We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TopGunn
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our Fourth visit to Mondhui and once again we had a fantastic time. Laura, Ronnie, and Max are excellent hosts and eager to ensure that everyone has a great experience when they stay at the cottages. This time we had exceptionally good weather and also wonderful neighbours in the cottage next door, which made the stay even more delightful.

We spent every night on our balcony until late in the evening enjoying the wonderful views and company, putting the world to right with a dram or glass of wine.

We are looking forward to our next visit in September and spending another week in "our place".

Stuart, Olga, & Cara

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you Stuart and Olga for the wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in September.
best wishes
LAURA, RONNIE AND MAX xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannie a...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

From the moment we arrived we felt at home and relaxed. Ronnie, Laura and Max the dog are excellent hosts who go out of their way to ensure that your stay is perfect. The property has been beautifully and thoughtfully designed, built (by Ronnie) and decorated and offers fantastic views of Lake Menteith (yes lake, it is actually the only lake in Scotland) from both the terrace and the upstairs windows. The south facing terrace is a great spot for breakfast or afternoon tea if you get the weather and there is seating for 4 so, if you've booked this and The Stables too, you can all eat together. The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome hamper, Prosecco, and daily scones from "Ronnie Sconie" all add to the feeling of being spoilt. It's a cosy cottage with central heating and a wood burning stove and even bathrobes to laze about in. The upstairs lounge makes the most of the views and the large windows are great for stargazing. There are DVDs and boardgames to keep you amused and Ronnie and Laura have arranged discounts for their guests with other local businesses. There are plenty of walks, either from the cottage or just a short drive away. The Queen Elizabeth Forest Park offers a great variety of walks for all abilities and also houses a Go Ape. Port of Menteith is a couple of minutes drive away and the hotel restaurant offers a discount to Ronnie and Laura's guests. Aberfoyle is about 4 miles away whilst Callendar is about 5 miles in the opposite direction. Both are good for stocking up on supplies or having a coffee, drink or some food. Callendar is bigger and so has more options. The main access to Loch Katrine is a short drive away at Trossachs Pier. Here you can enjoy walks, cycle hire and get on the S.S. Sir Walter Scott for a sail up the loch. There are also toilets, a small shop, cafe and restaurant. You can also access Loch Katrine by driving through Aberfoyle, towards Kinlochard and on to Stronachlachar. There are toilets and a cafe here too. It is a spectacular drive and you'll want your camera handy. If you're lucky, you'll get various views of Ben Lomond. There is also the option of going on to Inversnaid on the banks of Loch Lomond. The Mews is a lovely place to stay and the local area has plenty to offer. We will definitely be going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you Jeannie for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you had a good time. We would love to welcome you back in future! Many thanks LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennethst...
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter Visit”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Great to return to this beautiful location and property. After telling our extended family about our wonderful experience from the first visit to Mondhui farm and sharing the photos they were determined to join us for the second visit. Thank you once again to Laura and Ronnie for the fantastic hospitality and making us feel at home as we prepared for our wedding in Scotland. The Dutch In-laws have fallen in love with the location and the wonderful Scottish hospitality you provided them with. We will miss taking in the stars at night while sitting in front of the fire and counting how many deer we could spot around the cottage. It wont be long before we come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Dear Kenneth thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you, Lisanne and Mason back again and to meet your very charming Dutch in-laws. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alir55201...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The Mews cottage sits above the glorious landscape of the Lake of Menteith and is perfect for a comfortable, relaxing break. Can't fault the amenities, the view, the hosts' hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your great review - it was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your break. I know you were surprised to find that although we are only an hour from Edinburgh that you felt as if you were much further away and were able to really chill out here in the beautiful countryside of the Trossachs. We hope to welcome you back soon! LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A perfect location, fantastic views and the owners (Laura & Ronnie) couldn't make you feel more welcome. We will definitely be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review- we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Mews. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing