We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect escape from city life”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The walk to the loch
Around the grounds
Views over Loch Tay
Craggantoul entrance
Sunrise over Craggantoul
surrounding scenery
Ben Lawers peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_babswild...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect escape from city life”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just back from an amazing weekend with my family at The Barn. Where do I start - such a fabulous spot with beautiful scenery. The Barn itself is so comfortable, extremely clean and very comfortable. Very deep snow which just made it even more magical. The hot tub was an added bonus with clear skies to watch the stars. I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbie B
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mrs”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the barn.
What a magnificent time we had.
We very stupidly followed Google maps and found what we we thought was the barn in killin but we couldn't be more wrong. We should have made sure to take the owners advice and follow the directions sent when we booked. These were nice and clear and easy to follow.

When we pulled up outside the property, we were not disappointed. The beautiful house is surrounded by mountains (which were snow covered )and directly overlooks loch tay. This made for some absoutley beautiful photos.
q
There are other properties close by, but this is done on away that makes you feel you have lots of privacy and are not disturbed at all.

The decor within the property was very nice, clean and cosy. The house is roomy but portrays comfort. The log burning fire and the hot tub made our stay.
The master bedroom overlooks the loch and makes for beautiful viewing first thing of a morning.
The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the houses heating system was perfectly timed to make the temp just right.
The kitchen at the house is well stocked with everything you would need to make most dishes (just need to bring the food).
The added touch of a washing machine was very handy. The house is well stocked with books, some games, an Xbox and even some toys in a toy chest. The internet signal was perfect for us.

Overall our stay was 1st class and we really enjoyed it. It made my 40th birthday celebrations extra special. My husband and I visited with our 4 teenage children all who did not want to come home.
The most magical time of the stay for me was witnessing the deer in the morning on the fields behind the property and running on down through the woods next to me.
I want to return soon as I can.
Thank you so much.
The only slight suggestion we could make that may make things a tad more special would be more lights on the porch for late night hot tub dips. Although there is already some lighting out there, it could possibly do with a little bit more to the opposite side of the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stayed at The Barn for Christmas, had a really wonderful time and the accommodation is beautiful. Wonderful views of the lock from both the bedroom and hot tub, would defantly recommend This property for a relaxing break/holiday.
The Christmas Tree was such a lovely touch, many thanks.
Would defantly return either to The Barn or any other property's with Craggantoul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familytra...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Everything about The Barn was outstanding. Setting, amenities and attention to detail top notch. Cannot praise this getaway from it all retreat enough. Would have no hesitation in returning and already looking forward to our next stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becshek
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous place. If you're looking for peace and tranquillity with a touch of luxury, this is definitely the place for you. Master bedroom is the epitome of peace and tranquillity. However, as a couple sharing the 2nd double, found the bed a bit small but as it's a converted barn, I suppose that is to be expected. The addition of the outdoor hot door adds to a magical stay and this is one place I would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing