We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil escape from the Xmas Madness”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
LynneC524...
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil escape from the Xmas Madness”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The location is so quiet, peaceful and the cottage makes the most of the views over the river. Although big open plan space its so cosy and comfortable. There is everything there that you would need, and all of a high standard. The hotel across the road does good meals but there is everything there to make your own and enjoy the views (better than any restaurant) There are a few cottages close by but no one over looking you, apart from the ducks who visit.
The hot tub was fantastic and very appreciated after the Xmas shopping was done. What a way to set you up for the festivities!! came home so relaxed...

Will definitely be back before next Xmas

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little property in a tranquil location near to Loch Tay”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage/condo, situated on the bank of River Lochay which is situated a short walk away from the picturesque Killin (and Falls of Dochart).

Property was spotless throughout, amenities were great and the hot tub was amazing!

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will hopefully be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Having read previous reviews we were really looking forward to a nice break at Yew Tree.
On entering the cottage we were greeted with a fusty smell coming from the main living area. At first I thought it could be the wet mop left in the storage cupboard, I removed this to the outside but it didn't resolve the problem. The white settee was covered in stains and under the cushions it looked as though they had not been cleaned for months. The bed sheet in the ensuite bedroom did not fit the bed to the extent that on a morning I would be laid on the mattress. The pillows were ripped. The shower in the en suite didn't fit correctly and you had to hold it above your head to have a proper shower. Shower tray was extremely slippy and could do with a non slip mat in there. Patio furniture well past it's sell by date, but on a positive note a relax in the hot tub is enjoyable. The locals are really friendly, nice pub by the falls and lovely walks in the surrounding area.
Not the owners fault, but previous guests have encouraged the ducks by feeding them on a daily basis, and as nice as ducks are having them pecking at the window for food and leaving their poo all over the patio every morning is not to everyone's taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
We are so sorry you didn't find the house satifactory and that there were some issues during your week. Please do note for future reference that we and our staff are always here to help and we are happy to be contacted at any point in your stay to resolve anything, rather than let something bother you over the course of your stay. As you know our caretaker was round very regularly to check the tub and would have been more than happy to help you with any of the points you have raised. We are sorry that it wasn't perfect for you but thanks so much for your feedback which is gratefully received.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flounder1...
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous Week”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bank holiday week stay at this beautiful property with wife and mother in law.
The property is immaculate throughout with everything you need for a weeks stay.
Lovely views out of the full length window or from the hot tub on the patio.
Many lovely walks from the door step and good selection of pubs/hotels within walking distance.
The weather was amazing........unbroken sunshine all day every day and very war.
The hot tub was a nice addition and we all enjoyed a quick dip after a long wak everyday.
Very quiet and relaxing with a constant stream of visitors including ducks, sheep, deer and the odd red squirrel.
Will be back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolb12
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day break at the Yew Tree. The cottage is immaculate with fantastic views. We were there with teenage children who also found it very comfortable and a beautiful place to stay. It has everything you could need, including excellent wifi! We all particularly enjoyed the hot tub which is secluded enough that you do not feel anyone can see you getting in or out but you are still enjoying the " great outdoors"! The area is full of beautiful scenery and lots of walks for all abilities. The Bridge of Lochay hotel which is just across the road was also excellent for dinner! A fantastic holiday - all had came home feeling very relaxed and will definitely hope to return in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing