We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury Lodge. Luxury setting.”
other travellers have booked this property
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle, Bathroom detail Lochinch Castle & White Loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle
Balker Lodge, Lochinch Castle, Bathroom detail
Lochinch Castle & White Loch
Lochinch Castle and Castle Kennedy Gardens
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie548
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury Lodge. Luxury setting.”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are writing this review on our last full day at Balker Lodge. We will be very sad to leave. The Lodge is exactly as described but the photographs don't do it full justice. It is beautiful and has such a relaxing feel. The garden is a delight. We have seen red squirrel, hawks, deer, pheasants, blue tits and hares, all from the kitchen window! The grounds of the estate are fabulous. We were too late to enjoy the snowdrops and too early for the bluebells and rhododendrons but the daffodil displays were lovely to see. Wandering through Castle Kennedy Gardens before it was fully open for the season was priceless. These Gardens are stunning! Our walks from Balker Lodge along Black Loch and White Loch have been so relaxing and we are grateful that the weather has been kind to us. Everyone on the estate works incredibly hard and great care is taken to make this a special and memorable holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Dear Debbie, thank you for taking the time last year to kindly review your stay with us at Balker Lodge. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed the place so much and were able to glimpse so much of the wildlife and the spring bulbs! Best wishes from all the team at Lochinch Castle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missourbo...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and location - unmissable experience”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Although we were only able to spend a few days at this luxurious lodge, it was well worth the journey. We were welcomed by a cosy cottage, beautifully appointed and a very welcome pack of provisions, including a mouthwatering chocolate cake. We had the best sleep we've had in years as the bed was so comfortable. The kitchen was very well appointed and we had everything we needed and more to make our stay special. We enjoyed walks through to Castle Kennedy gardens which were closed for the season, so we had them to ourselves and very lovely they were too, even at this late stage in the season. The wildlife lived up to expectations, although the red squirrel only took the nuts when were weren't looking (we did catch glimpses though). I personally shan't be making use of the very good mountain bikes - I tried, but my body just isn't built to cope with the saddle! We also enjoyed a trip to nearby Port Patrick and up to the Corsewall lighthouse for views of Ailsa Craig, Arran, Ireland and perhaps a glimpse of the Isle of Man? We did catch site of some glossy backs and fins, but couldn't tell if they were dolphin or porpoise - still felt lucky to have glimpsed them. We look forward to vising this lovely spot, perhaps in a different season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and seclusion
Liked least: The two day shoot on the Estate (not sport in my eyes but obviously a tradition)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Idyllic break in a stunning location”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Balker Lodge is a charming, romantic and secluded cottage, beautifully laid out and everything top notch! Could not fault it - was warm, comfortable and so perfectly located. Just a 5 minute drive from Stranraer, yet surrounded by woodland and wildlife! Bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coming away!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An exceptional holiday cottage in a glorious setting -”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We cannot praise this cottage highly enough. It is beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. It is full of pretty and thoughtful touches and feels luxurious and cosy. There is a lovely little garden and it feels private and hidden away in the woods. The weather for our week was patchy (as must often be the case) but what is marvellous about this cottage is the free and easy access to Castle Kennedy gardens. As soon as the rain clears, you can, within minutes, be exploring the extensive, varied and beautiful woods, gardens and lochs of Lochinch and Castle Kennedy. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose! The setting is exceptional, and we loved how beautifully decorated it was - also the bed is So comfortable.
Liked least: The rain - but we spent those days cosily reading by the fire, so it wasn't a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityVisit...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a quiet break away from everything and this more than met our aim. High quality accommodation and facilities in a fantastic and wonderfully picturesque location a stones throw from the Rhins of Galloway which made for lots of super days out. A perfect break for two!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing