We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
262
193
118
71
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
193
118
71
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland heritage top floor coach driver quiet room bar prices bowl of fruit biscuits evening entertainment third floor kippers on arrival coach holiday exceptional value dressing gowns ian cleaver the hotel manager enjoyable holiday
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and felt we got good value for money, yes the hotel is a little dated but it is clean and the staff helpful and friendly. It made an ideal base for exploring the highlands. We ate in the the hotel on the first night as part of our package. The food was fine and served very promptly. We tried other places close to the hotel on the other two nights. We had breakfast each morning which set us up for our days exploring. The early wake up call from the fire alarm was a little disconcerting but good to know that it worked!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizi_Elizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muthu-Heritage, General Manager at Muthu Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Elizi_Elizi,

Thank you very much for your excellent review.

I am glad you enjoyed your time here with us and hopefully you will come back and see us again very soon.

Best regards,

Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very disappointed with this hotel, rooms are very dated, need to be upgraded.booked thru Expedia and paid in advance, $197 CDN. Grounds are lovely and well kept. Hopefully breakfast will be good. We had to change our room from a double to two single beds. Double bed needs a new mattress

Room tip: pick a room on the ground gloor away from the bar which is on the third floor
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank traveller1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The hotel is set in extensive grounds just off Tyndrum main street. There is parking around the driveway of the hotel and also in a car park however as it is also used by coaches parking can be difficult at times. The rooms are comfortable but dated, our room had a great view across the gardens and up the mountains. The restaurant, bar and quite room are on the top floor. In the evening a singer performed in the bar with a country and pop music. songs mostly 70's and 80's. My husband and I stayed on a half board basis and found the breakfast to be very good, it is served at table with a limited buffet for cereals, continental breakfast and fruit. The dinner menu was limited with little variety between nights however we found the food served to be well prepared and tasty. There is a path from the hotel directly to Tyndrum village and close to mountain walks and the two railway stations.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muthu-Heritage, General Manager at Muthu Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Christine M,

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Hopefully we will welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Muthu:
+ really close to the west highland way
+ breakfast options
+ rooms have a bathtub
+Parking if you have a car
- everything is VERY old and noisy, the vent in our bathroom was so loud we had to pee in the dark
-the window was broken and cold sir kept coming in.
- rooms are not very clean. We had cowebs in the lights in our room.
- breakfast is very mediocre
- staff informed us dinner will be available after 5pm. When we came to inquire about it they said there would be none because the kitchen is understaffed
- only one outlet in the room to charge electronics and no USB outlets
-the WiFi is useless, you better off sending smoke signals
-there was no hot water in the morning, great way to start your day before 35km hike.

Bottom line: if you can pitch a tent in the woods, save the money and do that instead.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Evgeny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muthu-Heritage, General Manager at Muthu Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Evgeny G,


Thank you for your feedback.

If you were not happy during your stay, I wish you had informed us and given us the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.

Our reception team are available 24 hours a day and will be happy to help with any enquiry.

Best regards,

Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The Muthu Ben Doran is a very clean hotel with good service and meals taken during g the visit were faultless. Don't get confused with the sister hotel the Muthu Royal Hotel which is next door and some sites are showing the Pictures of the Ben Doran but accommodation is for the Muthu Royal. This was sorted out for us by the manager of the Muthu Royal Hotel on arrival. The Ben Doran is ideally suited for walks and exploring loch Lommond and further afield Loch Ness. Sleep, however, is an issue due to the pillows which need replacing. Would recommend to walkers requiring accommodation to explore both the lowlands and the highlands.

Room tip: Take a pillow
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweens003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage M, Manager at Muthu Ben Doran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear tweens003,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.

I am really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes, everybody can have a nice walk around the hotel or even on the West Highland Way, which is going through the village.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Timi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews