We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Architecture

Brilliant architecture. Amazing Grounds that are good for nature as well as us. Beautiful Building... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
scott1barden
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Amazing place!

Absolutely amazing place with a beautiful garden. It is a "must see" place. We will visit again... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KarmenV52
Read all 1,069 reviews
  
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
826
181
40
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
181
40
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour stately home stained glass amazing house well worth a visit tea room free flow attention to detail gothic house extensive grounds white marble house tour rock garden the main house soup scones shuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

A very knowledgeable guide took us for a tour of the house which was beautiful definitely recommended .... The little cafe served a wonderful vegetable soup which went down well as the weather had taken a turn for the worse with a very chilly wind.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank A7360ODannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I have been to many stately homes/castles across the UK including some of the most famous but this and its history is breathtaking; the marble, the concepts regarding astrology and the history of the Bute dynasty iis quite spectacular
The grounds are stunning in a Victorian woodland kind of way and great views but do not expect lots of lovely flowers and being able to buy plants
You can get married here and the honeymoon suite and its conservatory are stunning - but probably not for most

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ajdmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This is a very special place on the Isle of Bute. Excess and eccentricity abound, and the wealth of the unusual family is reflected in the building. The guided tour is a must, and the knowledge and anecdotes of the guides really make the visit come to life. The building is on a grand scale, and I must admit that it resembles the excesses of the Vanderbilts in their Newport RI 'Country Cottages' on the other side of the pond, that were created around the same era. To live within must have been strange. The main atrium resembles the interior of Kelvingrove Art Gallery, with marble to excess in all shades and hues. The celestial ceiling and the use of natural light (fortunately in abundance on our visit) to amazing effect was quite remarkable. The grounds are also worth a visit, and there is a good wee restaurant and a visitor centre. Only improvement might have been some examples of the servant's quarters or the kitchens. The art collection is also amazing!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful house, beautiful grounds. We did the guided tour which was done by a woman called Margaret Ross, she was brilliant and hilarious and definitely knew her stuff. It was very interesting. The cafe was lovely as well and the food was delicious.
You need to be interested in history to want to do this, but well worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jeni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

After an efficient Calmac ferry trip we arrived at Mount Stuart on a grey Scottish spring morning. We were greeted warmly and helpfully in the visitor centre and got booked onto a tour. We then went for a walk in the gardens and down to the coast, before heading to the house for our tour. The house is truly amazing and just gets better and better throughout the tour. Our guide Ken was knowledgeable and interesting, and his colleague took our 6 year old and 2 other children on a separate tour, giving us peace to drink in the spectacular surroundings. This was very welcome. We spent most of the day in the grounds and walked 12km in total between the house and grounds doing the kids trail activity. There was a shuttle bus available but we enjoyed the walk. The grounds were so peaceful and I would love to visit when the garden are in bloom and the sun is dazzling through the windows. Can not recommend more for a family day out.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nessk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews