hear about your recent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East. Your loyalty to the Hilton brand is sincerely appreciated.

You've insightfully pointed out the renovations that the hotel has undergone recently. Your kind words about the newly designed spaces - your suite, the hotel's exterior, and the breakfast area - are heartening. Aspects such as these reassure us that our efforts to create a fresh, appealing and comfortable environment are proving to be successful. Your satisfaction with the suite underscores our aim to provide accommodation that meets and exceeds guest expectations.

It's commendable that our helpful team members also left a strong impression. They genuinely enjoy making our guests like you feel welcomed and any maintenance issues that may arise are taken seriously, as you experienced with the immediate attention from the manager. This proactivity is a crucial part of our service philosophy.

Your assertive recommendation to others looking for an updated Hampton Inn is quite encouraging. We appreciate you taking the time and effort to share your experiences and look forward to welcoming you back when the renovation is fully complete. We trust it will further enhance your stay. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$454
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
16.3 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Pool
Restaurant
$327
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
18.0 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$218
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
15.3 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Peabody exterior
$423
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
  • Algotels
18.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Pool
Restaurant
$339
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
18.1 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Pool
$140
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    $140
14.2 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Free parking
$269
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
18.3 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Room service
$287
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $319
18.6 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $621
  • Expedia.com
    $723
18.5 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • Wyndham
    $298
17.6 km from Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Memphis
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
532
245
111
38
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
532
245
111
38
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great stay oatmeal easy access would definitely stay here again parking lot downtown microwave maintenance sink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 967 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2023

The kitchen came equipped with:
(1) Dinner Fork & (1) Dinner Knife, no kitchen knives
(2) Cereal Bowls
(2) Glasses (no wine glasses)
NO PLATES
(4) assorted Coffee Mugs
(1) small Saucepan & (1) Dutch Oven (both were dirty)
No Cleaning Products or Dish Soap

IT WAS THE LEAST EQUIPPED SUITE KITCHEN WE’VE EVER EXPERIENCED. We usually stay at a Homewood Suites. I assumed that since this is a “Hilton” property, it would be similarly equipped.

Pros:
- Room was clean and well-maintained.
- Gym is very well equipped (probably the best we’ve experienced)
- Staff was friendly
- Great Location

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Jimmy,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East. It seems clear that there were both highs and lows during your visit, and we appreciate this opportunity to improve our service.

Firstly, it's disheartening to learn you felt the kitchen was less equipped than you anticipated. Providing an exceptional suite experience includes ensuring that all amenities, from dinnerware to cooking utensils, are appropriately available. Each suite should have adequate kitchen tools to meet guests' expectations, and it's disappointing to hear we fell short in this regard. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Additionally, we regret that you discovered some of your cooking equipment in a less than satisfactory condition— cleanliness and hygiene are amongst our topmost priorities and non-negotiable in all our rooms, including our kitchens. This omission is not up to our usual standards, and we've certainly taken note of it.

As for the lack of cleaning products or dish soap, we understand that these are important for a comfortable stay, especially when using the kitchen frequently. Assuring the provision of these items is pivotal, and we apologize for this oversight.

On a more positive note, we are delighted to hear that the overall condition of your room was clean and well-maintained. Your sentiments regarding our gym facilities resonate greatly with us as well, as we take immense pride in it being one of the best-equipped facilities in the vicinity.

It's also wonderful to know that our team members' cordial nature made a significant impact on your stay, as demonstrating kindness and helpfulness to our guests is an integral part of our values. We're equally pleased that our advantageous location added an extra element of convenience to your overall experience.

Your experiences at our sister properties like Homewood Suites set the level of our expectations high, and understandably so. While there seems to have been a gap in this instance, rest assured, we are keenly tuning into your feedback to enhance our provision of the comfort and quality you expect from us.

We truly value your input and will make every effort to ensure your next visit to our property is as enjoyable and fluid as you anticipate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023

The first thing to know about this hotel in November 2023 is that it is under construction. That was disappointing to me as I was not advised when I was booking nor when I checked in on the app. So when I arrived very late at night, even though I had selected a room, the digital key was not working and I was assigned a different room. Check in during construction is at a side door, and if you don't have a key to access you have to ring the bell. I was put in a newly remodeled room which was so-so. Bed is comfortable and furniture is nice. Satellite TV is very glitchy. There was a refrigerator in the room, but too big for the space in the cabinet designed for it - and a little noisy. Because of its size, it was somewhat blocking the outlets on the side of the cabinet where you could plug in devices. I was disappointed that this newly remodeled room did not have hand soap and lotion in dispensers. I had bar soap. And whomever cleaned the room did not put lotion in the room, but rather shampoo and conditioner in one time use plastic containers. There was already shampoo and conditioner in the shower - there in dispensers.
On the plus side - the grab and go breakfast still had a warm option. And they were offering that you could go to Embassy Suites next door as well. There is roaming security late at night in the parking lot. So this hotel has potential. I am planning several more trips to Memphis in the coming year, but won't choose this venue until I know construction is complete.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K Malaika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Malaika, Your detailed feedback is greatly appreciated as we always seek to improve the overall guest experience. It's regretful to learn of the inconvenience you experienced regarding the ongoing construction work. It's critical for us to be transparent with our guests, and we apologize sincerely for not clearly informing you about it prior to your stay.

We acknowledge your experience with the digital key and the late-night room change. We strive to streamline the check-in process and simplify the experience for our guests, and it's uncomfortable to hear that both these goals were not achieved in your case. We are already working to rectify the issue to ensure it does not recur.

Your comments on the room, specifically the satellite TV and the placement of the refrigerator, have been noted. We intend to offer a seamless experience, and taking care of these minor details is of utmost importance to us. We also understand your concerns regarding the kind of toiletries provided in the room and acknowledge your preference for dispensers over the use of single-use plastic containers. We have taken on board your feedback in our continuing discussions regarding guest room amenities.

On the brighter side, it's gratifying to know that you found the bed comfortable, the furniture appealing, and appreciated the availability of warm options in our grab-and-go breakfast. Moreover, we're pleased that our arrangement with the Embassy Suites added value to your stay and that you appreciated the night-time security in the parking lot.

We do hope that these positives, along with our commitment to improvement, help you see the potential of our hotel. Though your recent stay did not live up to expectations, we hope to have another chance to impress once the refurbishments are complete. We thank you for considering us for your future trips to Memphis and promise a more pleasant experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Despite assurances that construction would be finished when I made our reservation, the Hampton Inn is still undergoing renovations. Fortunately, our room was not impacted, other than having the door entry mechanism changed. Most of the work is confined to the first floor. As a result, we had to go next door to the Embassy Suites to get breakfast, which wasn't a negative.

Our room was large--a suite--and was comfortable, other than our smoke detector going off every 5 minutes, which the hotel fixed.

The staff was very friendly. It must be difficult for them to function while under construction.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Greetings, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East.

It's clear your stay had a few unexpected developments with ongoing construction. We completely understand how it may have caused some inconvenience, despite your room staying relatively unaffected. We appreciate your understanding as we make enhancements to our facility, with a focus on maintaining maximum comfort for all our visitors.

On a brighter note, we are relieved to learn that your room was spacious and comfortable, providing an overall cozy experience. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the smoke detector, though. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we're thankful for your patience as we addressed the issue promptly.

Your comments about our colleagues bring a smile to our faces, as embodying friendliness and offering support during our transitional phase is absolutely essential to us. Their hard work in managing routine responsibilities despite the ongoing construction is appreciated, and your feedback reaffirms their diligent efforts.

We also take note of your breakfast experience, and we're glad that this didn't impose any negative impact on your stay. We aim to make sure all aspects of your visit are well catered for, even during periods of significant change.

Once again, we appreciate your understanding and patience during the renovation period at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East. We're excited for you to experience the improvements on your next visit. Rest assured, we are focused on providing you with a superior stay every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

First! I was a little nervous pulling up and the entire lobby was under renovation and I had to ask where to go. No signage. They pointed me to a side entrance. I went in and they had the check in on a dining table. Everything was well hidden. No construction after 5pm and before 9am. I entered into my suite on the 5th floor. So so nice. Wow. They gave me a coupon to use the embassy suites next door fitness, pool and breakfast area. They had grab and go bags with breakfast sandwiches available at the Hampton Inn.

I rebooked for a future date for a week for work. I can’t wait.

The beds so comfy, couch was super nice. They had a kitchen in the suite. That was so nice. The desk and tv combo separate the spaces. The carpet was lush. Hopefully they can maintain the beautiful new renovations. I can’t wait to see the rest when it is complete.

Very quiet hotel!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank starwarsmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Starwarsmamma, it's heartening to read about your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East--especially the enthusiasm with which you're anticipating your return visit!

The team understands how the ongoing renovations might have initially caused some uncertainty upon your arrival. Please know we're taking measures to make the process as seamless as possible for our guests, which includes directing guests and ensuring no construction activity takes place during certain hours. Your comments regarding the need for signage have been duly noted for further consideration.

The team is thrilled that you found the temporary check-in setup to be efficient and the construction schedule accommodating. It's great to hear that your suite on the 5th floor exceeded expectations and that you found it exceptionally nice. We're glad the kitchen area in the suite added to your positive experience and that the desk and TV combo effectively separated the spaces for you. Your comments about the quality of the carpet truly warmed our hearts.

It's also good to hear that you had a comfortable sleep and appreciated our couch. It sounds like our collaborations with the Embassy Suites next door for fitness, pool, and breakfast amenities added much to your stay, as did our own grab-and-go breakfast bags at Hampton Inn.

Rest assured, maintaining the new renovations to continue offering a tranquil environment for our guests remains at the forefront of our plans. We're looking forward to welcoming you back for your upcoming week-long work stay and showing you the completed renovations when they're ready.

Thank you once again, Starwarsmamma, for sharing your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East and rebooking for your future stay. Your feedback has been invaluable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

Although the renovated rooms are very nice, there is no mention of the renovations going on when we booked online. No public areas are open such as lobby, breakfast room etc. We were given a voucher to use at the Embassy Suites next store for breakfast, though. Just my wife and I traveling this trip, but I would have been very disappointed if we were traveling with our kids and grandkids just from a convenience standpoint.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FrednLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AimbridgeDigital, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

FrednLes, it appears that your recent stay did not entirely meet your expectations and for this, we genuinely apologize. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our highest priorities and it's regrettable that we did not fully deliver on this commitment during your stay.

You've raised concerns about the ongoing renovations and the lack of foreknowledge regarding this. We understand the inconvenience this could cause, especially considering the temporary closure of our public areas which ordinarily provide a warm communal ambiance.

We're happy to hear that you found the renovated rooms to be appealing. Our aim with the changes is to provide our guests with an even better, more comfortable experience. We also understand the convenience issue related to the breakfast vouchers for the Embassy Suites next door. While this measure was intended to ensure you still received a quality breakfast, it's clear from your feedback that we could manage this aspect more efficiently, especially for families traveling with children.

Please know that your input is invaluable to us in our constant pursuit to exceed guest expectations. We do hope that you and your family will consider returning in the future when you can fully experience, and hopefully enjoy, the improvements being made. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate the insights provided as they will be used to enhance our services and guest experiences moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews