We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a great area.”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom.
Front of the Coach House.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Double bedroom.
Front of the Coach House.
Dahlandhui Burn which runs through the garden @Carloch down to The Gare Loch.
The garden at Carloch.
View over Gare Loch from Carloch's garden path.
Looking towards Garelochhead village from Carloch's garden path.
The Gare Loch.
Canoeing on Gare Loch.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MeridianM...
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a great area.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent a week here, using it as a base to see the area and specifically to attend the Commonwealth Games. We made three trips into Glasgow by train from Helensburgh - train every 30 minutes. On other days we visited Dumbarton (castle and maritime museum both very good) or places around the lochs. Came back most afternoons to laze in the lovely garden in the heatwave. Helen and Steve are great hosts, providing a welcome pack sufficient for three breakfasts and lots of useful local information and suggestions for sight-seeing. The Coach House is very well presented and equipped and pretty quiet (you can hear traffic and a few trains but not a problem). It is well furnished and the kitchen equipment is good. If we had one concern it is that there were only two of us. The kitchen/dining area is a bit small - we thought four people, particularly if on the large side, might find it a struggle to fit round the table. The rest of the house had plenty of room, however. We would certainly return if in the area again. Thank you Helen and Steve for a great break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Coach House, and for giving so much information on your time here. We do like to help if we can on places to visit & restaurants should guests require it. You had such wonderful weather while you were here, making the most of the garden and view towards the Burn. We would be delighted to see you both again if you ever come back to West Coast Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikInTheD...
Middleham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Coach House. Located in a very nice area, with a multitude of opportunities to enjoy the countryside.
The cottage is very comfortable and the garden is lovely too.
My dog was on the trip too and it was very easy to have her there. She stayed in the kitchen at night and never made a sound which shows how nice and quiet the area is.
The Coach House is one of those places where we would love to head back to. We stayed five nights. We felt very welcome and well-advised when querying about outings.
Highly recommended to anyone who would like to discover the West of Scotland... and may want to take their dog along!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Coach House, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. All of the four legged guests we have had here have been exceptionally well behaved, and Fudge was no exception.
We are also glad that our suggestions on where to go were of some help to enjoying your stay. Stephen & I hope that we can welcome you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vina C
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodation, lovely landlady and landlord”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Coach House is a treasure, comfortable and perfectly equipped. The garden ... oh, a marvel. We stayed there for the first week in June 2014 and loved it. Special is the kindness of Helen and Stephen, they make the Coach House a home. It is a peaceful and very comfortable retreat.

It is worth to struggle with this incompetent Holiday Lettings to book your stay!

Holiday Lettings is a nightmare. I never saw such a bunch of incompetence ... if there is a problem you are always stuck in a hotline and every time you have to tell your story to a different person. You never get a connection to the employees of Holiday Lettings themselves, so it's a circle of problems you can't leave. And it takes time to solve a problem, in our case it was 2 weeks.

Nevertheless: The Coach House is worth every effort to book it !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the house, the garden, the peace ... everything
Liked least: The booking via Holiday Lettings is a nightmare as soon as there are problems. See review.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
It was a delight to have meet you both, Stephen & I are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at The Coach House, and glad it meet with your expectations.
I can't apologies enough for the problems we had finalising your stay, I hope that was all behind us by the time you came here.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, with your wonderful words. I do hope we see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrohilla
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had the most wonderful time in Scotland, which was truely enhanced our stay at the Coach house. Helen and Stephen were exceptional hosts and the effort put in to every single detail of the accommodation certainly didn't go unnoticed. The garden is ideal for young kids, the accommodation has ample space for one to find a quiet corner to relax in with a book. We would definitely be visiting Helen and Stephen again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Coach House. It is so rewarding to hear that people enjoyed their time here, and we loved meeting you all, I was so sorry we were unable to give you all the time you wanted here, so I do hope we can welcome you all back at sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie_E...
Rhoon, The Netherlands
1 review
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was lovely and comfortable, the garden perfect to play in for our kids (9 and 12 yrs). We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you Helen en Steve for your warm welcome and for the tips of the surrounding. If we had any questions we could turn to you.
We could not have a better stay in Scotland (although the nights were quite chilly). If we visit Scotland again we will certainly come back to the Coach House. Warm greeting from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing The Coach House and such kind words. Stephen & I would love to welcome you all back anytime. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing