We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream house for staying indoors or coming back...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Strone Luss
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area Extensive Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area
Extensive Gardens
The Strone Luss Loch Lomond Welcome
The Strone Loch Lomond Bathroom 1, Victorian style and en suite to bedroom 1
Loch Lomond national park
The Strone Loch Lomond Entrance
The Strone Holiday Let Loch Lomond
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond kitchen
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond master bathroom
The Strone 5 star holiday let
The Strone Twin Room
The Strone Master Bedroom
The Strone En Suite
The Strone King Room
The Strone Lounge
The Strone King Room
The Strone En Suite
The Strone Dining Room
The Strone Kitchen
Lounge
The Strone Twin Bedroom
Exterior
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
3_brother...
London, Antwerp, Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream house for staying indoors or coming back to from days out”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Every time I come to Scotland, I feel it would be impossible to find a better place to stay or a warmer welcome; every time I return, I find something that blows me away - this time was no exception.

Mike and Collette were great hosts from my initial inquiries to the "checkout" when I must admit I found it difficult to part with the keys to the place.

The house, as mentioned by others, is lovingly restored, thoughtfully designed and impeccably kitted out. We (a group of 9 not counting the dog) particularly liked the layout with the kitchen in the middle of the house allowing plenty of private space in the bedrooms and great social areas around the kitchen isle, in the adjacent dining room and the separate lounge (the latter comes with 40+ plasma TV / Xbox enjoyed by the older kids, while the younger ones had plenty to explore and play with in the garden). The list of equipment ranges from iPod docks and USB charging point in the kitchen to a massive washing machine with a separate dryer (comes in handy when traveling with kids!), to a selection of bikes and even a canoe... The four poster bed, the quality bedding, the fluffiest towels this side of the Atlantic, the beans-to-cup coffee machine, not to mention the welcome hamper...

All of these could have easily kept us in the house for days on end, but the Strone is also ideally placed as a base for day trips for those wishing to explore (Glasgow, Stirling, Edinburgh are all within easy reach and Fort William and Oban are both under 2 hours drive away). Walkers and cyclists are also spoilt for choice with a number of well maintained paths all around Luss.

We feel incredibly lucky to have found the Strone and grateful to Mike and Collette for what will be a lasting memory of a great vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail & accommodating owners; no deposit insurance
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior & Garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bigmac188
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven is The Strone in Luss”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This holiday home is impeccable, I would struggle to let it if it were mine. The whole property has been designed to provide those who stay with the most enjoyable, comfortable stay. There is nothing I would change, i think it would be extremely difficult to find a better place to stay. Thank you Colette for making our stay so enjoyable, we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's impeccable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is by far the most outstanding holiday home I have ever rented and been lucky enough to stay in.It is in short First Class accommodation.
The property has been renovated to the highest standard and has facilities I can only dream of having at home. The master bedroom is to die for, they have kept many of the original features through out the property whilst adding all modern equipment making it infact your dream home. The fixtures and fittings are of first class quality as is the bedding, towels and crockery supplied. The dining area is fabulous for large family dinners, the kitchen has a dishwasher, two ovens a hob a chill cabinet as well as the fridge and freezer, there is also a microwave and halogen grill available. There is a washing machine and outside drying area. There is a flat screen tv and access to the internet they also have a uk land line. And whoever the cleaners are can I please have their number? The garden is fantastic with something for everyone to do, from a child's play park area, child's garden house, patio set (better than my own at home) a gas barbecue, bicycles, a canoe which can be used in the loch which is only a five minute walk away. They even supply life jackets and helmets. There is also a midge machine which works really well and sadly is a must in Scotland, may need to consider investing in one at home. In short they have thought of everything and then some.Well done guys, we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom with ensuite.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing