We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical and secluded positioned directly in front...”

Review of Inverlounin House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from front Door On the Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View from front Door
On the Beach
Inverlounin House
Living Room
SW Bedroom
NW Bedroom
SW Bedroom
SE Bedroom
Cooker
Conservatory
Dining
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Dining Room
Utility
Lounge
Inverlounin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
983Nik
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical and secluded positioned directly in front of the Loch”
Reviewed 5 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This holiday home is exactly that – a home. We arrived with high expectations from the impressive reviews on Trip Advisor and these were only exceeded. The directions to the property were easy to follow and direct, access to the house keys was simple and the instruction manual to ensure you make the most of your time in the house is thorough with contact telephone numbers for the Owner, Housekeeper and emergency numbers for everything from hospitals to vets.

The house boasts an impressive kitchen kitted out with every utensil imaginable including baby crockery, and every item was clean and of a high quality. The bedding and towels add to the consistency of quality found throughout this property, and the mattresses are comfortable with plenty of extra blankets etc available. The views in the morning are spectacular from all angles of the house, your eyes are met with either stunning views over the water, mountains or beautiful garden with nothing but the sound of waterfalls to interrupt the tranquility of this property. The log fire in the main living room was a welcome feature for the winter evenings, and warmed the house. There was ample accommodation with the property having a sleeping capacity of 9, and the bathrooms were very clean with strong hot showers.

You will be sure to feel quite at ease in this property with the Owner’s contact telephone numbers at your finger tips should you experience any problems, and the locals all seemed friendly and welcoming. I couldn’t recommend this property higher, it was a joy to spend time in and we hope to make the weekend away to Inverlounin House an annual event.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic views
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, views, wildlife, comfort.
Liked least: cant think of a thing that I didn't like that could be controlled - slow internet, bad weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eoghanmal...
glasgow
1 review
“God is in the details, ergo, he must live in Inverlounin”
Reviewed 26 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

The attention to detail is absurd, from the welcome pack that was waiting for me, to the documentation throughout the house to inform you how to best use the property with the time you have. I have stayed in many self catering houses in my time, and Inverlounin is the best by far. The family have gone to great lengths to ensure that you don't have to worry about anything. The log burner has logs already cut for you, and there are clear, well laid out instructions on how to use any of the facilities. Once you are there, there is no intervention from anyone - the hard work has been done for you already.

I don't have children, but two of the rooms are well catered for kids, notwithstanding the stock of boardgames and books that are in the study. The wi-fi was more than adequate for me to do some work I needed doing. There are excellent television sets and various music players in the house, personally, I banned their use when I was there, but if you have kids along - it wouldn't hurt to bring some DVDs for them to watch just in case.

Being at the end of the private road guarantees you will not be bothered, and should you want to go for a dram - the Lochgoilhead hotel is warm and lively. There is a shop and everything you need there, at least for myself - it had everything.

The view across the loch in the evening is astounding. The lights of the 2 populated areas across the loch look like cruise liners in the dark. There is a vast network of pathways surrounding the property punctuated with waterfalls. If you want some peace - it is a great place to go.

For those of you that wish to use public transport in a bid to limit your carbon footprint, it is achievable - I did. I would advise calling Garelochhead Coaches to check times, but the buses operate 2 to 3 times per day. My route involved a bus from Glasgow to Arrochar using Citylink, and using the above provider to get to Lochgoilgead. Inverlounin is just a short walk from the mouth of Lochgoilhead and a nice one at that.

If you are a hillwalker like me - take your pick. Ben Bheula is at the mouth of the Loch, and the Arrochar Alps are right on your doorstep.

My only regret is that I wish I had more time - I hope to return again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and being left to my own devices.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing