We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Long Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeysuckle House

Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Spectacular scenery from every window. Here is a view of autumnal mist in the glen. Spectacular views from every window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Autumn view of the mountains behind Honeysuckle House
Spectacular scenery from every window. Here is a view of autumnal mist in the glen.
Spectacular views from every window
The kitchen has been designed so that the cook is not excluded from socialising
Childrens room may be a twin or double and also has bunk beds
This spacious room zip and lock beds. 
Extra single beds are easily accommodated
All the spacious bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with showers
The downstairs bedroom has an en-suite wet-room with wheelchair access
Wet-room with grab rails. Shower chair and loo-raiser available
There is ample space outside to enjoy a BBQ or just watch and listen to the birds
There is space in the shed to store bikes
Glorious views whatever the weather, with the perfectly situated hot-tub from which to enjoy them!
Glorious place to relax!
The icing on the cake for many of our guests.
Soak up the view!
Direct access to the patio and hot-tub from the sunroom. The perfect room with lots to entertain.
Perfect for relaxing, lots of books, games and toys available
Ariundle oak woods are very special. Walks from the doorstep.
See www.walkhighlands for more walks
We keep Castlemilk Moorit rare breed sheep
Our ewes are quite friendly and some will eat from the hand
We keep chickens, ducks and geese. Here are some of our Bresse Galloise cockerels
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ScottJL91
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Long Weekend”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Booked Honeysuckle House for our group of 9 friends.

Throughout the process from Booking to Leaving the process was supremely easy, straightforward and well communicated. Not only that, both Chris and Chrissie are very friendly and accommodating (Especially when you need to change your dates and numbers slightly, thank you both soooo much!!)

On arrival it was fantastic to walk into such a large house with fresh bread and jams sitting giving a great smell, only to be added to by some fantastic fresh scones. Perfect for after a long drive up on a grey day!

Chris was great showing us everything we needed about the house, including how to work the Aga! That thing is amazing for cooking a paella for 9 people on!

Even with nine of us in the house, we had loads of room for eating around the table, relaxing in the common space and for cooking and cleaning.

We all loved the house, the fire, the hot tub, the beds (so comfy!) everything including the amazing views in the middle of the glen. We all loved it, thanks so much for everything!

Cheers again guys!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space, even with 9 people
Liked least: Having to leave! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay, we really do appreciate it.
We're pleased that you found the property just what you needed for your relaxing weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Loui...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for more.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We recently had a lovely family holiday at Honeysuckle cottage and I really can't recommend it highly enough. Chris and Chrissie went over and above anything we expected and as well as the warm welcome with home made scones were invaluable with assistance for my dads dialysis machine.

Comfy beds, lots of bathrooms, great wheelchair access and lots of space all added to this being a really great holiday. This is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world and the hot tub is the icing on the cake. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hot tub and the welcome from Chris and Chrissie
Liked least: nothing at all - it was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Honeysuckle House.
We are so pleased that your father was able to have a break, the property suited your family's needs and you all had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wan D
1 review
“Truly awesome!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We went to the Honeysuckle croft for a business trip. We stayed one night in late September. The bnb stays on the island close to Fort William, twenty minutes drive from the harbour if you come with ferry from the mainland. There are two bnbs on the spot: Honeysuckle House and Rose Cottage. We stayed at Honeysuckle House. We were so amazed about the view Honeysuckle got. Right in front of you is the top of another hill where you can see clearly a small group of Scot Pine Trees. They are so beautiful but so rare to see in Scotland nowadays. In the surroundings there are only a handful properties around. So you can imagine how quiet here is! The property itself was clean and spotless. You got everything can be imagined that you might need. What truly impressed us is the fully functioned AGA and the Jacuzzi! It's actually cold at night in late September so we decided to try the Jacuzzi. OMG how nice it was! The late autumn night was so quiet, so dark, only a village shines from a faraway distance. Only steam was rising from the water around you. All you can feel is the warm water and clear clear air on the top of the hill!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Jacuzzi
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay in Honeysuckle House it is really appreciated.
So glad you had a memorable stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan J
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A party of 12 family members spent a week at Bluebell croft we booked the whole house. Stunning property, insde and out. Bedrooms are large spacious with supper-king size beds, beautiful duvet sets in every room. Disabled access is good inside the property, with two wetroom showers. Gravel outside makes it a bit difficult for wheelchairs but there are ramps to allow access into the property. Slabed patio areas off of ground floor bedrooms are easily accessable. Kitchen is extremly well equiped, electric aga on constantly making the large dinning/ sitting room cosy. Lots of space inside and outside to relax. Hot tub was soooo relaxing with views you just wont get tired of looking at. Plenty of local walks, our dogs loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bluebell Croft.
We're pleased that the property suited your family's needs and that you were able to spend time with your pets as well.
We look forward to seeing you all next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
646carole
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant base for family and friends”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This choice of accomodation for our first trip to the Highlands exceeded expectations. Honeysuckle House is very well appointed: bright, warm and spacious enough for an extended family, it's a great home to return to after a long day's walking, and the open-plan living space is ideal for socializing whilst cooking. The luxury of hot-tubbing under rain is highly recommended, and we really appreciated Chris' information about eco-friendly crofting and its produce - delicious mixed salads and three types of eggs! Chris and Chrissie have created a warm and welcoming place; one that will tempt us back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and comfort
Liked least: Lack of good light above dining table (minor point)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Honeysuckle House.
We are happy to hear that the property was suitable for an extended family and that you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing