We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
72
27
12
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
27
12
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renovation work antique furniture family hotel hope to return breakfast was delicious ferry terminal lovely garden within walking distance sea view couldn't do enough flights of stairs a bit tired top floor a wonderful stay visited rothesay room was large min walk
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in the family room back in June. What a lovely hotel, the room was very big with comfy beds. The staff couldn't of done anymore for us very helpful. Had a lovely garden out the back and lovely wee seats out the front looking into the sea. Breakfast was 10/10. Would recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Partyxx21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Spent a night here with friends.Old building looked a bit jaded and the climb to our room was steep.The bar area looked to have no stock and it doubled as the dining room for breakfast.Room was large,mixed array of furniture,comfortable sofa with views over Rothesay Bay.Very quiet hotel,not a bad thing,but very few staff about.They were friendly and we had everything we needed.Breakfast was well cooked and we all enjoyed our stay.

Room tip: Ask for room 4,but be ready for the climb.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhleask9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

When we arrived at 2:pm there were no staff on the premises... just decorators!! with decorators cloths spread over the floor. We phoned the number on the door and a member of staff came and showed us to our room. It was awful...tired and shabby. A large 4 poster frame surrounded the divan... very dusty and suffocating. I nearly left because of this in the middle of the night. The bathroom was a tight squeeze and difficult to use...there was no grab rail to get in the bath to shower. The shower screen was hanging off as was the wallpaper. The floor tiles had seen better days.The duvet and pillows were worn out... solid from years of use. The location was noisy...lots of traffic and singing drunks. We have stayed in many B and B's in scotland and the Islands but this was by far the worst.

Room tip: Avoid the hotel
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sazzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We booked here with our little dog for one night. Staff were really friendly & we were given a free upgrade. It would be worth paying more for a sea view just FYI as it was amazing! The room is pretty old fashioned but was clean and spacious (only issue was that there were dog hairs on the sofa). The garden was nice and useful to have, but there was a lot of rubbish around (e.g. old dishwasher) but I think they were int he process of clearing this. Don't expect any glamour, but it is very charming, much like Rothesay itself! Breakfast was great the next morning and really good choices available. We would love to come back!

Room tip: Worth paying extra for sea view on top floor! Beware of barking dogs in the night!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NatHill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Visited here from the 30th December to the 2nd of Jan. Upon arriving we were greeted quickly by a staff member (never got her name) but she was nice and friendly. Got shown to our room on the highest floor (no lifts so be aware that you're going to have to carry cases up flights of stairs.) room was nice , wasn't huge but had enough room, drawers/wardrobe for storage, four poster bed (creaky but comfy), small tv (probably about 16-18inch but this wasn't an issue as it was close to the bed and had freeview channels. Radiators in room as well. View was of the back garden and a little waterfall as well, the sea view would've obviously been more appealing but unfortunately we didn't get this. Shower was a little weird to use but got the hang of it, bath too as well as good quality shampoo, shower gel and conditioner. Breakfast in the mornings was great with ample choice of continental or cooked (recommend the fry up) as well as porridge, kippers, scrambled egg and salmon etc. The restaurant was closed due to renovation but this wasn't an issue, however, it would've been nice if the bar had been open but never once was. My only issue was that on the 1st of Jan, the staff members kids were running about the hallway screaming and shouting early in the morning, obviously alongside their mum who was cleaning the rooms so this wasn't very professional. Apart from this, I'd recommend staying here if you got a decent deal when booking.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank traveller201777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews