We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
429
208
69
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
208
69
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones lovely hotel dining room bar area lamb main course mussels great food trout on arrival an overnight stay beautiful setting evening meal dressing room classic room cooked breakfast first class
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

This is our type of hotel. Away from the rat race, in a peaceful surreal setting.

This hotel offered a wonderful welcome and included extras of scones and jam along a resident duck who waited on the veranda for a feed!

Lovely ambiance in the bar with stunning views over the lake. We had a very well cooked tasty dinner here.

These views were again enjoyed the next morning as we enjoyed our breakfast.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lizmarshall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The food was beautifully presented, excellent flavours, locally sourced ingredients. It was a shame that the conservatory windows were not cleaned, it spoilt the view on to the lake. The service was great and wating time for dishes was spot on. Not cheap, but it was worth ever penny.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch View
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bevan399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

On a weekend when there was little accommodation in Stirling itself, we were forced to look further afield and found the Lake of Monteith Hotel. It proved a really good choice! Our room was compact but very comfortable and provided everything we needed. Staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, throughout our stay.

Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John-frae-Banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We chose the hotel as we were attending a course at the Nick Nairn cookery school - it proved to be a good choice.

The views of the lake are gorgeous which we enjoyed at breakfast, dinner and from the tables in front of the hotel.

Dinner was excellent - a really good choice of seafood and meats accompanied by an excellent choice of wine by the glass.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The bar was a little disappointing - nice Guinness but no real ales. They served local gins but we thought they were poor quality.

The hotel was a little tired with some stains on the carpets in public areas.

The staff, views and dining were the highlights of an enjoyable weekend stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Having read the mixed reviews for the Lake of Menteith Hotel we were not quite sure what to expect. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. We received a very friendly welcome and were shown to our room. Although slight old fashioned it had everything we needed including tea, coffee, hot chocolate facilities, biscuit wafer bars and water. There were good quality toiletries and the room was of good size. As it was quite late when we arrived and we really did not want to drive miles for food we enjoyed a very pleasant meal in the hotel restaurant over looking the lake - stunning and beautiful view - really lovely. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps I ate too much as I didn't sleep well. I like a firm, hard mattress and that is what I had so I'm not sure why I had a poor night's sleep. In the morning breakfast was part Buffett (cereal, fruit, cheese , ham etc) and part waitress service - we had a Scottish vegetarian breakfast again over looking the Lake - lovely. Again the staff were really friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay- a shame we could only stay one night.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews